Alhamdulilah you finally understood!;)
I have a question for you. Why do you not like Arabic?
jeez..pakistan adopting arabic as it’s official language would be akin to “hans chala kawuay ki chaal” ![]()
No Indians Please!
you are yaar...you are more Indian than you are yemeni. chew on that.
*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
I have a question for you. Why do you not like Arabic?
Where did I say I don't like Arabic?
What I tried to say, is that its impractical to implement Arabic as the primary language in Pakistan. I don't believe it is necessary. I don't think its a good idea to create so much confusion amongst Pakistanis. I don't think Pakistanis are ready to learn a new language like this. I don't agree that Government of Pakistan is actively lessening the importance of Urdu (granted they can do more). All nations should and do try to preserve their history, their language and their culture. We should be talking about how to exapnd the usage of Urdu, whereas you have changed your tracks now trying to put forth that Urdu should be "killed" and Arabic should be imposed upon Pakistanis. I don't agree. Thats all.
*Originally posted by Matsui: *
you are yaar...you are more Indian than you are yemeni. chew on that.
So you are not Indian?
If its an Indian Muslims than its ok!
I am an indian jew. Makes you feel better? You are still third class in Saudi, whether you speak arabic or not.
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Where did I say I don't like Arabic?
What I tried to say, is that its impractical to implement Arabic as the primary language in Pakistan. I don't believe it is necessary. I don't think its a good idea to create so much confusion amongst Pakistanis. I don't think Pakistanis are ready to learn a new language like this. I don't agree that Government of Pakistan is actively lessening the importance of Urdu (granted they can do more). All nations should and do try to preserve their history, their language and their culture. We should be talking about how to exapnd the usage of Urdu, whereas you have changed your tracks now trying to put forth that Urdu should be "killed" and Arabic should be imposed upon Pakistanis. I don't agree. Thats all.
Not at all brother. I don't want to kill Urdu, rather promote it. The promotion of Arabic is a separate topic, which I mixed up here. Surely if Arabic is implemented there will be chaos! I do however believe that It should be adopted in the long term, in a gradual process maybe half a century.
Yes the government should do more to promote Urdu.
I do however believe that It should be adopted in the long term, in a gradual process maybe half a century.
You can't have your cake and eat it too. :-)
Make up your mind. Either you promote Urdu or you promote Arabic. If you are not even sure if having Urdu as the primary/national language was a good idea, then you can't really go out and promote it now. Can you?
I am an indian jew. Makes you feel better? You are still third class in Saudi, whether you speak arabic or not.
Oh so you are Jew. Thats better! Atleast you are amongst the people of the Book! (plz don't take it seriously, I didn't mean to hurt your feelings).
There is no question of being third class. In Saudi Arabia there are many bad things which i do not want to discuss (i am not from Saudi arabia nor live there, but even with all its faults I love it more than any country since it is the Holy land).
I strongly believe that Pakistan was created to correct itself first and then be a leader of the Muslim world. So leaders are best and learn much more than anybody else. So we will show the Arabs what is right! We will learn Arabic and even more languages and unite everyone.
You can't have your cake and eat it too. :-)
Make up your mind. Either you promote Urdu or you promote Arabic. If you are not even sure if having Urdu as the primary/national language was a good idea, then you can't really go out and promote it now. Can you?
I still believe that in 1947 it could have been done. SInce now its too late, we can stick with Urdu for the time being until our nation gets educated.
I will give you the example of Turkey. When the ottoman empire disintegrated, the language of Turkey was "Osman de Ja". Later it was changed and Ataturk ensured that everybody learns the modern turkish language in which the Arabic and Persian words were excluded and the alphabet was changed from Arabic to Roman.
So we are the nation raised for Islam. What was Pakistan created for? "Leaders" have high ideals!
As far as I have observed, no other Muslim country has as enthusiastic people in favor of Muslim unity than Pakistan. So isn't that good. Lets try to make this dream a reality.
<<I strongly believe that Pakistan was created to correct itself first and then be a leader of the Muslim world,>>
Correct itself from what? It was created from scratch right? so what are you correctin gif nothing existed before/
<,So leaders are best and learn much more than anybody else. >>
You want to think again about this one? ![]()
<,So we will show the Arabs what is right! We will learn Arabic and even more languages and unite everyone.>>
I agree here. pakistan can show arabs that fanaticism and religion does not supercede national and cultural values. pakistan could be a leader in the muslim world if it only looks inwards rather than trying to east or west. kisi ka Theyka ley rakha hai kya? Smart people, entrepreneurial, enterprising and hard working..kept at bay by bad governance and pipe dreams of religious affiliations thousands of miles away.
Matsui.. as a general rule, please give 10 minutes to Islamabad to complete his thoughts. He usually takes that long to finish the editing.
<>
kisi ka Theyka ley rakha hai kya?
Yes as leaders it is our theka. This is a separate issue that we are weak for the time being. If one part of the body feels the pain than the rest also feels it (Muslim world). Thats the way it should be. Comparing Pakistani Muslims with the rest of the Muslims in the world, I only see that potential of leadership in us!
Matsui.. as a general rule, please give 10 minutes to Islamabad to complete his thoughts. He usually takes that long to finish the editing.
Thanks!
I only see that potential of leadership in us!
I wouldn't be too sure. I love Pakistan and all, but historically we have done a pretty messy job leading ourselves. Imagine Bhutto saheb and Zia saheb as Khalifa-tul-Muslimeen.
hahahahah...put up a sticky thread yaar
I wouldn't be too sure. I love Pakistan and all, but historically we have done a pretty messy job leading ourselves. Imagine Bhutto saheb and Zia saheb as Khalifa-tul-Muslimeen.
.. or having Benazir saheba or Nawaz Shareef saheb leading the entire muslim ummah! I don't know about you dude, but I think we need to work a lot to produce good leaders for ourselves first.
Have you given it a thought that, the situation of Arabs is so bad, that it would be useless to expect any change from them. The current political and geo-strategic situation of the world demands that we unite the Muslim world otherwise even our survival cannot be ensured.
In my opinion we lost a golden opportunity by blindly supporting taliban. We could have used the media and our thinking to make some kind of a confederation with Afghanistan. That would have given Pakistan more geographical depth. It would have been possible if the leaders had the right vision. We already have a sizable Pashtoon population in Pakistan. So in my opinion it could have been possible to make a confederation. We simply don't think big.