The silence of Pakistan's victory

This sums up the pathetic behaviour of the Indian crowd throughout the series

The silence of Pakistan’s victory

Rahul Bhattacharya

March 28, 2005

As India slide to defeat, the silence that greets Pakistan’s efforts borders on the graceless © Getty Images

The sustained silence that greeted Pakistan’s extraordinary victory today was the lowest point of a superb Test series. Given how a year ago applause had poured in for a dramatic last-ball victory by the Indians at Karachi, an applause that then resonated for the rest of the tour, Bangalore was an embarrassment.

This is not to say that applause must beget applause. As much would be gratuitous. Indeed, there is a minor consolation in that India-Pakistan cricket is assuming an air of normalcy, able to stand by itself as a sporting encounter. Yet if the first step towards that normalcy includes the inability to recognize the worth of the opponent’s performance, then there is reason to worry. Bangalore must count as the most graceless performance by an Indian crowd since the racist barbs which were thrown at the West Indians by Bombayites two seasons ago.

Pakistan played stirring cricket today, and have done all series, notwithstanding the last day at Calcutta. They came a young and fragile team and that from a tour of Australia. Plain to the eye they worked phenomenally hard and shed themselves of fear. Inzamam and his exquisite hundred from 7 for 2 in the opening hour; Sami and his long pouty spells of short and fast bowling; Afridi, batting, bowling and fielding like a bomb on speed; Kaneria and his relentless scatter-limbed twirling, and of course, Younis Khan, who completed one of cricket’s great turnarounds from Mohali, where he could not take guard without dropping a catch or losing his wicket…. Pakistan were inspiring at Bangalore. Considering the situation at lunch yesterday, they made a match out of nothing. They deserved a hand.

It should be perhaps spelt out here that there was no viciousness on view. Rather it was an indifference, one which has been evident over the last few days. Kaneria, among the performers of the series, regularly patrolled the boundary in front of the stand I have watched from, and not once did he receive appreciation at the end of a successful over or spell. Afridi was met with similar apathy. Words directed at them, if any, were not flattering. The contrast when an Indian extra walked by with a crate of drinks was embarrassing. Rarely was a Pakistani boundary or an Indian wicket, and there were enough of both, clapped on.

At the presentation ceremony fifteen minutes after the finish today, modest applause was handed out to Inzamam and Younis Khan. Again, the reception was, what, twenty times smaller than the boos for Ganguly and the cheers for Sehwag. Simply, you would think that this Test match was being played by one team. Well, it almost was, and that team was not India.

Granted that the Indians played pathetic cricket on the day, and the shock of their supporters is understandable. But just as there was a leaf to be taken out of Pakistan’s marvellous performance by the Indian cricket team, so should there be one for the Indian spectators from their counterparts’. This insularity is regressive and terribly disturbing.

Re: The silence of Pakistan’s victory

Re: The silence of Pakistan's victory

Two words: Sore ufking Losers.

the crowd did boo ganguly tho during presentation :D

Its wielded in and don’t expect any dramatics behaviour change in the future either,
:jhanda: Pakistan zindabaD - Baqi sab es kay baD

The boyz in Green, have rocked thr cradle of the boyz in Blue !

Didn't someone say the Banglore crowd is the toughest crowd somewhere on this forum.

The Punjabi Indians seemed considerably more amicable towards the Pakistani team than the coconut-eaters in the south are....

rukhsar calcutta was supposed to be the toughest place. and i agree with 5abi, only the match in punjab had sporting crowds.

who the fukk cares. Let them burn dhotis if they want, what's it to us.

Well if the crowd isn’t supportive then the visiting team always has the right to say ‘Jao hum nahi kheltay!’ and walk off the field. :rolleyes:

i know... they are suck...

but goes to show how indians feel about pakis ;).. i am so glad pakis whooped their A$$... i hope they can live up to the hype during ODIs. But last year's match in KHI was simply superb and everybody clapped for both teams.. they represented sportsmanship, something the neighbors lack...

Great article by Rahul Bhattacharya....what a honest man he is...good job Mr. Bhattachrya.....

and I am not surprised by Indian crowd...here in USA, couple of my close Indian friends have told me many times that the way Pakistanis treat their guests including Indian guests is absolutely marvelous and they also accepted that we Indians are no where close to such hospitability. One of my indian friend who is from Delhi told me that Punjabi Indians are relatively better but rest of Indians especially south Indians are worst when it comes to entertaining their guests. Well we saw the same thing in Banglore…Mohali crowd was much better.

Arey tum kyon tension lete ho mein kar rahi hoo na applaud.arey i ve been supporting team pakistan since day one(thats other reason only coz Afridi is in team PAK.Kya mera applaud kafi nahi hai(team pak is getting applaud from a n indian girl who r least intrested in cricket):salute:

Arey saree to mein bhi pahanti hoon.mere ko kayeko jalate ho miyan saheb:D

Afridi did mine…3 all the way:D

i a great suckker.dont believe it ask afridi he will tell u:mudhosh:

Such a sore loser attitude was expected from them. ALl the more fun in rubbing it in their face. :D

I expected as much from the Indians,,, cant say that I am surprised.
The ODI series should be a lot worse, especially Ahmedabad

Chennai crowd was an exception in 1999 only to be ruined by Eden Gardens in the following test. Chennai crowd was equalled if not topped by standing ovation given by Karachites last year. That was so heart-warming.

Hopefully we will see a slightly sporting behavior during onedayers.