The Nose Piercing

Pretty much all of us ladies have our noses pierced. I got mine at sixteen.

Does anyone know the reason behind Pakistani women piercing their noses? Is this mentioned or encouraged in our religion?

Re: The Nose Piercing

It might have been a custom Pakistanis picked up from Indians :hmmm: Not 100% sure.
I believe I read some where that the Indian girls pierce their nose as a sign of respect to the goddess Parvati.

I don’t have my nose pierced, but I want to! I’m not allowed to get it pierced, per Mama MM :naraz: even though she had hers pierced!! She says she regrets getting it.

As far as I know, there isnt any proof of encouraging or discouraging nose piercing in Islam. I know the women of The Prophet (saw)'s time pierced their ears, so that’s considered as “allowed”.

Some scholars say the piercing the nose is allowed because women of Islamic communities do it, women are allowed to wear ornaments, or because there aren’t any specific scriptures stating it’s not allowed. Others say it’s not permissible because it’s considered unnecessary pain and mutilation/ modification (which is not allowed.)

It’s was so men could put a rope in it and use it as a way to train women.

And what about those girls/women who pierce a lot of other parts of their bodies including…ahem ahem…:slight_smile:

i have yet to get my nose piercing done. i think it looks pretty but my sisters say i have a pakora nose and ill look desi with it. lol . i dont care- i shall get it sooner or later- i like to look desi! :smiley:

It doesn’t have any religious significance and isn’t common amongst Muslims from other cultures.. It doesn’t seem to be discouraged in Islam so probably more a question of personal preference..

'In India the outside of the left is the preferred position of the piercing as this is supposed to make childbirth easier. This is because Ayurvedic medicine associates this location with the female reproductive organs.[SUP][1]](Nose piercing - Wikipedia)[/SUP] In India piercings were regarded as a mark of beauty and social standing as well as a Hindu’s honor to Parvati, the goddess of marriage. Nose piercing is still popular in India. They are often part of Indian wedding jewellery. In Maharastra women wear very large nose pieces that often cover the mouth or the side of the face.

It is common for Pashtun and Pahari women to have both nostrils pierced. Many South Indian Tamil also follow this old tradition. The tradition follows that the woman has her nose rings to pay for her funeral if she has all the gold taken from her. Nose rings or gold studs cannot be easily removed from the woman. Many women from the Asian subcontinent are cremated with just their nose studs as jewellery is removed before the funeral. Indian widows usually remove their nose studs as a sign of respect.’

Source: Nose piercing - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

i dont have my nose pierced neither will i have it. my sister says that i will have to for my wedding day as bride doesn’t look like a bride without it. but my preference is still not to have it pierced as i don’t think it is necessary or will look good on me.

religiously as far as my knowledge is, it is permissible.

I got mine pierced when I was 17, my ammi didn’t have any objections. I stopped wearing a nose pin after my twins were born though, and now it’s closed up :bummer:

Always hated it and continue to do so.
Seems like gross to me for some reason.

got it when i was 20, just liked the idea of it, and it looked nice. no objection from my mom whatsoever, in fact she took me to get it done.

Reha, kya yaad kerwa diya :teary2:

i don’t think that it is encouraged…i would say that it’s allowed for women because they are allowed to decorateadorn themselves with clothes, jewelry and other accessories.

the reason why i said that it is NOT recommended in Islam because of the fact that Muslims are not allowed to mutilate their body [except circumcision]…we are NOT allowed to cause permanent changes in our bodies.

as far as adornment of body is concerned t should be for accessories only, like nose piercing for nose-rings. in some African countries mutilation of face is considered beautiful and many men, women and children get permanent carvings on their faces. the changes must be minimal to allow wearing of jewelry.

I am not concerned with those piercings although if you have references you’d like to cite, please do so.

So no one knows why we pierce our noses? Do other cultures also pierce their noses? Hm?

mere Khayaal se aurteN apnii Khoobsoortii barhaane ke liye naak chhidvaatii haiN taa k Khoobsoorat keeleN aur rings pahen sakeN…aur sab se baRh kar shaadii ke din baRii sii nath pahen sakeN…nath dulhan kaa trade mark hai! :slight_smile:

i like those girls who wear nose rings! :slight_smile:

yeah, i guess…the other day, i saw this girl at Tim Horton’s and who was wearing a chhoTii sii nannhii munnii sii naak kii keel…maiNne usse kah diyaa k “your nose ring/stud looks great on you!” … :slight_smile: … she said, “well, thank you, my mom thinks it’s crazy!” hehe

I’ve thought about it but my mom always said no to getting it.

I think the right nose peircings look so goddess like.

Since its not mentioned, encouraged nor discouraged in Islam and seems to a be a dominating tradition in South Asian culture, can having a nose ring be considered an innovation since Muslim women in the South Asian subcontinent have adopted it as part of their culture?

Also, for those who don’t know…its actually a Hindu custom we’ve adopted seamlessly into our society.

The nose piercing is believed to aid in childbirth, is also to honor the Goddess of Marriage: Parvati and is to be removed if the husband is no longer alive.

it’s NOT a bid’a [innovation] because no one gets nose pierced as a religious code and no one expects a reward for doing it and no punishment from Allah for NOT doing it.

Since Islam allows the adornment of women so if nose piercing add to it then so be it…of course, excessive mutilation/changes of body [without medical reasons] is Haraam in Islam.

Is piercing allowed anywhere on the body?