This is my relationship with my in laws, is this normal?

Re: This is my relationship with my in laws, is this normal?

Why do some people think doing work is like pahar tootna :rolleyes:

Goes to prove desi women will ***** about anything :D

I went back to re-read your threads…and woman you are a crazy fool, you’re too young to get married and your thinking is so messed up…your mother certainly has done a great job with you! :clap:

Thats desi women for you.

They have an issue with everything.

I think everyone before me had put it really well. Honestly, I don't see a problem and you should appreciate the relationship you have with your in-laws.

will everyone please stop being so ironical. i guess OP is quite young so maybe her perspective of life is limited. it happens with everyone of us that at one point or other, we cannot identify the problem how clear it is. and that why we come here, to share and be guided. so give her the benefit of doubt and dont forget its about her MIL, a territory where angels fear to tread :P but well indeed, i would say the same as everyone else has, already, the OP mus be a hell of a lucky person to have such a motherly MIL.

isn’t calling people troll against forum rules?? :konfused:

What the...? What is this, the twilight zone?

You're lost? I am lost.

I am lost because I don't understand how girls like you end up with amazing MILs. You have a problem being trusted and being treated as family yet she still gives you presents and treats you like her own? And gets you branded gifts instead of dollar store junk and re-gifted things? What is going ON here?!

You would prefer being looked after and made to feel a guest...some sort of red carpet treatment. There's no room for your ego here so please kill it. No one wants to be married to a self-proclaimed princess. You're only engaged...don't be in such a rush to be single again.

I hope you're not one of those girls who messes things up with her inlaws and then comes back on this forum to open up a thread wondering why her MIL doesn't like her.

^ Can this OP be real.. Maybe it is someone taking the mick..

lol, no im not crazy or anything seriously. but the issue is that my mother was very nice with her inlaws and her inlaws only used her to take favours and never really valued it. so im paranod from that regard.

and what i forgot to write about was.. My MIL was abroad, and asked me to take care of the girl.. so that means i should be going over to their place every day or alternate days right? but thats not possible cause my mother doesnt give me the permission to do so..

i went today to their place with a great level of effort, and due to all the problems my fiance got very angry at me and told me that his mother gave me a responsibility. I dont know how to explain to them that its hard for me to go so often?

I take the kid as my sister already, although sometimes she teases me too much and i lose my patience still i control myself.
i know my MIL takes me as a real daughter but doesnt she know that its tough for me to come so often?

what is the problem? :konfused:

If your MIL is abroad and needs you to do something out of majboori, whats the issue? I fail to understand what kind of relationship you want wit them.

Do you want to have distance and not get too close or do you want her to really treat you as family? In your own family, does your mother not ask you to do things for her? Your dad? People don't ask you to do things at all? Are you going to come with a maid of your own?

The only problem I see is no capital letters or proper paragraphing :nahi:

***She's not saying or even implying that she doesn't want to help out her MIL in taking care of her young daugther. She's only asking what would be more reasonable (going everyday or alternate days)...and she's asking how to work around an obstacle...which would be her mother....who doesn't feel comfortable with the idea. Again, she hasn't said that she doesn't want to help out with the kid. I can understand that some people may have had horrible MILS of their own.....but let's keep the resentment about personal situations out of the advice being given to the OP.

Yes, I agree that some of her views are unreasonable....which she has maturely (and not defensively) accepted and seems open to considering. ......cuz it's not easy reading criticism about yourself in your own thread. She's still learning how to manage having a MIL...and finding a balance between that relationship and the requirements of her own mother/family...as well as her own personal feelings. It's not the easiest thing to do. And it's tricky too keep the negative experiences of our loved ones (in this case her mom) from our feelings/views.....it requires a conscious effort for most people to redirect their thoughs in a more positive way and even give the benefit of the doubt to people.

Crazyfool, talk to your mom about the issue of watching over your MIL's daughter. Surely, your fiance's family is taking care of her needs...so maybe you can stop by a couple of times during the week...and CALL on a daily basis or so. Making the trips each day can be tough...so you can combine the visits with phone calls, which also show you care. Ask if they need anyhing. Since your MIL will be away...you can even bring a salan/etc over....which is a kind gesture. You can even...if your mom feels uncomfortable with you going there....ask if the little girl can spend a few days at your home. That's a possibility...although I can also see the potential for problems with that ...especially before marriage. Talk it out with your mom...there are various ways to help and it doesn't have to include visiting daily.

Are you sure you were not born and bred in Britain?

Thanks alot for understanding the issue.

You might all freak out but i havent told my mother that my MIL is out of country.. if i did my mother wouldnt let me go to their house AT ALL. hence i kept it to myself, but now im not able to manage it. my mother in law didnt impose it on me, she kindly asked me to do whats possible. but i've become like a family member which i really love and i dont want my place gone? its a weird insecurity cause his brothers girlfriend comes alot.
but my MIL didnt trust her with it, she trusted me. im not really old so this responsibity seems really heavy on my shoulders.
im afraid of disappointing my in laws while keeping my parents happy and in the end i feel burdened by their gifts.. so this i feel would pay offf.. although there isnt any pay off in families but im not blood.

Note: i know my thoughts are very scattered. thats why im writing it all here. lol trying to take it off my mind cause i can barely sleep!

You don't seem able to face the pressure n all.........just tell your MIL you can't do it......make some logical/acceptable excuse.......