Things you can get in Pakistan but not in

a western country.
I can think of Charpai/charpoi ,Chandnian . Pishawari Chappal , Khussa, Dhoti. Beeri.
Anything else you want to add ?

An enterprising uncle here made his own charpoi, his wife was pining for one.

Khussay were everywhere in the UK in 2006. My English friends at school used to wear them.

Re: Things you can get in Pakistan but not in

Real Falooda, like the one sold at the stalls :)

a proper lota.
i mean i go to ppls homes, million dollar places but in the bathroom they have one of em plastic garden watering cans..

we need stainless steel, crhome finished, bronze finish, brass finish, gunmetal, brushed aluminium etc etc. modern design, traditional, carved, mid century style

too bad lota.com is taken :(

But not available in the stores , right ?

Ok , ok , so what can you think which is not available at even desi store.
Ever seen a Pakistani style chumta/chimta/tong sold in desi store ?

:hayaa:

There are SO many things that are hand-made...jewelry, clothing, pottery, furniture....everything in the west is mass-produced but Pak still has astounding artisans who work on these things. And the prices - my GOODness. They are at least somewhat affordable in Pak but - if you can even find them in the west, you'd likely not be able to afford them. I posted pretty recently about a wedding-type gown that would cost 50 THOUSAND US (heart attack) but in Pak, you'd be able to have it made for a very small fraction of that.

ps....X2 I rotfl'd at your lota comment as I have one a those watering cans in my bathroom!! :) What else to do yeah? I mean it would be lovely to have a bidet and/or one of those spray things but theres just so much else that needs my signature on checks lol! So we "let the garden grow" lol and let people water themselves

Yeah I could buy a plastic desi style lota from a desi store , but those metal ones are not available anywhere. In Indian store they have some but they are small and they do not have tontee/sprout on them.

Straight razors, shaving cream (not Gillette), safety razor holders. While they are available from various websites, they are considered a luxury in the US.

The Art of Shaving

EDIT: OK I guess the above doesn’t count, because it is available. Mirch was asking about stuff that is not available. Sorry.

Safety razors and their hodlers are no more available in US . Once a couple of years ago I went hunting for them from store to store , but did not find them anywhere.

TBW yaar u can find all this stuff at many other places, good shaving brushes, creams, etc.

rickshaw

here are some antique lotas

just do a search for lotas

pretty trucks!!!!!!!!!!

:lifey:

you are kidding? Majority of those are horrendous, and add to the ugliness. That's not art, that's just bad taste.

i luv pakistani Patisa when i first visited pakistan when i was 12 i always used to eat it. then when i went back a few years back it tasted exactly the same , the one you get here doesnt taste the same.

saying that Ambala galab jamoons are the best and you cant get same as those any where :D

omg, that was the very first thing that floored me when I went there....the pretty trucks...they are BEAUTIFUL...so very colorful!! and so very loved and tended to by their owners!!

I want to follow that kind of theme for my "jetta-car"!!

and no, i am not kidding - I LOVE those dern trucks and if my boyz ever get to see one, they'd go nuts and decide to become Desi truk drivers!

There’s a Pakistani store here that sells charpai’s :halo:

I saw one outside Smithsonian on Display in 2003 , I hope it is still there. I guess they got fasinated with how much work goes into decorating one using all that manual labor.

Here you go . Feast for your eyes.
Decorated truck from Pakistan at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival

Decorated truck from Pakistan at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival on Flickr - Photo Sharing!