Re: The Sufi Dance
Not sexual dance and music which entices ones sexually is haram. The dance which rumi did was far from that, it was to connect ones self with God. How can that be haram?
Ok no disrespect to Rumi, but when Rumi is doing it then its not sexual, when Travolta is doing it then its sexual!
Who came up with that verdict?
WHy would you need to dance to connect to God? It's not like God is seeking entertainment.
Ok no disrespect to Rumi, but when Rumi is doing it then its not sexual, when Travolta is doing it then its sexual!
INTENTION!
INTENTION!
Intentions!!
So if I dance like Nargis, only with good intentions, my dance will be halal?
You must understand brother, that extremist ideologies weren't present in Islam before. And you must also understand that RUMI was once himself an orthrodox molvie and a brilliant one at that. We have lost touch with knowledge and have surrounded ourselves with false theories when it comes to religion. Back then it was a golden age of Islam where all sort of knowledge and discoruse was accepted and so these men would never dare question Rumi because Rumi would always give examples from the Quran and Hadith wining the argument. He wasn't just a random peer fakkir who got up and started dancing. Please do more research on his life. Thanks
I'll definitely read about Rumi. If you know a good book about Rumi do let me know. Currently, I'm reading a novel 'Dasht e Soos' on the life of Mansoor Hallaj and the terms used therin are some what difficult to understand.
this is what I dont understand either. If music itself isnt halal, how come dancing is ..even if it depicts the supreme love for Allah?
WHy would you need to dance to connect to God? It's not like God is seeking entertainment.
Its not even a dance, its a whirl, its not like its proper bollywood steps and Kumar Sanu's voice in the background. Its something intimate and personal. You're whirling just like the planets spin around according to God's law. You whirl just how the universe is in love with God and follows his laws. Its symbolic rather than entertainment. God hasn't specified a certain draconian worship method in the Qu'ran.
Good question. Why Bullay Shah also said ' Nach nach ke yaar manana'. I think 'Yaar' referred by Bullay Shah is God.
If you can find this book in your library please read it as it explains all the misconceptions about Sufism and about the life of Rumi.
Intentions!!
So if I dance like Nargis, only with good intentions, my dance will be halal?
What Rumi did was his way of expressing his love and junoon for Allah. By no means nargis or john travolta did it for the same reasons so its stupid to compare the two.
Good question. Why Bullay Shah also said ' Nach nach ke yaar manana'. I think 'Yaar' referred by Bullay Shah is God.
Sorry to be blunt, but Bullay Shah or Rumi were not the messenger of Allah. They were common folks and made mistakes.
Yes exactly this dancing sensation comes from the love of Allah. When you find the love of Allah in your heart it creates an ecstatic feeling that you've found the ultimate treasure on this universe. I'll give you an example if you give a woman some diamond rings with the most expensive gold laced shoes she'll start dancing too. Similarly when you find the object of your desire in this case God, which is the basis of sufism you start to rejoice and dance and express your new found love for God. Some sufis do an estatic dance some do a civilized Sema (Rumi's Whirling).
What Rumi did was his way of expressing his love and junoon for Allah. By no means nargis or john travolta did it for the same reasons so its stupid to compare the two.
I said that If I dance like nargis, but for the love of Allah, would that be ok?
Just to clarify that - On the day of judgment, Intentions will be questioned, only of the good acts. Intentions of bad acts, whether the intentions were good or bad, would not be questioned and verdict will be issued on the deed, not the intention. You cannot rape or kill or steal and justify in front of god that my intentions were good. WHat is halal is halal and what is not is not. Period.
Sorry to be blunt, but Bullay Shah or Rumi were not the messenger of Allah. They were common folks and made mistakes.
lol so common folk are suppose to not express their love and affection for God? Doesn't God say in the Quran "love Me for i am your creator"?
I said that If I dance like nargis, but for the love of Allah, would that be ok?
Just to clarify that - On the day of judgment, Intentions will be questioned, only of the good acts. Intentions of bad acts, whether the intentions were good or bad, would not be questioned and verdict will be issued on the deed, not the intention. You cannot rape or kill or steal and justify in front of god that my intentions were good. WHat is halal is halal and what is not is not. Period.
Dude if Nargis dances **WITH ONLY THE INTENTION **that she has found God and she's dancing to express her love for God without making it SEXUAL then whats wrong with that? Many women also do the Whirling Sema. You won't go criticizing Rema or Rehsam or Mahdoori because they're dancers as well but when God comes in to question everyone becomes a Mulla.
Geo mere bhai sahb (for providing me laugh of the day…errrr night
) ![]()
The feeling of finding God, or even an attempt of unision with Him, is heavenly, and then it doesnt matter... dance, singing, tamasha, whatever it takes.
Oh the feeling. The point is, why was Rumi never bothered while circling right among the jamaat and all that? Because, he had unchained himself from all that was worldly, that would have mattered to the world. He had identified himself with The One who made this world itself as a khail tamasha.
Know what, these sufis, these Allah walay log, may they be an object of our fun or whatever, were the ones who discovered the meaning of life and lived upto it.
So there are 2 people, 1 stole just for the heck of it and the other did it to feed his/her kids? Are both wrong on the same level? wl they be punished the same? I don’t think so!
And again, the way nargis dances how on earth can anyone do it with the intentions to show their love for Allah. That is just such a weird question! ![]()
lol so common folk are suppose to not express their love and affection for God? Doesn't God say in the Quran "love Me for i am your creator"?
Its true that everyone has got his/her own ways to express love, but when it comes to Allah, Orthodox (Rasikh ul Aqeeda) people tend to remain within the limits of Sharia and thats the point where question of Halal and Haram arises.