The Worst Things to Say to Someone TTC

I came upon this article and thought it was so true! What are some comments you get that annoy you??

1. “Just relax!”

Typically, the people who say this never dealt with infertility. Not to mention, this just makes me stress more! I wish people would be supportive instead.

**What to say back: **“I dont’ think relaxing will lower my FSH levels. Thanks though.”

1. “It will happen once you stop trying.”

It’s not as easy as being able to just stop trying. You can’t just stop trying to have a family. It’s much better to say something encouraging like, ‘How can I help you through this?

What to Say Back: “Really? I thought you *did *have to have sex to make a baby!”

1. “You don’t look infertile!”

Infertility strikes all types of people – it doesn’t discriminate based on physical appearances. The best thing people can do is ask how they can be supportive. The answer will be different for each person, but it’s nice to know someone is there for you.

What to Say Back: “Well *you *do.” (Okay, we know you won’t really say this. But admit it – you’ll be thinking it!)

4.** “It’s a sign that you and your husband woudn’t make healthy babies together.”**

Instead of hurtful statements like this, I think the best kind of support comes from friends and family who remember when your treatments are and text you afterward to see if you want to talk. Sometimes I don’t want to talk about it, but it’s nice to know they’re there for me.

What to Say Back: “That’s a really horrible thing to say.”

1. “Wouldn’t you rather just settle for being the cool aunt?”

It’s important to remember that most of us are in a heightened state of awareness – we see babies and pregnant women *everywhere *we turn. Add hormones to the mix, and it’s easy to get into troubled water if anyone says even the slightest thing wrong.

What to Say Back: “I wouldn’t call it ‘settling,’ but no, I actually want my own children.”

1. “Both of you should lose weight. Then you’ll get pregnant for sure.”

That one hurt! I think it’s best to not say anything at all and just lend a listening ear.

What to Say Back: “We’re trying…in the bedroom, that is!”

1. “Don’t worry; you’re young!”

I wish that people would say, ‘It’s great that you want to start a family!

What to Say Back: “Yeah, imagine how much harder it could be when I get older!”

1. “I tried for two weeks and BAM, I got pregnant.”

I’d love for people to not feel the need to tell me about how easy it was for them. It’s irrelevant.

What to Say Back: “Well, we don’t all have it that easy.”

1. “If you’re this stressed about TTC, you’ll never to able to handle the stress of being a mom.”

Hugs are way better than this.

What to Say Back: “I’d love that kind of stress.”

1. “Do you pray?”

I don’t mind if friends or family say they’re praying for me, but asking me if I pray made me very uncomfortable.

What to Say Back: “Yes, but would you mind *also *praying for me?”

11.** “Just stop all those fancy treatments - it will happen naturally!”**

Instead, I really appreciate when people say things like ‘*when *you are parents’ or ‘*when *you are pregnant.’ It offers hope.

What to Say Back: “It’s *not *happening naturally.”

1. “Oh, your husband shoots blanks?”

Um, not exactly. Thank you for your kind words about a very difficult situation! Luckily, I have a great support system. One of my best friends has also struggled with IF, and we have an unspoken rule that we don’t ask about it unless the other brings it up. Some days you just don’t want to talk about it.

What to Say Back: “Do you want to know how big it is, too?”

13.** “You’re so lucky that you dont have to deal with morning sickness or labour!”**

I don’t think *anyone *enjoys puking their brains out, but suggesting that I should be grateful that I don’t have to deal with those things is insensitive.

What to Say Back: “No one likes getting sick, but if that’s what comes with pregnancy, sign me up!”

Re: The Worst Things to Say to Someone TTC

Awesome come backs to those nosy aunties in our community! I had an aunty tell me to have a baby now as if having it now is the only time to have it. She told me not to wait and that I would regret for waiting. When I told her I was waiting to get get my degree and make more money she laughed and said that God would take care of it and I should not worry. I just smiled and walked away from her. But seriously, those poor women who really do want to start a family but cannot for one reason or another. I remember a young couple that was married for 5 years and didn't have kids and some dumb aunty made some comment on how they might be having marriage problems just because she did not have kids yet. It wasn't true. The poor couple couldn't get pregnant naturally and after 11 years of marriage and various treatments, had their first baby boy and Mashallah they now have two healthy kids. Then there is the lady who wished for kids since she got married. She is such a sweet lady and tried to have kids but found out because of some problem she can never have kids. She lost herself in her work and now wishes she had adopted when she had the chance but now she's much older and its too late. Whenever kids come to her house she has some toys for them to play with and I love seeing her happy because she is such a nice person. People thought she wasn't having kids either because her marriage wasn't working or because she didn't want kids. They never thought perhaps nature had anything to do with it. I felt bad for her as she looked uncomfortable coming to the masjid. Luckily my Mom encouraged her to come. She told my mom she wouldn't have gotten through her demise if it weren't for her support. TTC is not easy for everyone so be supportive people! Thanks

I agree with the rest but honestly this one is sod arn true.. at least in our case!!!

"It will happen once you stop trying."

It’s not as easy as being able to just stop trying. You can’t just stop trying to have a family. It’s much better to say something encouraging like, ‘How can I help you through this?

The month I thought this is it, we are going to take a break.. I found out I was pregnant.. there is something about not calculating the days, coundting down to AF, or stressing about it doesnt make it happen!!

However, if there are issues, that's something else.. otehrwise it works :-)

I went through 1,2,3 and 10, and some others.

People lik eto put there foot where it doesn't belong.

Wow some of these are just nasty! how cna people be so insensitive?!

I have to admit that when I am cranky and having one of those days even encouraging/supporting remarks make me go crazy.. makes me want to slap the person silly/throttle/bite you get the gist :slight_smile:

to add to the list, ’ you give water to an elderly in family’ and you get the Allah bacha day dua.. Can’t you just pray in you heart, why would I want to be reminded of this for like a million times a day.

• pity.. I hate it.

• if you are not working, the ‘what do you do all day?’ question, how I hate it. Why is what I do anyone’s business? and if you throw back the question two words to shut you up, ‘oh bachay’ :grumpy:

• recommending doctors. Ok so maybe zareena went to this doc/ hakeem/ homeopath and it worked for her. Fine. I am happy for her but no I won’t go to every parchi doctor you recommend of. My body is not a laboratory. And if it was just recommending it’d be fine but no being desis we have to INSIST on that particular doc.

-the xyz had a baby after half a million years. It makes me more worried not any more hopeful.

• and no if I don’t have a baby I don’t find comfort in changing/feeding/running after yours, mean I know but yea :snooty:

So yea what would be the best thing to do. If someone wants to share, listen to it and that’s it. now that wasn’t quite difficult was it? ok maybe a few words of comfort(hopefully it’s not one of my cranky days)

^sorry it turned into a long rant.

MM...i have a mug that has you signature. he he

I get 1 and 2 alot.

Or "Are you doing something about it? Seeing a doctor?" Its okay if this question was asked once, but repeatedly is just a pain in the butt - and by the same person.

or "Allah inshallah will give you a son." I'm not asking for only a son, any gender is fine with me.

^ really? I took it off a chocolate restaurant's menu. If I was closer I would've stolen yours :D

My mother does the second one. ticks me off really. Once I was in a meanie mode and I told her it's because of her dua that I don't have children cos maybe I am not meant to have boys, just girls. ( I did hug her later to make up for it :o )

i find it odd that only woman pray that other woman have a son. if that were the case for their own mothers, they wouldn't even be here.

:omg: at the comeback and what people say to you. I think I have gotten all of them at some point whether I was TTC or not.

I was told magic wazifas - read this and this will happen
eat this and read this and this will happen.

And when i said I didn’t believe in all that. They would give me dirty looks saying “no wonder then”.

and once I said I did read - “they said you probably didn’t read it right.” :smack:

I have had my fair share of these and a lot many…for quite some years.It came to a point that people kinda gave up on ‘me’ (not us,but me..!!)and stopped with their remarks and suggestions..it was bliss then…:smiley:
The most horrid ones were when these remarks came from 5 or 6 year olds…‘chaachi aapke bachay kyun nahin hai’…’ and that too in front of grown ups…now I wonder where they learned all this from…:hmmm:
Another classic one was from another dear relative…that since I was raised differently (I have no idea what made them think I was raised in any way different) I might not want to reproduce myself,rather adopt maybe…and I should adopt because this way I will not deprive my husband the joys of fatherhood…
ah gems…!!!

Wow I can't believe people have the audacity to say such things.

If a friend of mine is having trouble and talks to me about it, the only thing I would suggest is seeking the help of a fertility specialist. Often times the 'elders' discourage seeking any medical help coz in their books, it's meant to happen naturally and they actually discourage couples from going to a doctor. It's such illiterate thinking and these poor couples actually start wondering they are just not meant to have kids and spend years being disappointed!! More often than not, most couples who are not able to conceive naturally just need a slight push with the help of science and they get pregnant. Seeking fertility treatment shouldn't be such a taboo and people need to start minding their own business.

sometimes its not even the elders that think fertility treatments is taboo, but the husbands. Stop being in denial dude.

^ Yeah you're right. They think their manhood is at stake. It's really pathetic considering that they don't have to do much compared to the invasive treatments a women goes through!

Many people (relatives) ask me…koi khush khabri hai? me and my husband have decided to just reply that we dont have plans yet…otherwise they get onto the nerves but even with tis reply, they are like “why? whats the reason? you should go for it as american nationality mil jayegi” :smack:
Dont get me started :hinna:

giant :hugz: to all those trying …
no doubt these comments/questions are hurtful … but I do think majority of the time they come from folks not really knowing what the right thing to say is …
so … what would you ladies like to hear? …

I generally tend to respond with (depending on who I’m talking with) nod, smile and wishing success and good luck. I am tempted often to hug, offer advise but generally hold back cuz of exactly what you all wrote … my well meant, genuine hug of support is gonna be misconstrued as pity!

Another thing that i hate is when some one tells you that you need to lose weight or u r getting fat…i mean come on…what do they mean that we dont know that! abb we cannot just start telling them the “blessings” of PCOS and how it makes us gain so fast and make shedding it tough :naak:

ehle, if someone who knew what they are talking about gives advice it’s more than welcome. I appreciate that they took the time and effort. It’s the unsolicited nagging kind of advice/remarks that are a turn off.

I do get your point though, maybe some of them don’t mean to offend and it is a genuine gesture but somehow hearing something over and over makes a person more easily irritable than normal. If some not so close person does it, I just brush it off having developed a thicker skin but when some loved ones can’t see the effect of their words it’s just hurtful.

p.s: yes, hugs are goood :hug:

Just horrible!

The kid one sounds horrible, I know but my 5 year old has asked childless couples if they had kids (to play with while visiting). I have coached her numerous times not to do it. I know it sounds like the parent’s fault but it isn’t always teh case.