The Official ELECTIONS 2008 Thread

well lets keep this as sticky for elections.

so what will happen in the elections?
who will win?
will BB or NS be allowed to serve as third time?

i think ppp has a big chance of winning most seats but bb will not be allowed to serve for third time so we will see someone new or maybe they could make an alliance with pmlq.

on the other hand pmln, mma and tei will probably make an alliance with pmln getting most seats, if they win then ns will be disallowed, they could probably elect imran khan.

Re: The Official ELECTIONS 2008 Thread

IN THE THREE MAIN PROVENCES THIS WILL PROBABLY HAPPEN,

PUNJAB - pmlq/pmln
SINDH - PPP
NWFP - MMA

It will be a rigged election with ballot boxes stuffed with fake votes for pml(q) candidates, so who cares.

APDM to boycott polls
Updated at 1615 PST
ISLAMABAD: The opposition alliance All Parties Democratic Movement (APDM) Saturday announced it will boycott the up-coming elections.

The alliance Saturday in a meeting in Islamabad also issued four-day ultimatum to the government for withdrawal of the emergency rule.

The meeting was attended by Qazi Hussain Ahmed, Liaquat Baloch, Raja Zafarull Haq, Iqbal Zafar Jhagra, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Imran Khan, Dr. Abdul Hye Baloch and other leaders of the alliance.

Speaking at a press conference after the meeting Raja Zafar-ul-Haq demanded restoration of the constitution and judiciary and release of all detained political workers.

He said the alliance would boycott the elections and launch a protest movement against the government if the government failed to accept the demands in four days.

Qazi Hussain Ahmed said his party would consult with other member parties of Muttahida Majalis Amal (MMA) for boycott of the general elections.

thats the spirit :biggthumb

we need more people like you in pakistan

In my humble opinion, although PPP will have a majority in Sindh, it will not get much more seats than it currently has. They no longer have the expected support of the masses in Sindh.

PML will have the most seats, although less than they currently have, with PML (N) and MQM, increasing on the number of seats they currently have.

MMA, and MQM will still hold the key in deciding who forms the coalition govt.

wat will be the news tommorow, ‘we have reconsidered and will participate in the elections’
:CareBear::CareBear:

Daleel bhai, if you don't care then why bother increasing blood pressure. Let it be. :D

Unlike you I care for Pakistan and do not get into people worshipping. Pakistan comes first and foremost to me not some two bit drillmaster.

Daleel bhai, don’t you want to see continuation of Unprecedented Growth, and the* ‘never had it so good’* spirit that is currently sweeping Pakistan. Wouldn’t you agree that this has been a fantastic achievement of President Musharaf and his govt. despite the global challenges that Pakistan and other countries are facing? :slight_smile:

Heres to many more years of President Musharaf and his great leadership. :k:

Aalsi, hamari yehhi duaa hai kaay Mushrraf jainsa dictator Allah Tala Hindustan ko be daain. :)

why so much love for india?

Good analysis.

This is how I see the breakdown by region/province.

Interior Sindh - PPP majority.
Urban Sindh (Karachi, Hyderabad) - MQM majority

Upper Punjab - PML (Q) majority, with PPP and PML (N) fighting for 2nd and 3rd places.
Central Punjab - PML (Q) majority, PML (N) 2nd place, with PPP in 3rd place.
Southern Punjab ("Seraiki belt") - PPP majority, PML (Q) 2nd place.

Hazara division (NWFP) - PML (Q) majority, with PML (N) 2nd place.
NWFP (outside Hazara) - JUI (F) majority, ANP 2nd place, PPP and others fighting for rest.

Northern Balochistan (Pakhtun majority area) - JUI (F) majority.
Balochistan (Baloch majority areas) - No party winning majority.

^ Mashallah. That means there could be continuity in who forms the next govt. :)

As the elections are being held under the dictator the following will happen:

Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan, and frontier - PML(Q) will sweep despite the fact that in none of these provinces they have any support, but that has never stopped the dictator before.

Daleel bhai, aap kai moo mai ghee shakar. :)

Why do you think they will be allowed to serve third time? The 2-term limit still exists for Prime Minister post.

How would that be possible, considering there were only few 10s or 100s supporter for Nawaz Sharif? Why would seat counts go up?

You could well be right. Please add these seats to PML (Q). :)

Well with all the major opposition leaders like BB, Fazlur Rehman and now Nawaz Sharif either making deals or coming to understandings with President Musharraf, we know who remains and will remain the top boss. So yes there will be continuity in that sense. :)