THESE DAYS DO LOVE MARRIAGES WORK BETTER THEN ARRANGE MARRIAGES?

I WAS READING A RECENT STUDY THAT NOW DAYS THE DIVORCE RATE FOR ARRANGE MARRIAGES IS JUST AS HIGH AS LOVE MARRIAGES.

IT USE TO BE THE CASE BACK IN THE DAY THAT THE ARRANGE MARRIAGES WERE THE WAY TO A SUCCESFUL MARRIAGE AND WAS ANTI LOVE MARRIAGES.

**WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS ON THIS HAS IT CHANGED OR WILL IT ALWAYA STAY **THE SAME. :bhangra:

Re: THESE DAYS DO LOVE MARRIAGES WORK BETTER THEN ARRANGE MARRIAGES?

Shehzadi baara is topic ka "Fashion and beauty" se kya ta'luq hai??? :)

You can post such topics in "Health and Relationships" forum (It's gonna end up in H&R anyway).

Infact you can search for this topic in H&R forum because it's been discussed billions of times already and "ARRANGED MARRIAGES" are always the best and safest:)

Well i guess we talk about what to wear when you get a divorce.

YEAH... WHATEVER!.....

I think the divorce rate is getting higher with arranged marriages because girls are more educated and self-assured than the previous generations. Girls today won't take cr*p like they used to. For example, I've heard stories where women would find out their husbands were actually gay, and were unable to divorce them. They'd spend their entire lives in a loveless, fruitless marriage. But very few girls would tolerate that today.

And since girls are more educated than before, they're more independent and more confident, so that if they do divorce, they know they are capable of getting a job and supporting themselves. It's not a big deal to work--actually it's the norm now.

Completely Agree.

What diffrence marriage type make. All depend on couple.

^^ In love marriages" you think with you heart rather than brain but it's usually the other way around in arranged marriages :)

Ever think that marriaged dont work as much anymore because people are always finding faults with others, no matter how minor, and making a big deal out of them ?

Previous generations were more forgiving. The newer generations are in search of that ever elusive perfection of all things material and immaterial, and there is no such thing as a perfect human anymore.

from what i have observed, most of the arranged marriages are ending in divorce...whereas most of the love marriages are succeeding. note: this is just something i have observed in my community/family

i dont think so. In both types you think with brain coz its not possible otherwise.

love marriages rock :)

I knew you would say that…:slight_smile:

In love marriage, I assume the couple was dating each other cuz there is no love @ first sight, and doing God knows what with each other, that is something I can never advocate. But that is the main aspect before love marriage takes place.

As for the divorce rate of the two, I can make the same argument about love marriage that people make about arranged marriage, divorce rate doesnt count the amount of unhappy couples. They stay together for the sake of their kids, and because they dont want their parents getting the satisfaction of knowing that the two made a mistake by not letting them choose.

A personal opinion doesn't count for anything, so somebody please provide sum statistics that includes divorce rates for both love and arranged marriages, and the amount of unhappy couples stuck in marriage whether it be love or arranged.

Majority of people on GS are westernized, modernized, not an insult but reality, I didn't have to open this thread to know what the consensus would be.

I don't know Khan bhai; speaking from a male persepective I don't know if I'd agree to an arranged marriage. HOWEVER, we must agree on the defination of an arranged marriage, for me its: FORCING someone to get married to some other person. It is not arranged if, say a parent or relative, introduces a person to you. Who knows maybe the two can hit it off.

Personally, I would want to spend some time with the girl and get to know her. Tell her my views on life and how IMPORTANT my parents are to me. If she understands all this then we set a date for nikkah (after a year of engagement ofcourse).

Anil Bhai, why do you call me Khan bhai, I'm not a Khan, I'm not a pathan, I'm punjabi, anyways forced marriage is against Islam which is a totally other topic.
Arranged marriage to me is exactly you have written below.

Yeh sub kuch teek hai magar kuch chucker wucker nahi hona chahiye. You know what I mean.

Lol. Sorry yar, I thought you were a fellow pashtun; I guess the whole "Afridi" thing mislead me.

No prob bro.

marriage is like gambling......well my vote is wid the love marriage ..koon si chall jai yai app ki kismat aur ALLAH ki marzi hai:)

Its funny i was having this conversation with my mother the other day.

As far as i have seen within circle of friends and family etc. Arrange marriages did work for our parents generation. They were taught to accept it and move forward in life with their appointed spouses by their parents. They accepted it and spent years with them. A lot of these women lived a very fruitless life and it didn't bother them. They were never taught that they had an option of saying NO or backing out of it. Back in those days i know they didn't even do istakara they simply saw the family and did the shadi. It always seemed to work out.

But these days Arrange marriages are causing divorce rates sky rocketing.

In a love marriage or a like marriage things are a lot different. When you like someone you tend to care for them a lot more and pay more attention as well. Love marriages these days last longer then arrange marriages :~- When you are in love world is beautiful, things around you look and feel amazing as well.