The ones that are divorced....any regrets?

Re: The ones that are divorced....any regrets?

How did you meet your wife? everybody deserves to be happy in that way too by finding a kind, compatible life partner or companion.

Reha just seems so positive and doesn't seem effected as negatively by narrow minded desi people. What's the secret to being happy regardless of apathetic jerks?

I was in a relationship with a beautiful French Canadian girl and my family really pressured me to break up with her telling me that it was for my own good and presented this beautiful McGill graduate to me, she was previously married in Montreal to this monster that was demanding more money from her family members, the law intervened and she sought divorce, then her well wishing family got her married to this guy much older and had a kid, apparently he needed a nannie and a house keeper as he was spending his nights with his Spanish secretary, she took divorce from him too. My sister met her at a function in LA and asked her to call me as they wouldn't let me marry Dianne, I gave in and I broke up with Dianne and right after my break up they all started opposing my marriage to say N and started slandering her character now the games were apparent to me and I took her hand and took her to the Palestinian Imam whose family kind of adopted N and gave her away to me, they all ostracized me at that point and never even congratulated us when we had children and spread lies about N, I was sill in love with Dianne but for integrity never contacted her again, the more I knew N the more I liked her and when a woman gives a man a baby that is the biggest gift ever, the day I held my boy in my arms that was the last day of bad boy behavior..the more I know N the more I Luv her, she truly is my universe, being married does not mean end of fun we still do a ton of crazy things together..she is very religious and I am secular but we never force our opinions on each other.

I wasn't looking for any particular group...just wanted to talk to someone...anyone. We started by asking our friends if they knew of any girls who were divorced and willing to talk to girls dealing with it right now. Majority ended up being Muslim - some desi and some Arab. By chance, it just grew and now most of the girls are still in touch with each other.

My reason was immigration. I was not opposed to immigration though as much as I was opposed to being used for it. We were different but lots of different people get married and make it work if both are willing to change a little bit to suit the other. He and his parents wanted complete control of everything and even though I gave in...it was scary. It feels like sitting in the passenger seat of your car with a blindfold on. Your car, someone else is driving and you have no idea where you're going. It gets worse when you've been 100000% independent your entire life and now all of a sudden don't have a dime to your name and need to ask your husband for gas money.

You do have anger...my blogs were at one point just sob stories and my GS family...I've met some amazing people on this forum. So you must mourn but you must also pull out of it.

Things that helped me:

Your happiness (someone wise told me this and I'll never forget it) is a choice. It sounds simple but is it? Training your brain to choose and not be swept away by "I can't help it". Once you do, fear disappears...you stop thinking anyone has the power to take away your sukoon.

You never walk away from anything without learning something. It doesn't matter if he was Hitler...you need to have learned something.

Help someone. Anyone in any way you can. Your problems look like nothing when you help someone. I think the reason charity is one of our five pillars is not just so we can take care of the needy around us...its also because we need to do good when we encounter something terrible. Our soul demands it.

N showed me how amazing and loving Pakistani girls are and some times I feel that if the culture is hell bent on mistreating the girls then the girls have no choice but look outside the culture, all my kids will have our blessing to choose from any race or religion. the only condition s love and respect

In more than one ways you were lucky to find your life partner and its nice to hear that things are going great for both of you.

I just want to know why desi men have such gandi soch about desi divorced women. Why are they seen as ones that can be taken advantage of or ones that aren't "virgins" anymore so they would be easy. The one divorced acquaintance I have that is divorced because of an abusive, very painful marriage totally closed herself up to the world and just became a workaholic because who would befriend a divorcee. It isn't easy being around desis.

I just don't get this. On the one hand there are divorced desi people that are divorced because of abuse, pain, or adultery, that's living an honest life but in most case are treated like outcasts because they are bold enough to not take it or tolerate it after no change or an extended amount of no change and then there are so called happily married people that look the other way when they know their spouse is having affairs or tolerate being unhappy just so society won't judge them. Exactly which life is better??

The ones that are divorced....any regrets?

I so wish we could get away from this mentality. The judgement and all of these old lifestyles that just don't matter today. I won't understand the stigma against divorced girls, it's sad.

Some desi men do have that approach and I've met them myself. But manyyyyy do not. I have met very good men who forced me to think that not all are the same. Amazing single dads who have fought tooth and nail to keep their kids, gained visitation as well joint custody. I still remember one who had full custody and did everything for both kids himself...cooking, school work, etc. We cannot blame the men either...its the families and our women that are raising these men right?

One of our very own posters here had such a hard time marrying a divorcee and guess who was opposing the marriage? His mom and sisters...not dad. I've said it before and I'll say it again...women control and can control everything. We make these men into what they are...we can change them by changing ourselves.

Its very very very hard to implement what we are so in favor of though. Because it starts in our own home. No woman will say "divorcees are achoot and I hate them all" BUT will she marry her son off to one? No. It gives me no pleasure to say this but its us. All of the family politics threads we see in Life1...they rarely discuss FILs...its all about MIL and SIL. Its us.

For your friend...the best thing she can do for herself is to heal and become normal. By normal, I mean happy with herself. Happiness doesn't only come from a companion and that is why I think doing good for others is important for anyone going through this. Its therapy in itself and better than any shrink you pay $100 an hour to. There are soup kitchens, children's hospitals, food banks, social work comes in many many forms. I do not know how long its been for your friend but she cannot spend her life being an object of sympathy. She made it out of a horrible relationship without losing a limb, has a job and can pay her own bills...that is a victory in my book!!!

If you want to see change - you have to be a part of it. History is full of people who have died for causes because they realized they had to be a part of what they believed in.

Re: The ones that are divorced…any regrets?

Woah I have no words. Very well said Reha:k:. You’ve stayed so balanced. Some would completely get negatively effected by it and just let it degrade their psyche. I love your attitude!!

we have a number of divorced friends (males and females) in our circle... no one treats them any different to when they were single or married... noone = our generation.

Yes, the aunties still have a lot of growing up to do... but i dont see that happening anytime soon.

As for us, we dont treat them any different to when they were single/married.

Re: The ones that are divorced…any regrets?

Thank you…:hugz: I hope your friend finds happiness again Inshallah.

Thank you, after you date girls from other cultures you realize how lucky men are that have good girls from Pakistani background, I would not have appreciated her so much otherwise.

Another question leading off from this thread... The ppl who have no regrets getting divorced ... Do they regret not doing it sooner? K aesay Hona he tha to Aur jaldi ho jata so I wouldn't have to go thru all the additional sh*t?

Sure...you will always regret even saying yes to a person who hurt you so much.

There's no real solid concrete answer to this but IMHO, these obstacles are put in our life for a reason. I became more aware of what I wanted, confident and changed how I viewed other people. I also realized how foolishly we raise our daughters to idolize married life.

For instance, before I always use to think...kuch bhi ho...you HAVE to make it work. You have to try your best and if you get divorced you haven't really tried. I thought if you're doing good, Allah WILL reward you and that reward will be a long marriage. Hm. Come to find out, there will be many situations where you will not get immediately rewarded for anything. You will not be treated well no matter what you do by the person you're doing good for. You will not have the power to just make it work because it takes two to tango. Being married does not mean happily married. And is marriage even what I want out of my life? I am not against it but is everyone meant for it? Built to be part of a couple? Can one not be complete by themselves? Also, is it safe to say "this can NEVER happen to me"? Can this or anything horrible really not happen to me?

Anything can happen to anyone at anytime Allah wills.

I don't think bad things happen because Allah is punishing us. I think bad things happen because he is trying to tell us something and we just don't get it. When you're in school, your teacher will warn you many times to do your homework (and you forget or just don't listen). There will come a time when you will either flunk the class or get punished for it.

my marriage was one of desperation. Yes i'll say it. I just got so emotionally down from every potential ristha finding other better matches. My mother looked for someone compatible since I was in high school in the tiny state I grew up in the Northeast. Ones from our language and culture but most wanted to only marry so they would get a green card especially the ones from the old country that were having visa problems or had to go back after finishing their education abroad. The ones that were raised like me not in Pakistan but abroad weren't looking to settle down even if they were in their early 20s. I must have gone through atleast 20 rishtas because I got to that desperate or emotionally destroyed, rebound state of picking just anyone that I found a common language and culture with, compatibility, respect, common interests, mutual attraction went out the door when I just went from emotional attachment, to rejection, to rebound, to attachment, and the cycle went on until I married someone that was a total stranger with no compatibility. Eventually I just wanted to get married and have a child. I just wanted it to work out somehow. I rushed it because I I was looking since I was in high school and i couldn't find anybody that would care enough to marry me for me and not a green card.

Besides, girls that were raised abroad aren't seen in the best way, I experienced it. I was a virgin I was very traditional, a total prude, and close to my culture even if I was raised abroad but I still had so much trouble.

When I married someone that wasn't attracted to me physically(whether it was because of lack of attraction or being homosexuality(IDK)) and we never were intimate like most couples are and since we were so different like night and day when it came to, cultural closeness, being religious, being close to family, and different from each other in every way nothing to bring us close in the marriage. If I like green, he would try his hardest to hate green. It was always me that gave in and agreed just to keep the peace. I think almost 99% of the marriage was heartbreaking and caused me to be so worn out and half dead. No happy occasions were celebrated even if I wanted except the birth of my child. I think that was the only happy time in my marriage.

I must have tried every way to make the marriage work from changing myself to figuring out why this man wasn't attracted to me like most heterosexual men are attracted to a woman. He was not like that. I must wracked my brain trying to figure it out. His cellphone was locked and I didn't know his password, I knew nothing that was going on in his life. His parents in the old country knew more about him and what's going in his life than I did even if I tried to communicate with him. It was like living with a stranger.

I made myself into a better person, worked on myself as a person and all that I saw wrong with me to make him love me and care about me, changed myself to be just like his mother, more organized and a clean,neat freak and i'm still working on making myself like that. I exercised so I would look my best for him but he was just such a bitter, loner-type never liked cultural or festive times, hated family traditions, it was lonely in the marriage for me because I was always alone during special occasions.

Anything that got him angry, he found every way to blame it on me and my family. I tried to find out what issues he had with my family but he could never come up with anything even if my parents treated him like a son and my siblings treated him like a brother.

There was so much wrong in the marriage. It started out violent, where it was abusive and when I tried to say that maybe we are very different and that maybe divorce was best for something we rushed into, he almost choked me when he was preventing me from telling everyone the news of my decision. After that, I tried to make it work because I felt I had no choice, either live as a divorced woman who broke off a marriage after a few months who had trouble finding a good match when I was single(so in my mind I would not get married again since i would be seen as a divorcee and I would never have a child) or stay married and atleast make the marriage work from my side because I never believed in relationships breaking up if both worked at making the bond stronger.

So as much as I analyzed that marriage to death trying to make it work from my end. It cannot and must not be one-sided clinging to make the marriage stronger or even work. Eventually the one person that's trying their hardest to make it work will be worn out and half dead from making the effort. Would a person have to die trying to make something work that's already dead or protect their sanity and leave something that is not working.

My parents and his parents wanted a grandchild so somehow he forced himself to go through the motions with me so I could get pregnant. Everything was so forced and unnatural.

I don't have any regrets in terms of whether I gave it my all to make the marriage work. I don't think anybody else tried harder to make an abusive, deadening marriage work where I was alone most of time. I'm used to going anywhere alone and taking care of my child alone and doing everything myself from fixing anything around the house, lawn mowing, to lifting heavy groceries or anything, I basically did everything myself anyways in the marriage that usually a man or a husband would do so life wasn't really such a huge stretch when I got divorced after all these years. Whenever I bought something for my child or groceries using the joint credit card, he always made me pay him back for the money I spent and if I didn't pay him back he would take my credit and debit cards away until I did. He's broken down doors, turned off the heat downstairs especially in the winter, destroyed my jewelry and baby photos that I loved. I was frustrated and tired of constantly being scared of him.

I don't think i have any regrets. My life as a divorced person is no different from the very lonely, panicked, scary life as a married person. Except now I do get to attend religious events and I get to see my family which wasn't possible all throughout the marriage. I just have to deal with people's reactions if they do somehow get it out of me that I am divorced. At that point I have to deal with their reactions.

I still haven't recovered or healed yet so I need to go through some divorce therapy to deal with the trauma of verbal and physical abuse in the marriage and everything I went through and dealing with my new status as divorced in the desi community. Now i'm going to work on making my life and my child's life better. Stand strong in front of the desi community and shield myself of any bigotry from getting the best of me. No I don't tell most people i'm divorced only until they keep hammering me about where my husband is what he does what he's doing now and eventually I just blurt it out that i'm divorced and that I would prefer not to talk about it.

^It helped venting and barfing all that out of my mind. I was having a tough time sleeping. Gupshup is my therapy for now. Sorry all you nice people.

:( your post has me in tears! You are an incredibly strong person, may Allah swt grant you all the happiness,

dam ladies i know few desi men are cruel by looking at these it looks its always the husband responsible of every divorce!

I had flaws that's why I didn't attempt to get a divorce in the beginning of the marriage. I felt like everything was my fault or there was something wrong with me and that's why he didn't care or respect me. The marriage was deadening but personal improvements, adjusting, compromising, and trying to strengthen the bond can't be one-sided. It caused me to be a doormat for him. He was such a bully and controlling. It just drained every ounce of my being. I was like a ghost in that house, I had no say in anything and I couldn't invite over people or have a normal, happy life. No birthday parties, family feasts, Eid celebrations, nothing. He controlled everything because he brought out so much fear in me. I was somebody that never believed in divorce. But now i see that some marriages especially the abusive ones need divorce for the sanity of a human being. There are some people that are just so without emotions, I didn't think humans existed like that but I do now.

Not all men are like that.