The WORDS---------ALLAH and RABB

Aslamo-Alaikum
A spiritual Scholar of Pakistan (Syed Sarfraz A Shah) (KAHAY FAQIR) writes in his bookFAQIR RANG----page 274 that " jab main apnay rabb ko Allah kehta hon to na- janay kiyon mujhay aik gHAYRIYAT ka ehsas hota hay k jaisa apnay rabb say juda ho gaya hon. Lekin jab main Rabb kehta hon “mujhay doori ka ehsas nahi hota. Shah sahib ko Allah kehna kuch achha nahi lagta. Allah Khud kehta hay Sura EHKAF"QALOO RABBONALAH HO”( jis nay kaha mera abb Allahh--------Aap khud samj saktay hai S S KO
Lahori

Re: The WORDS---------ALLAH and RABB

^ So are you trying to say that SS (Shah Sahib) made a contradiction or that his beliefs are in contradiction with what is stated in the above mentioned surah? You have brought up SS a few times in your threads and I wonder if you support him or are skeptical about him.

The words of SS that you have quoted do not show that he is preaching to the people to use the word Rabb instead of Allah. He is only sharing his own personal opinion/feeling of what makes him feel closer to Allah. To my knowledge there's no prohibition in using the word, Rabb.

I cannot remember clearly, but I vaguely recall hearing in a lecture (I think) that the word Rabb also has connections to the word, father in the Arabic language. Someone who is knowledgable in classical Arabic may be able to offer more insight about this as I could be wrong. But a father is one who raises you...nurtures you..provides for you...has your best interest at heart...who loves you. Of course Allah is above parental bonds and is far superior to our parents, but perhaps SS feels more closer to Allah when using the word Rabb due to the meaning of Rabb.

Sir, Shah Sahib’s feelings are not cared for. It is matter of what Quran Says. If you kindly read 41;30-32 and 46:14 of Al-Quran , RABB is suggesting to AHLE IMAAN that Call your RABB-ALLAH. Why Shah Sahib is trying twisting, tampering and playing with words (GHAYRIYAT).

Its just his views. He didn’t say not to use word Allah. Rab is used in tasbeeh of namaz ‘Subhana Rabbi al Aala’, so there is no harm if someone feel more proximity by using word Rub. You probably missed verse in Quran which says:

http://islamicreflections1.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/quran140811.jpg

I think people like Shah Saheb write for connecting people to God through their experiences, so nit picking their words kill the object of reading their books. If you are that particular about your beliefs then its not advisable for you to go through such literature.

“Twisting, tampering, and playing with words” us soorat main kaha jaata ya us soorat main yeh ilzaam lagaya jaata jab woh doosron ko yeh strongly advise karte k Allah k bajaye Rabb use karo. But if he NEVER did that…and he is only saying that he personally feels closer to Allah when he uses the word Rabb, then that is nothing more than his personal rai or feelings.

To say that someone is “twisting” or “tampering” with the words is a HUGE accusation and you better be 100% …(and no less than 100%) sure that the other person’s intentions were to “twist”…because if you’re not fully certain, then I would think that would place you in a difficult situation and it may be a gunnah to level an accusation that someone is deliberately twisting the words of the Quran when you’re 100% certain and if you don’t have solid, irrefutable evidence.

It’s not necessary to wear a dupatta while reading the Quran unless there are ghair mahrams around. In the absence of ghair mahrams…wearing dupatta is a sign of adab for the Quran, but it’s not a farz. So, if I say that I do not feel a close connection with Allah’s words unless I’m covering my hair …does that mean I am telling/urging/commanding others that they must, also as a rule, cover their hair during recitation of Quran? No! I am only stating my personal opinion and way of doing things, I am not imposing on anyone. And if someone were to accuse me of this, then I would say that they are the ones guilty of twisting.

So, if Shah Dahib has advised others in his book by saying k Aap sab ko bhi Rabb kehna, chahiye, Allah nahi…then I can agree with you that this is not right and is suspicious.

However, if he is only saying that he himself feels closer to Allah through the word Rabb…that’s his personal opinion and not a twisting of words.

Be careful when making allegations, because if you’re not 100% certain, it may even place you in trouble with Allah. And that applies for all of us.

Would God really care if I call HIM God, Allah or Rab?

^The word God is not good enough to refer to Allah Ta’ala. So yeah it does and can matter

Doesn’t it depend on one’s intention?

I really hope Allah Ta’ala is above such petty things.

Astagfirullah

Submit to divine wisdom

Really? God would get angry at me if I call Him Rab or God or Dios instead of Allah?

Are you telling me that God of Jesus (AS) is a different God than the God of Muhammad (PBUH)?

I am telling you Allah is Malik e Youm e din, not you or me.

and… HE cares about what language we use to refer to Him?

Really, it is amazing. You guys take a simple, natural religion and turn it into a banking manual for Goldman Sachs with a million technicalities which have NO bearing on how you live your life.

Yes

And its important

Why this thread reminds me obsession of Zia ul Haq against use of word ‘Khuda’.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/culture-literature-and-linguistics/569262-allah-hafiz-ya-khuda-hafiz.html

The Name Khuda has been approved by ulema

Care to tell me why?

Only the best names can refer to Allah Rabb of all the alameen

This thread reminds me of an incident where my cousin was told that her namaz would not be accepted by God because she was wearing nail polish while nothing was said to me even though I didn’t even go for namaz (Salah for the sensitive).

approved or disapproved?

Say, “O People of the Scripture, come to a word that is equitable between us and you - that we will not worship except Allah and not associate anything with Him and not take one another as lords instead of Allah.” But if they turn away, then say, “Bear witness that we are Muslims [submitting to Him].”
(3:64)