The red lipstick

How many of you guys have worn a full-powered red lipstick? Its a classic look but its also a color thats very hard to pull off unless you have your “just perfect” shade of red. I would think on desi skin tones a more warmer red like a brick red would be more flattering. What shades or brands do you guys use?

Re: The red lipstick

Most chinese wear red lipstick. watch them in chinese movies, as I find that they mostly were that colour (as one of my chinese friend says Asia (brown people) hardly wear deep red lipstick.

MAC and Make up Forever have great red shades for desi skin. Xtreme is a nice red by MAC, but it's a strong colour and you have to have the right complexion and even hair colour to pull it off.

i never have been able to wear it correctly i have tried many a times tho and have wanted to have that sexy galmourous look..

mehnaz: thats the thing....i think u need to have perfectly even skin to be able to pull it off....have u tried the red viva glam by mac? it says on the website it goes with every skin tone...

hin33: same here. but i want a red lippie so bad now.

yea kinda me too yaar ....

i have and oldd blood red loreal but whenever i put it on full strength i look like a pure bhangan on christmas so i blot it and blot it and then it starts to look purple ..

mayb i should hit the mac counter and try what mehnaz mentioned..

but in ur pic u r weraing a nice red lipstick nahee... i swear i noticed and admired it ..

^^ which picture? :confused:

i wear red nail color every now and then.. havnt tried the lipstick! im not married yet so my parents would prolly throw me out if i were to prance around w/ the broadway red lips!

allll the reds i’ve tried just end up looking fuschia-y to me :bummer:

I have this maroonish red kind of a shade which suites me a lot...but i still dont wear such shades unless i wear a red dress and go to some wedding, because i look elder then my age ... the other day i tried this really shiney red lipstick..which i didnt like on myself but my mother and sister liked it.

I use Mac Viva la glam.I gthink I have the 1, or is it the 2...I have the one that has the blue undertone...meaning..also a pink/blue under base ..its not the one that has brown undertone..It is perfect though when one wants a Classic look....:)...But I hardly wear red anyway...I am more of the light pinks/natural looks..even in the dressy formals at times....:)

infront of some pyramid.. wearing head thingy

^^ thats actually a plum color. i guess it showed up as reddish in the picture.

i've never really had a lipstick look true red on me either. it either looks maroonish or brownish or fushcia pink. i want true blood red :(

ohh mayb .. but it lookd nice or brown.. my lips are so pigmented i put matt neutral before any color

I did when I was in 10th grade and I was told to take it off not because it looked bad on me but I wasn't allowed to wear dark colors especially red... :(

I look like aunty when i wear red lipstick ..:bummer:

well i love red lipstick it is evergreen ...iska fashion kabhi purana nai hota but when u apply redlipstick dnt make heavy eyes ,use lighter shade s on ur eyes it gives a very soft touch to ur face ...do u no red colour lipstick ki pehchan hai in older days women only used to apply red lipstick as there wasnt anyother colour instead of red.

Gosh...I could never pull off a dark colour, especially maroons/reds. I look hideous!

I usually wear only neutrals or then go all out and wear red...NARS has some great red shades- Red Lizard, Heat Wave, and Jungle Red are the best semi-matte colors...for their red lipgloss I'd say bloodwork is perfect!

marroon and mauves with brick shade is good.
cliniques and elizbeth arden's are good soft reds - not shocking at all.
and if u need to dull a red, take an ice cube. chew it. then take a chapt stik and go over the lips.
pinks are however always better.

dushwari