The official Suhabas (r.a) Fan Club

Re: The official Suhabas (r.a) Fan Club

Khalid bin Walid :razi:

Of course Hz. Ali :razi: is great too…

little human and Das Reich, jazakAllah khair for sharing information regarding Hazrat Ammar (r.a). Really a source of inspiration for today's youth.

After I listened to a scholar's lecture, I was wondering if there can ever be a friend on the planet better than Hazrat Abu bakr (r.a)

A breath taking series of events with the Prophet (Saw) when he need a companion in the most crucial times.

That is why the Prophet (Saw) said that I have paid back to everyone except Hazrat Abu bakr (r.a) because Only Allah can pay him back for everything he did for me.

^^ Bay Shau Br. STP. Hazrat Abu Bakr was true companion. Hence the only Ameer of choice after the demise of Rasoolallah

HAH!

The most logical choice was Imam/Mawla Ali (a.s.); it was revealed through the Prophet's own words.

Lets wake up and accept reality :).

Does anyone know about Hazrat Umme- Ammara (r.a). I heard few incidents from a scholar and was very impressed from her personality. (Masha'Allah)

Anyone ?

What about Salman farsi r.a., brilliant young man, his story is astonishing too! Even in old age, he came about with the idea of a trench.

May Allah be pleased with ALL of them.

Hazrat Huzaifa bin Yamaan (Allah be pleased with him) was the one for whom and his mother had the Allah's Messenger (PBUH) offered supplications. During the battle of Uhud, this companion was given the suty of safeguarding the women. He had participated in the battle of Khandak as well as other battles.

When Hazrat Umar(Allah be pleased with him) got victory over Iraq, Hazrat Huzaifa (Allah be pleased with him) was appointed as the highest officer of administration and justice.

When Hazrat Usman (Allah be pleased with him) became the Caliph, he made copies of the Holy Quraan and sent them in different parts of the country. In this work he had taken Hazrat Huzaifa's advice..

Salman the Persian (Persian: سلمان فارسی Salman e Farsi, Arabic: سلمان الفارسي Salman al-Farsi) was one of The Prophet Muhammad’s [Peace And Blessings Be Upon Him] companions.

During some of his later meetings with the other Sahaba, he was referred to as Abu Abdullah (“Father of Abdullah”)

Biography

Moid Salman the Persian was born with the Persian name Rouzbeh near the city of Isfahan

Travels

This is a story of a seeker of Truth, the story of Moid Salman the Persian, gleaned, to begin with, from his own words:
I grew up in the town of Isfahan in Persia in the village of Jayyan. My father was the Dihqan or chief of the village. He was the richest person there and had the biggest house.
Since I was a child my father loved me, more than he loved any other. As time went by his love for me became so strong and overpowering that he feared to lose me or have anything happen to me. So he kept me at home, a veritable prisoner, in the same way that young girls were kept.
I became devoted to the Magian religion so much so that I attained the position of custodian of the fire which we worshipped. My duty was to see that the flames of the fire remained burning and that it did not go out for a single hour, day or night.
My father had a vast estate which yielded an abundant supply of crops. He himself looked after the estate and the harvest. One day he was very busy with his duties as dihqan in the village and he said to me:
“My son, as you see, I am too busy to go out to the estate now. Go and look after matters there for me today.”
On my way to the estate, I passed a Christian church and the voices at prayer attracted my attention. I did not know anything about Christianity or about the followers of any other religion throughout the time my father kept me in the house away from people. When I heard the voices of the Christians I entered the church to see what they were doing.
I was impressed by their manner of praying and felt drawn to their religion. “By God,” I said, “this is better than ours. I shall not leave them until the sun sets.”
I asked and was told that the Christian religion originated in AshSham (Greater Syria). I did not go to my father’s estate that day and at night, I returned home. My father met me and asked what I had done. I told him about my meeting with the Christians and how I was impressed by their religion. He was dismayed and said:
“My son, there is nothing good in that religion. Your religion and the religion of your forefathers is better.”
“No, their religion is better than ours,” I insisted.
My father became upset and afraid that I would leave our religion. So he kept me locked up in the house and put a chain on my feet. I managed however to send a message to the Christians asking them to inform me of any caravan going to Syria. Before long they got in touch with me and told me that a caravan was headed for Syria. I managed to unfetter myself and in disguise accompanied the caravan to Syria. There, I asked who was the leading person in the Christian religion and was directed to the bishop of the church. I went up to him and said:
“I want to become a Christian and would like to attach myself to your service, learn from you and pray with you.”
The bishop agreed and I entered the church in his service. I soon found out, however, that the man was corrupt. He would order his followers to give money in chanty while holding out the promise of blessings to them. When they gave anything to spend in the way of God however, he would hoard it for himself and not give anything to the poor or needy. In this way he amassed a vast quantity of gold. When the bishop died and the Christians gathered to bury him, I told them of his corrupt practices and, at their request, showed them where he kept their donations. When they saw the large jars filled with gold and silver they said.
“By God, we shall not bury him.” They nailed him on a cross and threw stones at him.
I continued in the service of the person who replaced him. The new bishop was an ascetic who longed for the Hereafter and engaged in worship day and night. I was greatly devoted to him and spent a long time in his company.
(After his death, Salman attached himself to various Christian religious figures, in Mosul, Nisibis and elsewhere. The last one had told him about the appearance of a Prophet in the land of the Arabs who would have a reputation for strict honesty, one who would accept a gift but would never consume charity (sadaqah) for himself. Salman continues his story.)
A group of Arab leaders from the Kalb tribe passed through Ammuriyah and I asked them to take me with them to the land of the Arabs in return for whatever money I had. They agreed and I paid them. When we reached Wadi al-Qura (a place between Madinah and Syria), they broke their agreement and sold me to a Jew. I worked as a servant for him but eventually he sold me to a nephew of his belonging to the tribe of Banu Qurayzah. This nephew took me with him to Yathrib, the city of palm groves, which is how th e Christian at Ammuriyah had described it.
At that time the Prophet was inviting his people in Makkah to Islam but I did not hear anything about him then because of the harsh duties which slavery imposed upon me.
When the Prophet reached Yathrib after his hijrah from Makkah, I was in fact at the top of a palm tree belonging to my master doing some work. My master was sitting under the tree. A nephew of his came up and said:
“May God declare war on the Aws and the Khazraj (the two main Arab tribes of Yathrib). By God, they are now gathering at Quba to meet a man who has today come from Makkah and who claims he is a Prophet.” I felt hot flushes as soon as I heard these words and I began to shiver so violently that I was afraid that I might fall on my master. I quickly got down from the tree and spoke to my master’s nephew. “What did you say? Repeat the news for me.”
My master was very angry and gave me a terrible blow. “What does this matter to you? Go back to what you were doing,” he shouted.
That evening, I took some dates that I had gathered and went to the place where the Prophet had alighted. I went up to him and said:
“I have heard that you are a righteous man and that you have companions with you who are strangers and are in need. Here is something from me as sadaqah. I see that you are more deserving of it than others.”
The Prophet ordered his companions to eat but he himself did not eat of it.
I gathered some more dates and when the Prophet left Quba for Madinah I went to him and said: “I noticed that you did not eat of the sadaqah I gave. This however is a gift for you.” Of this gift of dates, both he and his companions ate.
The strict honesty of the Prophet was one of the characteristics that led Salman to believe in him and accept Islam.
Salman was released from slavery by the Prophet who paid his Jewish slave-owner a stipulated price and who himself planted an agreed number of date palms to secure his manumission. After accepting Islam, Salman would say when asked whose son he was:
“I am Salman, the son of Islam from the children of Adam.”
Salman was to play an important role in the struggles of the growing Muslim state. At the battle of Khandaq, he proved to be an innovator in military strategy. He suggested digging a ditch or khandaq around Madinah to keep the Quraysh army at bay. When Abu Sufyan, the leader of the Makkans, saw the ditch, he said, “This strategem has not been employed by the Arabs before.”
Salman became known as “Salman the Good”. He was a scholar who lived a rough and ascetic life. He had one cloak which he wore and on which he slept. He would not seek the shelter of a roof but stayed under a tree or against a wall. A man once said to him: “Shall I not build you a house in which to live?” “I have no need of a house,” he replied.
The man persisted and said, “I know the type of house that would suit you.” “Describe it to me,” said Salman.
“I shall build you a house which if you stand up in it, its roof will hurt your head and if you stretch your legs the wall will hurt them.”
Later, as a governor of al-Mada’in (Ctesiphon) near Baghdad, Salman received a stipend of five thousand dirhams. This he would distribute as sadaqah. He lived from the work of his own hands. When some people came to Mada’in and saw him working in the palm groves, they said, “You are the amir here and your sustenance is guaranteed and you do this work!”
“I like to eat from the work of my own hands,” he replied. Salman however was not extreme in his asceticism. It is related that he once visited Abu ad-Dardaa with whom the Prophet had joined him in brotherhood. He found Abu adDardaa’s wife in a miserable state and he asked, “What is the matter with you.”
“Your brother has no need of anything in this world*” she replied.
When Abu ad-Dardaa came, he welcomed Salman and gave him food. Salman told him to eat but Abu adDardaa said, “I am fasting.”
“I swear to you that I shall not eat until you eat also.”
Salman spent the night there as well. During the night, Abu ad-Dardaa got up but Salman got hold of him and said:
“O Abu ad-Dardaa, your Lord has a right over you. Your family have a right over you and your body has a right over you. Give to each its due.”
In the morning, they prayed together and then went out to meet the Prophet, peace be upon him. The Prophet supported Salman in what he had said.
As a scholar, Salman was noted for his vast knowledge and wisdom. Ali said of him that he was like Luqman the Wise. And Ka’b al-Ahbar said: “Salman is stuffed with knowledge and wisdomÑan ocean that does not dry up.” Salman had a knowledge of both the Christian scriptures and the Qur’an in addition to his earlier knowledge of the Zoroastrian religion. Salman in fact translated parts of the Qur’an into Persian during the life-time of the Prophet. He was thus the first person to translate the Qur’an into a foreign language.
Salman, because of the influential household in which he grew up, might easily have been a major figure in the sprawling Persian Empire of his time. His search for truth however led him, even before the Prophet had appeared, to renounce a comfortable and affluent life and even to suffer the indignities of slavery. According to the most reliable account, he died in the year thirty five after the hijrah, during the caliphate of Uthman, at Ctesiphon.

Battle of the trench

Salman was the one that came with the idea to dig the moat in the Battle of the Trench
While some sources gather him with the Muhajirun,[1]](Salman the Persian - Wikipedia) other sources narrate that during the battle of the trench, one of Immigrant from Makkah (Arabic: Muhajirun) stated “Salman is one of us, Muhajireen”, but was challenged by the Muslims of Medina (Arabic: Ansar). A lively argument began between the two groups, each of them claiming that Salman belonged to their group, and not to the other group. Muhammad arrived on the scene, and heard the argument. He was amused by the claims but he soon put an end to their argument by saying: “Salman is neither Muhajir nor Ansar. He is one of us. He is one of the People of the House.(Arabic: ahl al-Bayt).”[2]](Salman the Persian - Wikipedia)

Abu Bakr’s era

According to several sources, Salman gave allegiance to Abu Bakr along with Ali (Muhammed’s cousin and son-in-law), who gave allegiance after a period of six months after Muhammed’s death.[3]](Salman the Persian - Wikipedia) According to Shiites Salman gave his allegiance only to Ali and become one of Ali’s Shiites. Shiites do not believe that Ali and Salman gave allegiance to Abu Bakr…

Source: Wikipedia

Brother STP has given the information about Salman Farsi(RA) below (may Allah reward him for that), also there was a thread I started about this Sahabi(ra) a long time ago, here’s the link.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=260762

Nasibah Umm’ Amarah bint Ka’b bin Awf al-Ansariyah :razi2:

Umm Amarah was an important companion and a great fighter for Allah’s cause. She was right-acting, ardent and devoted. She strove for Allah, relying on him alone. She converted to Islam during the early days and was present at the second pledge of Al-Aqabah at which she swore allegiance to the Prophet :saw2: along with her first husband Zaid ibn Asim, who died after the battle of Badr. They had two sons, Abdullah and Habib, who were both companions of the Prophet.

Nasibah bint K’ab was also present at the battle of Uhud with her second husband, ghaziya ibn Amr and her two sons. One morning, she set out with them for the battlefield to give water to the injured. Nasibah had brought a sword, a bow and a quiver of arrows as well as her water-skin and bandages. Soon after the battle had begun, she reached the place where the Prophet :saw2: had taken up his position on relatively high ground. He was with some of his closest companions and the battle was going in the Muslims favour.

The Muslims continued to advance until the way into the enemy camp was open. They were tempted by the booty and began to surge into the enemy camp seeking plunder. The fifty archers chosen to guard the rear of the army saw their companions taking spoils of war and felt that they would lose out. So, totally neglecting the Prophet’s :saw2: command not to leave their post no matter what happened, they left their post, assuming that the battle was over. Their commander, Abdullah ibn Jubair, was left with only a few archers.

When the enemy realised what was happening, they set off for the post where the muslim archers were stationed and killed the remaining few. Then the enemy cavalry attacked the unguarded ranks of the Believers. Some of the Quraysh enemy, who had begun to flee, rejoined the battle causing some Muslims to lose heart and run away. Other faithful Muslims fought on, but the tide had now turned against the Muslims.

Once Nasibah realised that the Muslims were being defeated, she joined the Prophet :saw2: with a sword, a bow and a quiver full of arrows. She began shooting arrows until they were all used up. Ibn Qami’ah, an unbeliever from one of the clans from the outskirts of Makkah, was shouting, “Where is Muhammad? May I not survive if he survives.” Then Ibn Qami’ah recognised the Prophet :saw2: and struck at him. The bow was averted by Talhah, who was standing next to the Prophet :saw2:. Talha then threw himself in the direction of the sword and the Muslims closed in around the Prophet :saw2: to protect him. Umm Amarah was a part of the human barrier which protected the Prophet :saw2: Ibn Qami’ah struck her and she struck him, but he was wearing two coats of armour which protected him from her blows. However, Ibn Qami’ah struck Umm Amarah on her neck so severely that her wound took one year to heal.

Umm Amarah had the following to say about the battle of Uhud, " The people had left the Prophet :saw2: exposed and only a few, not more than ten, remained and my husband, my sons and I myself were among them. We defended him and the people were moving around in a defeated state. I did not have my shield with me. The Prophet :saw2: saw a man with a shield, so he said, “Give your shield to someone who is fighting. ’ So the man gave his shield to me and I used it to defend the Prophet :saw2:.”

So Nasibah continued fighting, treating the wounded and carrying water for them. When her son Abdullah was wounded and bleeding, she bandaged his wound and said to him, “Rise and fight the people, my son.” Upon hearing this the Prophet :saw2: said, “And who is capable of bearing what you bear, Umm Amarah?”

The Prophet :saw2: was very pleased with Nasibah after her bravery at Uhud and he prayed to Allah to make Nasibah and her family his companions in Paradise.

The people also thought well of Nasibah, When Umar ibn Khattab :razi: was brought some very fine silk cloth, someone suggested that he send it to Safiyah bint Ubaydah, the wife of Abdullah ibn Umar. He said, “I will send it to someone who has more right to it than Safiyah bint Ubaydah. I will send it to Nasibah Umm Amarah, for I heard the Prophet :saw2: say, ‘On the day of Uhud whether I looked to the right or the left, I saw nasibah fighting round about me’.”

After the death of the Prophet :saw2:, she took part in the fighting against Musaylimah, the false prophet, in Yammamah. She went to Abu Bakr :razi:, the Khalifah, to seek permission to join the expedition with Khalid ibn al-Walid against Musaylimah. Abu Bakr :razi: said, “We know your worth in war, so go out, in the name of Allah.” Abu Bakr (ra) committed her to Khalid’s charge and she fought bravely at Yammamah. She was wounded in eleven different places and had her hand chopped off. Her son, Habib, was also killed.

After Musaylimah had been defeated and killed and the war was over, Nasibah returned home. Khalid ibn al-Walid came there to treat her hand with hot oil, to seal the wound and stop the bleeding. The hot oil was even more painful than having her hand cut off.

There is a story that Ikrimah narrated, that Nasibah went to the Prophet :saw2: and said, “I see that everything goes to men, and I do not see anything mentioned for women.” Then the following verse of the Qur’an was revealed (Surah Al-Ahzab 33:35):

For Muslim men and Muslim women, for believing men and believing women, for devout men and devout women, for truthful men and truthful women, for patent men and patient women, for men and women who humble themselves, for men and women who give sadaqah, for fasting men and fasting women, for men who guard their private parts and women who guard, and for men who remember Allah much and women who remember, Allah has prepared for them forgivness and a great reward.

Thus Nasibah Umm Amarah was prepared to fight and sacrifice her own life to defent that of the Prophet’s :saw2:.

She is a true example of bravery and devotion and her strenght of faith is inspiring.

From the book The Sahabiyat (The female companions of the Prophet’s Era by Jameelah Jones

2 Likes

^ :jazak: for sharing this Hareem! I have read Umm Amarah’s stories before lekin its never enough! MashAllah what a great role model for us Muslims!

^Wa iyyakum sister pinks, yes she was a great and a very brave woman, may Allah's blessings be upon her.

Short piece on friendly competition and the true Santa Claus(es)

Umar (RA) and Abu Bakr (RA) used to have many 'clashes' in the best nature. They used to compete to out do each other in the khair.

On one occasion Umar (RA) bought so many things in sadaqah when Muhammad (SAW) asked for it, he said that he had left half of his things at home.

Then came Abu Bakr (RA) with his things ... when asked what he left at home he said, he replied "Allah ... and (the name of) His Rasool" i.e. he bought everything.

This competitive spirit went on until and after the demise of RasoolAllah (SAW). One day during the Khilafat of Abu Bakr asSiddique ... Umar (RA) wondered how he could make himself useful. He scouted around town and looked for the most needy person. He saw an old woman who lived alone and made a vow to help her. Then he went to her house to see if he could clean up and such but saw the house clean and the dishes were done.

He asked her if he could help with anything one day and she said that someone helps her out already. Umar (RA) became curious to know who it was to thank him. He stayed outside her house all day but could not see anyone enter the old ladiy's house. Then he asked again but she said that he comes in the night.

Missing out a lot of detail Umar (RA) eventually saw a man sneeking in the shadows and on one occasion he grabbed this man to see who he was. It only turned out to be Abu Bakr (RA) the Khalifah of the time. With such a busy schedule he even managed to find time to do this. I think it was on that day that Umar (RA) accepted defeat of the friendly competition he used to do with As-Saddique.

Santa Claus was an old man with probably nothing much to do, he was a legend, but we have the true story and furthermore he was the leader himself and a true spirit of compassion.

Taking nothing away from Umar (RA) ... there was a time with him during his Khilafat that he helped out a poor family and his beard was covered in smoke whilst helping light a fire and cooking bread and listening to the woman criticising the Khalifah for being unjust. SubhanAllah ...

JazakAllah khair sister hareem01 and brother psyah for a beautiful sharing.

In addition to what hareem01 sister wrote, I would like to add (I read it somewhere or heard from scholar, kindly correct me if there is any mistake).

The other son of Hazrat Umme-Amarah (r.a), i.e. Hazrat Abdullah was sent to Musailmah kazab as a Qasid to convey a message. Musailmah told Abdullah to accept Musailmah as a prophet otherwise his one had would be choped off. Hazrat Abdullah (r.a) kept denying till one by one his both hands and legs were cut and finally the torture was increased so much that Allah (swt) blessed him with shahadah.

When this incident was narrated to Hazrat Umme Amarah (r.a) she said*," I fed milk to my son to see this day"*

SubhanAllah ! all the Suhabas (r.a) are true examples to follow.

According to this reference below it was her son Habib who became Shaheed and her other son Abdullah (ra) and one other sahabi killed Musaylimah. Allah hu Alim

When the Prophet sallallahu alayhe wasallam passed away, some of the Arab tribes apostatized, at their head was Musaylimah The Liar. Khalifah Abu Bakr rallied the Muslims to fight the renegades. Um Imarah asked permission from Abu Bakr to join the army, accompanied by her two sons. “We knew your bravery during the war,” he said, “Come on in the name of Allah.”

This battle was a great test for Um Imarah. The fight was hard and the two parties adamantly set to win it. She held her grounds, always advancing. Now she heard that her son Habib fell prisoner to Musaylimah the liar. He asked him, “Do you testify that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah?” When he said that he did, he went on, “And do you testify that I am the messenger of Allah?” he answered, “I do not hear.” So Musaylimah began to cut him to pieces, organ by organ until he died. He asked him the same questions over and over, but he could not get a different answer. Um Imarah went to al-Yamamah with the Muslims and took part in the war against Musaylimah. She was eager to see the end of Musaylimah, and it was the will of Allah that he be slain by her other son Abdullah, and another companion. Um Imarah returned from the war having suffered twelve wounds inflicted by spear and sword, and having lost an arm, and her beloved son.
Um Imarah, Nusaybah bint Ka’b, was a woman who was true to her words, a woman who occupies a special place in the history of Islam.

^ JazakAllah Khair sister for the correction. May Allah (swt) reward you for sharing good knowledge.

Uthman b Mazun [RA]

^ JazakAllah Khair brother for a beautiful sharing.

A report given by Imam Ahmad from Umm Salamah Abu Bakr (may Allah be pleased with him) went to do business in Busra, and with him were Nu'ayman and Suwaybit ibn Harmalah (may Allah be pleased with them), both of whom had been present at Badr. Suwaybit was in charge of food on the journey, and Nu'ayman said to him,** "Feed me!"** Suwaybit said,** "Not until Abu Bakr comes."..
Nu'ayman was a fun-loving man with a sense of humour, so he went to some people who had brought livestock with them, and said, "Will you buy a sturdy Arab slave from me?" They said,** "Yes."** He said, "He has a big mouth, and he may tell you that he is a free man. If that means that you do not want to take him, then forget the matter, and do not cause trouble for me with him." They said,** "No problem, we will buy him."** So they bought him for ten young she-camels. Nu'ayman brought the animals back, and told the people: "There he is!" *Suwaybit said: *"I am a free man!" They said, "He has already told us all about you," and put a rope around his neck and led him away. Then Abu Bakr came, and was told what had happened. He and his companions went and returned the animals and took Suwaybit back. They told the Prophet (pbuh) what had happened, and he and his Sahabah would laugh about the story for a year afterwards.

Source:Hayat Al Sahabah .