Almost all the internal debate in Islam’s history is about Ahadeeth. The rejectors say that they are wrongly attributed to Prophet and there is no documentary evidence showing that indeed they were expressions of the prophet. The believers say that the science of Hadith and Ism-ul-rijjal invented by Muslim scholars was a class and left hardly any space for errors and omissions.
Can some one shed light what is science of Hadith so that we may know how Sahih Bukhari got declared as the second most authentic book after Quran?
P.S: Please discuss in small steps rather than copy / pasting if you are interested to contribute to the thread so that a learning environment is generated.
Re: The Science of Ahadith Collection-Fool proof or error prone?
The human mind has proved itself effete and tardy. Very careful scrutiny and ransacking of the mind is required to reach the heart of any matter, but it eschews and cuts corners at every possible opportunity. As the world turns, new discoveries and laws are made in social circles and all the more so in the realm of religion, where some incidences have become standard clichés or myths of wisdom over the passage of years. No one deems it necessary to think twice as to how most of these parables or folklore became the criteria of wisdom and faith although, these doctrines of wisdom might have been twisted through the generations.
The insurmountable impediment while examining, scrutinizing or giving our serious thought on any religious myth or cliché is the righteous halo we have woven around it. We consider ourselves of a blasphemy, a sin of the highest intensity or committing a blunder of the superlative degree, to question the origins of any religious myth or cliché. No matter how much we make the person realize the importance of cogent rationale on these standard religious clichés, nonetheless, his level of thought hesitates to enter into broader horizons. It is commonly observed that a person is more inclined towards finding a justification of the religious cliché one adheres to, rather than having an open and an unbiased mind. More formidable than the inner turmoil are the fears of wrath from ones religious connoisseurs. The derogatory opinion and threats of being outcaste by these demigods, do not allow an individual to muster courage enough to give ones serious thoughts on these myths or stories attributed towards the bulwarks with unshakable faith
I do not understand Imran what are you or the author (from where you have copied / pasted, as the language does not seem yours) is trying to convey but i can sense that it has nothing to do with a technical dialogue i want to have so that i can learn this part of the history.
Any ideas how it started, what were the governing principles, how ahadiths were filtered as Fraudia put it somewhere that the biggest Ahadith rejectors were the collectors them selves (that indicated that there were a lot of people in those times who would fabricate a hadith to prove their points)
If you really want to know look up "Scientific Method" and what it entails..
how many of the hadiths actually went through that process? where's the publication journal? where's the peer review? where are the revisions?
All scholars of any merit have categorically rejected hadith as just fairy tales at best and don't consider them when studying Islamic history.. sadly most of them are non-Muslims and are perceived by the Muslim scholars as having some agenda against Islam.. ironically these guys are doing Islam a huge favor by guiding it back to the basics of the Qur'an.
The scientifiic method employed by the hard sciences do not work with historical documents...in general.
In any case, the method of citing additional sources, or rather a reliable chain of transmitters, is perhaps as sound as one can get. No serious scholar, secular or otherwise, has rejected all hadith as unreliable.
there are other rigorous critiera historical documents must be subjected to, and hadith collections fail that too.
In any case, the method of citing additional sources, or rather a reliable chain of transmitters, is perhaps as sound as one can get. No serious scholar, secular or otherwise, has rejected all hadith as unreliable.
many have.. it's another thing if they get classified as 'unseirous' by those whose livelihood dependson propagating these fantasies..
AOA WRWB
First of All, we must make sure that the aqeedah of Tawheed and following the Sunnah is established. Because if we don't even understand what is "revelation" and its forms then we will argue till the day of Judgement and never agree on anything.
Anyone who wants to understand why sunnah is followed in the first place, must first agree that Sunnah is part of Revelation from Allah SWT.
After this the next step comes. Which is how to verify sunnah and make sure the sunnah being followed is authentic.
Anyone who wants to understand why sunnah is followed in the first place, must first agree that Sunnah is part of Revelation from Allah SWT.
After this the next step comes. Which is how to verify sunnah and make sure the sunnah being followed is authentic.
So these are the first steps.
Lets hear you educate us about the forms of revelation then. And to correct you bhai, only the sunnah concerning religous matters should be considered some form of revelation. It would be better if you mention it is not revelation preserved word for word as is the Quran. Yes though Quran cannot be understood without ahadith though but not all ahadith fall in this category.
So these are the first steps.
And no disrespect intended but after seeing your performance in PMs to me about ahadith I don't think you are quite the teacher you are posing here to be either. Better leave yourself as a contributor of discussion here like most of the people. Btw Sorry for making this public info though but your behavior warrants it.
While everybody else adheres to examples of their prophets, their imams, their saints but MUSLIMS have to deal with heretics and bigots from inside telling them, “oh you don’t need your prophet, you don’t need his example, you don’t need to know how he lived his life, you don’t need to know how sahaba lived their life…” let their masters (those who finance their tv channels), the western history 101 and like books tell us how our prophet was and how his companions were and how his wives were!
Yaar please do not fight
i wanna know what are the basic principles of Hadith collection in those times. OK i pose a hypothetical question to take the discussion further.
In the sanads you see that the period of the Rawees coincide and they have been known to be pious people. OK. And then we believe on the Hadith sanad to be true. is it all or there is more than that?
I mean Imam Bukhari went out and found a person who knew a specific Hadith. What was the step by step process he employed to verify that the Hadith was authentic. any one having any idea?