The official Suhabas (r.a) Fan Club

Unfortunately, most Muslims know nothing about the Sahaba. If you ask them about Michael Jackson or other celebrities, or about famous athletes they can tell you a to z about them, but if you ask them about a companion of Nabi (sallallahu alaihi wa salam) they don't know anything

that is very true ....but i think simak b kharasha aka abu dujana [ra] acted as the human shield in uhad.But i could be wrong...

Re: The official Suhabas (r.a) Fan Club

^ Brother, I also read in many places that Hazrat Talha (r.a) played the main role of human shield along with few other Suhabas like Hazrat Abu Ubaida (r.a)....etc. in the battle of Uhad

In fact most of them got shahadat but Hazrat Talha (r.a) kept fighting till the end. After the war, he even carried the Prophet (saw) on his back to cross a hilly area, during which the porphet (saw) was informed through a wahi to congratulate Hazrat Talha (r.a) for basharat of Jannah. Due to this he is also included among the ten people who were congratulated by the Prophet (saw) of being the deservers of heaven in their own life.

Hazrat Abu bakr (r.a) usually used to refer to the battle of Uhad as a fight fought by Talha (r.a) alone due to this bravery of becoming a human shield for the Prophet (saw).

^ bro that might be the case of the version that you have read, the one I have read says that 7 amongst those who stayed with the prophet remained alive were
1-Zubair 2-Ali 3- abu dujana 4- sahl b huneyf 5-talha 6-Qatada b Numan 7-Abu Talha ansari
It does not say which one of them was the bravest.I assume all of them were…
all others around the prophet were martyred defending him,
its true that he was refered to as the living martyr on account of the paralysis of his hand.

http://www.usc.edu/dept/MSA/fundamentals/hadithsunnah/bukhari/057.sbt.html

^ JazakAllah khair brother for sharing. I might be wrong about Abu Ubaidah (r.a) but I did read it that when 5 people surrounded the Prophet (saw) to protect him, some links couldn’t be removed from the prophet (saw) mubarrak cheeks. Hazrat Abu Bakr said that I wanted to remove it but Abu Ubaidah (r.a) showed so much wish (to help the prophet (saw) that I had to allow him. While trying to remove the piece with his teeth, two of his teeth were broken. Hazrat Abu Bakr (r.a) said that after the pieces were removed and his teeth were broken, I saw Abu Ubaidah’s face and I never saw him so happy in my entire life.

There is a possibility that Hazrat Abu Ubaidah (r.a) came later, and was not among those five people doing a noble job.

Source: http://spaces.muxlim.com/Khalid_Ibn_AlWaleed

^ maybe you are right as well ,obviously there will be slight variations in the incident if its reported from different sources. But qays b abi hazam is a reliable source he has also narrated how Talha was martyred by marwan b hakam at jamal.

Submissin to Peace said ( With no offense, this might be said in a different context. Otherwise what about the hadith which declare Hazrat Khalid bin Waleed as the "Sword of Allah".)

Well Khalid bin Waleed got tht khitab after Jang-e-Moutta (i think) well its a great story let me share it with u and u should decide tht its true tht he was SAIF ULLAH ya phir yeh tareekh tarash( not using tareekh nawes becoz many things altered by tarikh tarash) ka karnama hai.

Jang-e- moutta mein 3000 muslman thay aur Ehle Roam ka 200000 ka lashkar 3 Sipah Salar shahhed hogaye (casualties are more but we are talking about sipa salar) aur 4th one was Khalid bin Waleed (by hook or crook). Khalid bin waleed lartay houay tamam sathiyoun ko medan say nikal laye. Madeenay k kareeb aye tou madeenay waloun nay bura bhala kaha " TUM ALLAH KI RAH SAY FRAR KAR K AYE HO WAPAS JAO" and many more . tab wo tamam log jo frar thay madenay mein ghar mein mehsoor ho kar reh gaye becoz of sharmindagi aur fiqra bazi of Ahle Madina once the wife of Rasool SAW asked from thier wives tht why your husbands dont come to namaz ba jaamaat . They replied due to shame they feel. Now you can decide where a normal soldier feel tht shame and people of madina pass many remarks how they can leave commander Khalid bin Waleed freely without saying any word to him. and how can Rasool SAWW give him tht Khitab when he was also angry with those culpurts.

Think and decide.
for reference please read history books you can find it easily or other wise i will try my best to give un disputed references.

Thanks

More Sahabas story from authenticated books to follow

The more I read about the great suhabas the more I want to know about them. Please do share if anyone knows and wants to share about the suhabas that are not discussed here.

Lets talk about the courageous sahabi Abdullah b Hanzala (ra) son of a sahabi martyred in Uhad who led the resistance of Ansar of Medina against the laeen paleed taleeq ,ibn taleeq yazid b muawiyah

mashAllah.. may Allah always be pleased with Abdullah bin Hanzala R.A for defending the holy Prophet's S.A.W city against yazeed laeen (may he burn in hell forever)

^ we cant send anyone to hell as its upto Allah swt , but we can condemn him for what he did in this world

RasoolAllah said "To love the Ansar is eman, and to hate them is nifaq ( hypocrisy) "

^^^ i know i cant send yazeed to hell.. sending lanat is condeming him... n i dont think yazeed was an ansari... whats the hadith about???

n i dont think yazeed was an ansari... whats the hadith about???

lol ofcourse he was not ansari, infact yazid and his family made no attempt to disguise their hatred of ansars

The AMictions of Hadhrat Khabbab bin Alarat (Radhiyallahoanho):

Hadhrat Khabbab (Kadhiyallaho anho) is also one of those blessed persons who offered themselves for sacrifice and suffering for the cause of Allah. He was the sixth or seventh person to embrace Islam and, therefore, he suffered long. He was made to put on steel armour and lie in the sun to sweat and swelter. Very often he was made to lie flat on burning sand. which caused the flesh on his back to waste away. He was the slave of a woman. When she came to know that he was visiting the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam), she used to brand his head with a hot iron rod. Hadhrat 'Umar (Radhiyallaho anho) during his caliphate once inquired of him about the details of his sufferings after embracing Islam. He showed him his back, seeing which Hadhrat 'Umar (Radhiyallaho anho) remarked, "I have never seen such a back before." He said, "My body was dragged over heaps of smouldering charcoal, and the blood and fat coming out of my back put out the fire." It is said that, when Islam spread and the hluslims conquered all the surrounding territory, he used to weep and say: "Allah seems to he compensating us in this world for all our sufferings, and perhaps nothing would be left for us as reward in the Hereafter."

Hadhrat Khabbab (Radhiyallaho anho) narrates: "The Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) once performed an unusually long rakaat while leading a Salaat. When the Sahabah mentioned it to him, he said, "This was a Salaat of yearning and humility. I asked three boons from Allah. I besought Him: '0,Allah! Let not my Ummat perish by famine; let not my Ummat be annihilated by an enemy gaining an upper hand on them; and let not my Ummat fight among themselves.' Allah granted the first two prayers, but not the third one." Hadhrat Khabbab (Radhiyallaho anho) died in 37 A.H.
He was the first of the Sahabah to be buried at Koofah. Hadhrat Ali (Radhiyallaho anho) once passing his grave said:
"May Allah bless and show mercy on Hadhrat Khabbab (Radhiyallaho anho). He embraced Islam willingly. He emigrated with great pleasure in Allah's path, and spent his whole life in striving and suffering for Islam. Blessed is the person who is mindful of the Day of judgement, prepares for his reckoning, remains contented with very little of this world, and is able to please his Lord."

To be able to please Allah, was really, the Sahabah's greatest achievement, for this was the sole purpose of their life.

Source: Fazail-e-amaal

Beautiful!!!! Thank you!!!

It saddens me that nobody mentioned Abu Dharr, Miqdad or Kumayl.

^ Kumayl b Ziyad Al Nakhai (r.a) was not a sahabi but a Tabi'i
He was one of the noble Tabeen, you could start a seperate "official Tabeen fanclub thread"

Many many other very noble sahaba were not mentioned either , so you shouldnt be so sad

Seerah of Ameerulmomineen Umar b Khattab

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5290018921123280054#

Hadhrat Abuzar Ghifari's (Radhiyallaha anho) Conversion to Islam:

Hadhrat Abuzar Ghifari (Radhiyallaho anho) is very famous among the Sahabah for his piety and knowledge. Hadhrat Ali (Radhiyallaho anho) used to say: "Abuzar is the custodian of such knowledge as other People are incapable of acquiring." When he first got news of the Prophet’s (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) mission, he deputed his brother to go to Mecca and make investigations regarding ' the person' who claimed to be the recipient of Divine revelation. His brother returned after necessary enquiries, and informed him that he found Muhammad (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) to be a man of good habits and excellent conduct, and that his wonderful revelations were neither poetry nor sooth-say- ings. This report did not satisfy him, and he decided to set out for Mecca and find out the facts for himself. On reaching Mecca, he went straight to the Haram. He did not know the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) and he did not consider it advisable (under the circumstances prevailing at that time) to enquire about him from anybody. When it became dark, Hadhrat Ali (Radhiyallaho anho) noticed him and seeing in him a stranger, could not ignore him, a s hospitality and care for :he travellers, the poor and the strangers, were the Sahabah's second nature. He, therefore, took him to his place. He did not ask him about the purpose of his visit to Mecca, nor did Abuzar (Radhiyallaho anho) himself disclose it. Next day, he again went to the Haram and stayed there till nightfall without being able to learn who the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) was. In fact everybody knew that the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasal- lam) and his companions were being persecuted in Mecca, and Abuzar (Radhiyallaho anho) might have had misgiv-ings about the result of his quest for the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam). Hadhrat Ali (Radhiyallaho anho) again took him home for t h e night, but again did not have any talk with him about the purpose of his visit to the city. On the third night, however, after Hadhrat Ali (Radhiyallaho anho) had entertained him a s o n the two previous nights, he asked him: "Brother, what brings you to this town?" Before replying, Hadhrat Abuzar (Radhiyal!aho anho) too a n undertaking f rom Hadhrat Ali (Radhiyallahoanho ) that he would speak the t ruth, and then h e enquired from him about Muhammad (Sallallaho alaihe wasallain). Hadhrat Ali (Radhiyallahoanho ) replied: "He is verily t h e Prophet of Allah. You accompany me tomorrow and I shall take you to him. But you have to be very careful, lest people come to know of your asso- ciation with me , and you get into trouble. When on our way I appr ehend some trouble, I shall get a s ide pre- tending some necessity or adjusting my shoes, a n d you will proceed ahead without s t cgping so that t h e people may not connect us."

The next day, he followed Hadhrat Ali (Radhiyallahoanho ), who took him before the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam). In the very first meeting, he embraced Islam. The Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam), fearing that the Qureysh might harm him, enjoined upon him not to make an open declaration of hi s Islam, and bade him to go back to his clan and return when Muslims had gained t h e uppe r hand. Hadhrat Abuzar (Radhiyallaho anho) replied:" 0, Prophet of Allah! By Him who is the master of my soul, I must go and recite the Kalimah in the midst of these unbelievers." True to his word, he went straight to the Haram a n d , right in the midst of the crowd and at the pitch of his voice, recited Shahadah viz:

"I bear witness that there is no god save Allah, and I bear witness that Muhammad (Sallaliaho ala ihe wasallam) is the Prophet of Allah."

People fell upon him from all sides, and would have beaten him to death if Abbas ( the Prophet's uncle, who had not till then embraced Islam) had not shielded him a n d saved him from death. Abbas said to the mob: "Do you know who he is? He belongs to the Ghifar clan, who live on the way of our caravans to Syria. If he is killed, they will waylay us and we shall not be able to trade with that country."

This appealed to their prudence and they left him alone. The next day Hadhrat Abuzar (Radhiyallaho anho) repeated his perilous confession of Imaan a n d would have 3, surely been beaten to death by the crowd, had not Abbas intervened once again a n d saved him for the second time. T h e action of Hadhrat Abuzar (Radhiyallahoanho) was due to his extraordinary zeal for proclaiming Kalimah among the disbelievers, and the prohibition by the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) was d ue to the soft corner in his heart for Hadhrat Abuzar (Radhiyallahoanho ) , lest he be put to hardships that might prove too much for him. There is not the least shadow of disobedience in this episode. Since the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) himself was under- going all sorts of hardships in spreading the message of Is- lam, Abuzar (Radhiyallahoanho ) also thought it fit to follow his example rather than to avail of his permission to avoid danger. It was this spirit of Sahabah that took them to the heights of material and spiritual progress. When a person once recited the Kalimah and entered the fold of Islam, no power on earth could turn him back and no oppression or tyranny could s top him from Tabligh