THESE DAYS DO LOVE MARRIAGES WORK BETTER THEN ARRANGE MARRIAGES?

Re: THESE DAYS DO LOVE MARRIAGES WORK BETTER THEN ARRANGE MARRIAGES?

Can you provide some stats?

Arranged marriage is exactly what you said.

Forced marriages are not islamic.

Nothing wrong with arranged marriage, but not when its forced.

Love marriage I think is alright too. Afridi, not every love marriage is just "dating" and "god knows what else". If you find someone in school, work, talk to them, u dont have to be doing "stuff" to be "dating" someone. Someone told me the difference between "friend" and "girlfriend" is the latter implies physical contact, whereas the former doesnt.

And also, parents will need to trust their daughters n sons to find decent people. Like, I know my parents criteria and I know my criteria.. they dont really clash, but one complements the other so t speak.

From a gori point of view, I just couldnt imagine an arranged marriage. Not that theres anything wrong with it, it just wasnt part of my cultural/social upbringing. The thing that matters is committment and suitability of the partner because it is indeed the most important partnership there could ever be. Its the biggest decision of your life, and if you look at it that way and choose your life partner accordingly then you - inshallah - will have a long and happy life together. I dont understand those who "meet" their spouse on the wedding day, I just couldnt do it (again cause of my background) but hey, thats a pretty huge chance you're taking - with your LIFE, the rest of YOUR LIFE. Just be SURE.

^ meeting spuses on wedding day is forced marriage i suppose.

Islamically, the guy or girl can choose their partner, inform their parents, get their advice on it (in case of the girl her father has to be ok with the marriage) and they are allowed to see each other and talk to each other (evaluate etc). Look but no touch :)

The guy or girl can always say no to what their parents choose for them, it is their right, however that right is not always enforced unfortunately.

you are right kodiak Islam gives right to woman and man to choose their life partner but not in wrong way of cource
but some pplz :(

It doesn't matter how you get there. In the end it is about how much effort, love, respect, and time each person puts into the marriage after the wedding day.

I agree with the above quote....It does not matter who you marry or whether its arranged or love...during marriage you will come across problems and you have to deal with them and be prepared to compromise and see others points of view. You have to be able to understand and trust each other. There no perfect partner...if you are looking for a perfect person then you will be like the goras....marrying and divorcing..forever looking for that elusive love..but never finding it. Even if you find someone that is perfect sooner or later you will grow out of them. In my book if you get 80% of what you are looking for in a partner then you are doing well.

Love is not a perfect science...it is just a matter of coincidence...meeting a certain person at a certain time in certain circumstances when you have a certain frame of mind...you can change the people but the outcome will be the same.

exactly!

in love marriages ur lust always win:o … end of discussion:o …btw i don,t believe in love thingi…just crap.:halo: …arrange marriage all the way:D …

Yah, however since most you think arranged marriages are forced marriages, than in that view it prolly is true that the divorce rate is high, but when its an actual arranged marriage , they fare better than love marriages.

true most forced marriages don,t work… afridi bhai kiya baat hai why do man often want arrange marriage and gals rather choose for love marriage:halo: …it almost sounds to me that girl are more werternized then guys.:confused: …don,t
u think:) …

They want to have the ideal bollywood indian movie type love story whereas guys don't.

I keep telling people!

1 reason for Divorce is MARRIGES!

If we all work together, we can eliminate DIVORCES altogether!

^^
u mean …no marriage:confused: …

why argue about what works best. like one poster mentioned earlier (perhaps on another thread) that the term "love marriage" is a misnomer..same goes for "arranged marriage". people automatically assume that someone that had an arranged marriage was forced into it...the same way one assumes a love marriage means that someone fell in love and dated etc. It doesnt necessarily have to work that way. BOTH terms are very misleading. BOTH types of marriage may and may not work...neither is better then the other.

Good enuff for me...lets close this thread. :D

one more comment about this.....

once this imam told me (from sudan) he said that out of all people the majority of desi's come to him for marital counceling because they are contemplating divorce .....The main reason......too much parental involvement within the marriage. ALSO...he said so many times young adults (desi's) have come to him wanting to get married (doing something that is halal) and the parents wont let them (which can lead to haram)...once again ...too much parental involvement.

he asked why is it that he see's this happening so much ...particularly among the desi community.

hmmm something to ponder :D

^yes i agree mostly there is too much interference from parents and family in general in ur marriage specially if u are a desi:) .................