Things that remind you of childhood

Do you ever have that deja vous feeling? It could be a song, a smell, a tv show that brings back memories of when you were a kid. My husband and I were driving in the car yesterday and the radio station was playing 80’s songs. Even though we didn’t particularly like the songs neither of us touched the dial. The songs reminded us of when were young. I guess I am a child of the 80’s, like many guppies here. It’s kind of scary that 80’s is retro now and it’s ‘come back’. Our daughter plays online Donkey Cong, so I think it’s part of her childhood now too. Time has kind of warped in on itself.

Re: Things that remind you of childhood

Full House used to be a part of me..:D i never went to sleep untill that show was over..n a few years ago.. they started showing old episodes of Full House again.. i didn't care that i saw them..:D still watching them wid lots of fun..:)

hmmmmmm, some pomelo/orande/lemon smell reminds me of my childhood...i used to bath with those funny animal shaped multicolored prefumed soaps...when i was very young, and from his time on i love these smells!

Old movies, songs

and also how outdoors smell during winter.

lol music and TV do it for me...my mum used to play Michael Jackson at home so whenever Bad comes on i feel nostalgic...and as for TV...i was checking Cartoon Network...and Tom and Jerry was on...my friends niece also has videos of Thundercats and Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles...ill always sit down and watch lol...

Music especially is good...cos every old tune reminds you of a time in your life...

somedays back i went to my school....i saw children of prep and 1 and 2 and many.....and offcourse i was missing my days but i said to my frnd...."yaar hum itnayyyy chotay tou nahi thay:( "

donkey kong :k:..and Nintendo Game & Watch console games..now i am starting to miss Taxila..

Algebra reminds me of my childhood days. Every time my dad taught me Mathematics I had to go to the restroom and I would stay in there for good 15 mins.

I miss silly things from childhood like those cigarettes that are also bubble gum. Hello kitty stationary. My little twins stuff. Pakola. Polka ice cream. The list goes on and on..

smell of gili mitti during rainy days. reminds me of how me n my cousins would spend hours soaking during monsoon in karachi n how much fun it used to be to play cricket on the chhat.

Seeing Lifebuoy soap on desi store shelves in USA.

I miss FALSAY, JAAMUNS. Late 70 songs, sunset on warm day, stars on clear nights, clouds in clear blue sky, smell of send when it rains, Daalchah, Haleem, Dentonic tooth powder, Lifeboy soap, Luqmani manjan, blue brand makhan, paapay, bachon ka safa in Akhbary Jahan (and try to peek into models page - make fun of new shaadi shuda photos page) and school Blackboard remind me of my childhood memories when I also had tones of crushes on my beautiful teachers.

Woh nunni si Khuahishaat, wo bhola pan or saadgi. Kaash onhi kubsurat lamho may sari zindagi basar ho jati. Kaash, oh masumiat ka nikhar ab tak humari ruh ma basa rehta. Kaash agar iesa hota... so you wouldn't need a visa card. Taken everywhere ur childhood memories take you. Apply TODAY!!! For limited time offer with as low as 1.5% introductory rate. (This promotion includes six-month introductory rate and will increase to 18.9% starting seventh month. Other offers are not acceptable with this promotion).

hai kya yaad dila dee Bachpun ka zamana................kash koi lautaa dai mujhe mera bachpun

Mere bachpun ke din - kitnay ache thay din

Okay, every time i am flipping through tv channels and i come across three's company show i am reminded of how i was a kid in 6th grade and thought that was a hilarious show. Although i did not get much of what they actually were doing just seeing jack jumping around was funny. We were never allowed to watch that show but we use to watch it when parents were not around.

Also, everytime i see old cartoons like She-ra or He-man, thundercats i am constantly reminded of how we (siblings) use to spend saturday mornings glued to the tv.

Also the luxury of watching desi channel at my own will nowadays reminds me of when i was a kid and this is back in 1986 we use to stay up till 12am on saturday nights just to watch 2 hours of free pakistani tv.

There are just toooooo many memories..................

animal crackers and the Cosby Show.

Like Mahru the Shera and He-man cartoons :D

^^ Oh my god, I can never forget AKHBAARAY JAHAN. Back in the 80’s all the parents used to read it religiously. I also remember the shaadi page. My sisters and I used to sit and make fun of the couples and point out other spouses for them. If a girl was pretty and her husband ugly, we would pick and choose another husband for her.

Those were the days :slight_smile:

^^^I swear we did that too. It was fun and sometimes i still do that:) by visiting akhbar-e-jahan online.

kids around* me, reminds me of my good old golden days

P.S. I said AROUND not MINE

Many things, from music to tv shows.

When my children tell me what they did at school, it's a reminder too, though a lot has changed by now.

Books remind me of my childhood too.

Anything from the 80's and early 90's brings back some good memories. Jem, He-man, She-ra, Transformers, Dennis the Menace, Today's Special, Golden Girls, Macguivre, Nightrider, Cosby Show, etc. were all great shows!

They aired everything you mention here too, except for Today's Special.

I forgot all about Knightrider and Jem. They sold Jem and She-ra dolls here.