Thinking about Inducing i:e IF my OB lets me

Before anyone judges me I have to say I have the most precious thing living inside me that I dearly love & couldn’t have been anymore blessed BUT

I am losing it.

In my 33th week. Only 7 more weeks to go but I don’t think I can handle it anymore. I developed gestational diabetes in my 25th week. To make matters worse I have been on insulin shots since 1 month now, check my sugar 6 times a day, inject myself 3 times a day, follow a strict diet plan & eat 6 times a day & the darn thing still isn’t under control.
On TOP of that I have the worse left side abdominal pain & NO its NOT round ligament. That is separate which I have to bear these days (but then all women go through it so its all good).
These two things are besides me being anemic, constipated (tmi I know), scarred with the worse acne ever, leg cramps, knee cramps, worse back ache, swollen legs & in my 8th month still not being able to keep a freakin prenatal tablet down.

I supposedly have an inflamed muscle or a torn tissue since 1st week of November. Have been to ER thrice because of the pain. Now I don’t even bother & just cry silently because of it. My OB wants me to take Vicodin which I am not comfortable with at all. I feel like the baby doesn’t move as much if I take even one of those tablets & they just help a little bit with the pain anyways & even that I can take no more than 2 days in a row, otherwise baby can be born addicted to it.

Have had my kidneys tested. They came out clean. Have my cervix & ovaries checked. They seem to be in good shape. Was sent for physical therapy but that actually made the pain even worse. My Ob did tell me that the pain will get worse with my growing belly but its unbearable & when I say unbearable I really mean it.

We have moved the guest bed down stairs since 2 weeks. But for showers I still have to go upstairs & it sucks because even that is a 3 day debate :s I can barely walk to the rest room which is only 3 feet away from the foot of my bed without being teary eyed. I can’t walk more than 5 steps without aggravating the pain. Even going out for my prenatal appointments is a painful experience. Last visit I had to be escorted out in a wheel chair. The most humiliating experience of my life.

There is more & I can keep on my writing but even at this moment it feels like someone is twisting my insides. Even when the little one moves & for some odd reason she likes to kick me right where the bad muscle is, it hurts like hell. (mind my language there)

Me & hubby have talked to a doctor not the same one who always sees me to see if we can induce the baby i:e as long as there is no harm to her & he completely refused saying that my OB won’t do that & its not how things work at their place. They are pretty strict on this matter & the only thing they might allow is anytime 6 days before the due date. He also scared us by mentioning so many abnormalities that can occur if we don’t let the baby go full term.

I know the best is thing is to go full term but I just wanna know what other mommies think about this matter & trust me for me nothing is more important than the baby’s health but I just can’t take it anymore. I am going into depression because of this. I feel bad that I am more in a state where I wanna have the baby so I can be normal again & hopefully get rid of the pain & the diabetes rather than being excited about seeing my little munchkin.

Hate being stuck up in the bed all day like this. She is my first child & I hate not being able to do all the little exciting things all mommies to be do while preparing for the baby, shopping, setting up the nursery & all.

When I am in my worse pain time I get so frustrated that I say things like “she is your baby & not mine, other wise she wouldn’t be hurting me so much” to my hubby & I don’t know what not. Poor hubby. Bless him, has been supportive & always encourages me but lately I have started to feel bad for him too now. I want us to be excited & happy & really look forward to it in a good way. But all I do is just cry & whine in front of him. Even if he tries to cheer me up I have been so hopeless lately that I always end up saying something negative to him.

Anyways without judging me I need honest advice on the whole inducing thing. Fine maybe not 7 weeks but 3 weeks. Does that sound okay? I personally know many babies who were born before their due dates & are mashaAllah perfectly healthy now.

Requested for prayers couple of months back in my blog. Requesting again.

Re: Thinking about Inducing i:e IF my OB lets me

If your baby is at a healthy weight, I would suggest you wait until your fullterm, as in 37 weeks before you go for that option.

Also, when you hold that baby in your hands, all this misery you are going through will be worth it all. Maa key paaon key nichey jannat aisey hi nai rakhi Allah mian ney :hugz:

My opinion may not matter as I haven’t gone through any of what you mentioned or even gave birth yet but I really believe you shouldn’t give birth before your term is complete. It’s really unsafe for your baby and you don’t want to regret for the rest of your life. It’s your baby, your everything, 4 weeks of all that pain is nothing compared to what you’ll risk if you decide to have the baby now.

Feel better. :flower1:

Ahhh! You just made me teary eyed again Niksik. I think I needed that hug :)

Aap ki baat sahi hai. InshaAllah I'll be all fine when I hold her, per salam hai sub maon pay. I didn't know itna mushkil hoga. Mai pehle din say sunti aarahi hon its gonna get better. Per aik kay baad throughout pregnancy kuch na kuch raha hai.

As far as the baby's weight is concerned. Her abdomen has been measuring 6 days small. They keep on calling me every month for an Ultra Sound but they tell me there is nothing to worry about the baby is in 2 percentile ( I am not entirely sure what that term means)

I also have a NTS this Friday. Hopefully everything will go well.

CA thanks. I… I don’t know. Its been tough. Really tough. There have been times when my water bottled finished I had to stay thirsty for 2,3 once for 4 hours because I couldn’t walk to the fridge & get myself water. Since 4 months I can not even take a shower without assistance & since 2 weeks it has just been getting worse. I probably spend 2 hours every day on average just crying & asking Allah to help me bear with it. I have never been so miserable in my life :bummer:

I had gestational diabetes with my first one as well, and due to the strict dietery restrictions, my baby was small in weight as well. That's OK because babies born to diabetic moms are usually very large and carry a high risk of all kinds of diseases. Babies catch up real fast after they are born.

You will be fine inshaAllah. Just have patience. The last few weeks seem the longest but before you know it, it'll be time!

^ Hopefully InshaAllah. I am assuming that your girl is all healthy & fine. So I shouldn't be worried about her abdomen measuring small. As You mentioned that usually babies are larger than average with GD, I sometimes worry that maybe she doesn't get enough nutrients & might not be as healthy. She does MashaAllah moves a lot though. Seems like she never sleeps.

i cannot tell u how i feel for u.. i m v pained to read ur thread. trust me i really really feel ur pain and millions of hugs and consolations for u. ur thread made me tear a shed and two.. may ALLAH SWT give u the patience to bear this pain. i m also pregnant MA 31 weeks and AH had and m havin a v v smooth and painfree preg ofcourse with occassional back pains and all and my sugar was high too but nothing even close to wot u r goin thru rite now. I have seen many high risk pregnancies but readin urs made me realise how bad preg can get. pls do hang in there.. i know easier said than done... but u have come sooo far pls do not lose hope. even i m havin a baby girl and to me she is the most precios thing on this earth.. cant wait to see her. like niks said IA u will forget (hopefully) all the pain u r goin thru... heartfelt love and prayers for u. take care

I’m sorry to read about your condition. :frowning: I really can’t imagine what you’re going through because you’re desperate to do something that you know may create serious complications for your child. You have gone through so much pain for a long time, just be patient for 4 more weeks and InshAllah you’ll be glad that you waited. I think you need a lot of emotional support. Have your loved ones around you so you don’t feel as much pain. You should trust what your doctor told you because s/he knows your medical situation better than yourself. Like Niksik said, you’ll forget about this period after you see your baby. InshAllah!! hug

Bint-e-naeem…

just hang in there… a lot of us are in the same boat as you in terms of pregnancy but not in the same boat as the hardship you are going through. May Allah give you children that are noor of your eyes so you are completely able to forget this difficult phase.

Like everyone else I would also suggest just hang in there… in regards to food and drink … have your hubby or family stock up stuff close to your bed … have them try and make your life as comfortable as possible externally…
and pls do this on a regular basis… read surah maryam …as much as you possibly can… and blow it on your tummy and yourself…

in the last weeks read the first 4 verses of Surah inshiqaq and blow on the water that you drink throughout the day… I have had women swear by this on how easy their deliveries were even though they were high risk pregnancies and had a really rough time like you…

All our prayers are with you… pls keep us guppans updated, may you have a safe rest of the pregnancy and an even safer delivery with a healthy happy complete baby …aameen. :hugz:

Let me first off tell you that I got teary eyed when I read your post and I said dua for you right away. :hugz: I am sorry you are going through such a difficult time … which is supposed to be a very memorable and happy time. I can not give you proper advise from my experience since I am not at that point in my life yet … but coming from a family full of doctors… and hearing all sorts of stories about patients and their conditions… all I can tell you is to please put your trust in your OB (and other OB’s you have consulted) and know that they truly do know what is best in regards to the entire situation… you and the baby.

InshAllah … once your princess comes into your life… you are going to forget all about this difficult time and realize that “it was all worth it”. Do not be sad about the fact that you are not enjoying and being happy during this time… look forward to the fact that you are going to have so many khushiyaan in front of you! A lifetime of them! This time period is a drop in the bucket compared to all the years you will have with your daughter inshAllah and all the of the good times you will share with her and your hubby together. :smiley:

Like others have said: keep things stocked and near you… various types of drinks… snacks… etc. Do you guys have a mini fridge??? Mabey you can get one of those and put it right next to the bed??? And also a microwave on top of it??? That way you will not be as dependent on others for food needs and everything will be super close by you.

Keep busy …whether it is surfing the internet, watching tv/movies, reading a book, or having phone dates with your friends and family. This will help time pass AND keep you from feeling so depressed, lonely and sad.

And yes… keep us updated on how you are doing. Feel free to reach out to one of us if you need to vent, complain, etc.

Another hug for you! :hugz:

I had my baby at 31 weeks believe me giving birth to your baby earlier causes alot more mental stress and guilt feelings than you expect. after giving birth to my daughter for the next 2 months I was having the thought at that this time around my daughter should have been inside me and that she has been deprived of her rights. its extremely demanding to take care of pre term baby, only who has gone thru it will realise it.

I know you're going thru alot of pian. But jab itna bardasht kar liya thora aur karlo for ur baby's sake. For you it's a matter of 2 more months but for her it's a matter of her whole life time. don't take any risk. you're so lucky masha allah that ur husband is with you. count your blessings and just do sabar this time will pass and then you will be able to hold a beautiful and health baby is due time.

my best wishes for you & your little one

I was born 3 weeks before the due date , i was born at 6 lbs and was in good health.

my daughter was born 10 weeks before due date , she was low birth weight but a million thanks to ALLAH masha allah is doing fine now!

yes , most of the babies who are born 3 weeks before do fine.

Awww.. i"m so sorry it's so hard for you, but all I can say is hang in there. 33 weeks is too early for an induction.. you should atleast wait till 37 - 38 weeks. Everybody has given you great advice, I really don't have much to add to it. hugs I hope you feel better and yes, once the baby is here all will be well :)

All the best girl!

everyone has given great advice so i dont have a lot to say but the very very much cliched phrase

its worth it

:slight_smile:

the last few weeks are horrific for even a healthy pregnancy and then u go over ure due date like i did and then its just GET THE HELL OUT… but trust me.. if u were to decide to get induced, even then u wont have mental peace cuz then u will be thinking.. what if this or that or the other were to hapen to the baby… thats how a mom starts to think :slight_smile:

just a few more weeks. .. think of it this way.. ure already going thru so much irkhness.. how much worse can it get eh? it cant ( there is labour but no one’s labour is great :smiley: )

:hugs: inshallah all the pain ure going through.. god will bless you with a an angel :slight_smile:

Prayers for you and your child, hope it gets better and easier for you :hugz:

hey...i feel so so so bad for you...i can feel your pain sis...:(

why dun u do sum wird/...like ya bari ya phir ya musaviro....its usually suggested for while in labour but you knw....Allah k naam main buhata takat hai...i really hope k Allah give you courage to endure the pain and your baby girl will turn out just fine.... :)

do keep us updated and abt the induce thing....erm....i really cant say....!! try to bare a bit more pain ...i knw sounds easy to say...pr if it will make sure baby is fine...trust me it will be all worth it....and dun worry abt not being able to do things that oder ppl cant...u will inshallah have plenty of time to do it later.... :)

and yes one more thing....Allah mian tests us by keeping us in pain....and ppl who are more closer to him den oders go through more touble...:)

oh you poor thing, you are probably feeling so helpless, pray to Allah, Inshallah he will get you through it, as diamond mentioned, it is difficult with a pre-term baby, i had an emergency c-section at 33 weeks, i lived with guilt until my son was almost 1, because i was so fed and’ bezaar’ with how my pregnancy was turning out, he was under 4lbs but Mashallah is now just like any other child.
i think your OB is very naive in thinking they can induce you at 33 weeks, induction will not work this early, the alternative would be a c-section (which i am sure you would not want), so my advice to you is stay put and leave your little bundle of joy tucked up warm inside you, its the best place for her at least for another 3-4 weeks…try your best not to think about it too much, don’t stress yourself out, as baby can feel your anxiety.
look after yourself and pray to Allah,everything will work out, Inshallah :flowers:

anyone in touch with bint e naeem and knows how she's doing??? I hope she's feeling better!

Its been three weeks since I last posted & I have to say I am over whelmed by the response & support I got from you ladies which I have to admit I was not expecting.

CA I am still just doing I guess :slight_smile:

All you ladies are just wonderful people.

Where Punjabi Rose’s post made me cry again, Khawateen’s post made me laugh. (true that how bad can it get) Lol.

Mall: Hun I know me & you are like 2 weeks apart & I often think about you & how you must be doing. I am glad that it hasn’t been that tough on you. (MashaAllah) You are one blessed soul I tell ya. Hope you have a smooth delivery & healthy baby InshaAllah.

automne77: Jazak Allah Khair for the Surah Inshiqaq tip. I wish I would have returned & read the replies earlier. Yeah hubby does make sure that he keeps everything right on my bed before he leaves to work every morning. Only thing is I have to get up myself to get the milk for my cereal every morning as that can’t be left out & then I sometimes have to warm up my food & then there are times when I just eat a protein bar or a snack bar & fill myself up.

PunjabiRose: You got teary eyed. Heck you made me get teary eyed when I read your post. Honestly you are the only person I have across so far who in spite being not experienced in this regard still had some really nice & encouraging things to say. We did get a mini fridge & a microwave but that was when I was upstairs. Now with a queen bed in our living room & some other changes we made to accommodate me we are out of space. But as I mentioned before. Hubby leaves everything from my insulin & glucometer to water bottle, bars & everything. Although he knows I won’t be using it but he even goes that extra mile & leaves all the tv remotes & laptop on the bed just in case if I feel like surfing the net or watching tv. My mom & siblings are coming tomorrow. Mom is gonna stay with me till & after I deliver. So hopefully things will be easier on me & hubby.

diamond231: I get what you are saying about the whole guilt part. Because before I wanted an induction myself & now since other things have come up my OB has told me that I won’t be able to go any further than 38 weeks it feels weird. & I am more freaked out about the baby than I was before about my condition. I have managed it to 36 weeks. Hopefully I’ll be able to manage another 1-2 weeks.

Crystal Bracelets: Thanks for the wishes hun. As you can see I am still here. No induction yet. Lol.

Khawateen: :slight_smile: I love you for what you said about how bad can it get & I know inshaAllah its gonna be all worth it. Can’t wait to hold my baby & then ahem scold her a bit lol.

Maasi Museebtay: InshaAllah! Thank you & Jazak Allah Khair :hugz:

nida1990: Jazak Allah Khair about the suggestions to read. The last line that you wrote, that’s what I usually tell people when they are in some sort of pain or suffering :slight_smile:

pyaare: Glad to know that you are son is doing fine now MashaAllah. 3 weeks ago the OB we went to actually completely refused induction & said that there is no way my ob or any other ob in the clinic will induce before I complete my 39th week. Now things have changed & he says that I won’t be able to go any farther than 38th week.

Since my last post I have had 5 non stress tests & numerous ultrasounds for the baby. My amniotic fluid went drastically down in 2 days last week. I ended up losing 3 lbs in those 2 days. I am at 6.1 right now. OB says if I get to 5 or below they are gonna induce me. Baby has been measuring 2 weeks 3 days smaller too. Seems like my placenta is not doing that good of a job anymore. My glucose numbers are still all over the place with highs & lows. I have a non stress test & an ultrasound tomorrow again. OB has told me to bring my hospital bag just in case they might send me to the hospital right away. If number doesn’t go down & hopefully maybe goes up then they will want me back on Monday & will check the baby’s weight. If she hasn’t gained anything or God forbid has lost any weight or my fluid goes lower then same thing. Induction.

Its crazy how I myself wanted something & now when the doctor is saying the same thing I feel like I am not mentally prepared for all of it.

Anyways. I have to say Jazak Allah Khair & thanks a million to all you ladies & to those of you private messaged me with such encouraging words & did not judge me. Because I was expecting some good bashing here but still wanted some guidance. I have managed it so far. Hopefully things will go well in the coming days.

Do keep us in your prayers.

:hugz: to all you lovely ladies.

P.S Other expectant mothers please do not freak out or start worrying after reading this. Every pregnancy is different. Most women do really good. Only some people have weird complications I guess. I don’t want any other lady freaking out or worrying about any bad possibilities.