The stink ...

:no:

I fried some fish fillets and the home has been stinking of fish since yesterday :no: …the airfreshners I have used aint helping much …

any other options?

Re: The stink ...

take a small piece of tissue paper and fold it into a small square and at each fold spray a lil bit of ur favourite perfume and then stick it in between the heater vent. it will last 24 hours at least. the entire area will have a nice fragrance. :) me genius...eh?

Boil a pot of cinnamon and orange peels...that usually helps my house get rid of khana odors

do u have a recipe for that hahaha :D

Ji.

The peel of one orange and maybe 3 or 4 sticks of cinnamon...smells yummy.

Re: The stink …

Turn on a big fan, spray some stuff, and leave your house for like 2 days.

Vacationnnnnn :dancing:

should we boil the water till eternity? hehe

You need to cook some kheer with zafarn , kewra and rose water , your house will smell like heaven for next 3 days , guaranteed.

lol...just boil until you feel the house smells good...

achchhaa ji...now, i've to ask bhabhi to cook fish...she may or may not cook...well, i've to watch out for her good mood :D**

light some candles, that should help

^yup!

You cant suppress a smell with another smell. The combo creates even worst smell. Best is to use 2 window fans, one blowing fresh air into the house and another throwing air out. Let it run during afternoon (when sun is out). 2 hours should do.

^TLK Bhai the fan thing cannot be done all the time depending on the weather.

As Reha said. But I boil cinnamon sticks with a few drops of vanilla essence. Let it boil & evaporate.

Whenever I am doing a Desi food dawat or cooking something that involves lots of onion frying. After I am half way done with cooking I put a pot of water to boil. Once it actually starts boiling just drop 1 or 2 sticks of cinnamon & 1-2 drops of vanilla essence. Too much of either will actually give you a mixed smell & as TLK Bhai said it can be worse. But just the right amount will absorb all the food smell & the house/apartment most probably wont smell like anything.

We also used to do this when I was expecting Ibtehal & I couldn't stand the smell of anything let alone warm food.

^ very interesting, will try it tonight! thank you

Do everything CB light a candle next to the stove, turn the exhaust on and put a tray of orange peels sprinkled with cinnamon powder on the lowest oven setting!

Sunlight and air should help but in winter its not doable most of the time. To help eliminate odors you can vaccume all carpets with the carpet fresh powder and run a big load of laundary with extra dryer sheets.(meanwhile keep the door of laundry room open )

After reading all the comments, I think the easiest thing to do is to stop frying fish all together.

If someone is going to come over after we cook, we usually light a candle before we start cooking and no one smells anything

LOL