The nicest and most likeable cricketer...

am wasim je is not u always see him say twat lol and waqar is not nice either ... i would have thought it would be easier to ask for ppl who sledge i mean most of the circketers r nice ppl except the ausies

Re: The nicest and most likeable cricketer...

Originally posted by saby: *
Today in world of cricket, we see so much sledging and mouthing off going on, it makes you think if its not a gentlemen's game anymore. In this era of sledging who (in your opinion ) is the cricketer(s) who doesnt mouth- off **or even reply to a sledge and just stays nice throughout. ???

Originally posted by Asif_k:
Despite the 3rd umpire's decision Slater went to argue with the field Umpire and called Dravid 'F*k You' - **Dravid responded in Slater's Language and told him 'You too'.*

Sorry, Dravid didn't meet Saby's criteria, he replied back by Sledging, so he doesn't qualify. :)

Re: Re: The nicest and most likeable cricketer…

]

:hehe: well yes he doesnt qualify, As we have seen so many examples of cricketers **who doesnt even reply to a sledging **

Re: Re: Re: The nicest and most likeable cricketer…

Well In that case - I am taking everyone (Except Andy Flower) off my list. All of them even Sachin Tendulkar have at some point replied to the sledging. :hehe:

As for Dravid - He didn’t sledge, didn’t even use the F word, he just said ‘You too’ :slight_smile:

Re: Re: Re: Re: The nicest and most likeable cricketer…

Reply “You too” meant “**** you”
So he did sledge.

Let's keep things in perspective. Dravid is not a habitual sledger. He might have retaliated on a few occassions but that does not make him a sledger. Overall he is a quiet man.

Judge on the overall record not on isolated instances.

the one true gentleman in this sport that gets uglier by the day was Courteney Walsh.

This guy was a real sport. Didn't he in the 87 world cup, not run out one of our boys only for Qadir to hit him for a six off the last ball and take the match? I believe he even got a sportsmanship medal for that. I loved watching this guy bowl along with Ambrose. These guys were scary.

True Sambi, I remember that match.
I think Abdul Qadir got out of the crease from the non strikers end even before Walsh released the ball from his hands while delivering, since Walsh saw it, but he did take off the bails as he should have and he let Qadir comeback to his crease.
I am not sure if its the same event.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
I think Abdul Qadir got out of the crease from the non strikers end even before Walsh released the ball from his hands while delivering, since Walsh saw it, but he did take off the bails as he should have and he let Qadir comeback to his crease.

yeah, yaar it's the same incident. however, I don't think it was Qadir who kept lunging out of his crease. it was the other guy (Saleem Yousaf maybe). Qadir was on the striker's end. I'm not sure though. I haven't seen the match, have heard and read about it extensively.

Ehsan bhai should know though since 87 is more his territory than mine. :)

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

No it was not Qadir, it was Saleem Jafer, who had stepped out of his crease b4 walsh delievered his ball. walsh did not run him out and just warned him for that, WI lost that game as Qadir and Jafer made about 11 runs in final over. wanna watch that game wait for me to come back to states.

Walsh was given a carpet by one of the Pakistanis as a thank you token for his sportsmanship.

Samb bhai Abhi to main jawan hoon. ;)

Sultan Rahi bhee yahi kehta hai :hehe: … j/k

Sultan Rahi kehta tha.

I just adore Miandad.

[thumb=B]_959610_miandad300.JPG[/thumb]

:rotfl: @Frog

Funguy - Thank you for sharing that picture. :hehe:

*Originally posted by funguy: *
I just adore Miandad.

[thumb=B]_959610_miandad300.JPG[/thumb]

Probably the greatest moment after winning the cup, brings back some very nice memories.

WASIM AKRAm.. yes he has always been LIKEABLE .. trust me !!

*Originally posted by undefined: *
WASIM AKRAm.. yes he has always been LIKEABLE .. trust me !!

I thought you would nominate Basit Subhani as most likeable cricketer.

:hehe: :hehe:

2 cricketers who I'd also consider likeable, (but doesn't mean they were necassarily 'nice'), were Merv Hughes and Fanie de Villiers.

Hughes always reminded me of a walrus, and he was a favorite with the crowds wherever he went. Miandad used to taunt him by comparing his physique and run-up to the crease as "a big truck running towards you, and then delivering nothing".

Although there were negative notions about de Villiers' somewhat racist attitude, he was quite a character in his international playing days. I remember him turning up in a snorkel and duck-feet onto the field and chatting with the groundsmen when a water-logged outfield delayed play at Nottingham once.