So why is it that it’s mostly women lining up at bayans and halaqas of the peer-faqeers to get one-on-one mashawaras and “bayts” and wazeefah recommendations? Is it because it’s mostly women who are victims of kalaa jadoo and buri nazar? :halo:
Or is it because it is so much easier to blame your misfortunes and bad decisions on kaala jadoo and buri nazar, and then get these lengthy wazeefahs so you can compete with the women in your community about who’s got the hardest wazeefah?
Sorry. Had to check with you intelligent folks out there.
because, women are more gullible than men! mard bahot shaatir hotaa hai aur aurat bahot ma’soom. kuchh aurteN iske bar 'aks bhii hotii haiN aur vo aisoN se kosoN door rahtii haiN
the truth is: lack of deeni knowledge works against both men and women alike. they fall in their trap and then regret in this life and will regret in the life hereafter.
You want me to elaborate? Let me tell you where I’m coming from.
I know someone who organizes events such as lectures by sheikhs (who are also peers, in the way that they provide one on one counseling to troubled folks, offer solutions to their problems by providing wazeefahs and such, etc…). She mentioned that most of the attendees of such events are women, and this is in the US.
No I don’t go, and seriously don’t think I need to either. I’m not in a position to judge, but I have heard of the frenzy at such events where women can hit each just to get ahead in line to meet the peer.
I think its in the nature of most of the ladies. They have to struggle more to reach God than men. This is the struggle, which make them wander and strive in such ways. In Bano Qudsia’s words, a woman is basically Aarif e Duniya.. Preoccupied with worldly love (for father, husband and son - remember there are no concepts like patni parmeshwar for men)… When she wants to start her journey towards God (i.e. to be Saalik e Khuda), she has to put behind all these worldly love and therefore the struggle, which takes different forms like peeri faqeeri, taweez ganda, etc. Its basically lack of sakoon that lead people to indulge in such activities ( be it men or ladies).
Hmm…ok, so what’s wrong in consulting with a sheikh or someone who has religious knowledge? I don’t see anything wrong with it, as long as the wazeefas aren’t they only thing they’re going for and aren’t the only thing they’re doing (while leaving out other essential aspects of deen). I myself consult with ulema for various personal matters. So for consulting with ulema for solutions in various matters, I don’t think there’s anything wrong.
Or are you perhaps referring to people who will only go there and consult ulema when they are some type of crisis? I’ve known of this type of behaviour as well, and Allah knows best, but from what I know of, it looks like people are looking for shortcuts in deen. Case in point, a man doesn’t put in time to raise his children according to deen; children go off track, get into some serious problems like with the law or something. Then they come to maulana sahab to ask for wazeefas or at that point they come and ask the brothers of “Tableegh jamaat” to come and talk to their children. So, the impression there would be that they’re looking for a magic (no pun intended) shortcut solution.
Yes. In fact I once heard an aalim saying that if you tell these people to go and read Tahajjud alaong with your Fardh, they wont like it. But if you tell them that read this wazeefa or wear that taweez, they will say wah wah kitna achcha molvi hai, har cheez ka wazeefa hai in ke paas.