The "New Muree" Project and Mush Govt propaganda...

Now there are some member who constantly harp on over the so called development projects that were halted by the CJ…
One of those projects apparently was the New Muree Project…
Now According to this writer, the project was thought up in the Nawaz Sharif Administration.. After environmental issues came up, Sharif decided not to proceed…
One of the most disturbing effects were the potetial to pollute water supply of Simly and Rawal dam, on which Islamabad and Pindi depend. Among other ebvironmental effects.

The Patriata forest it should be recalled was a national reserve. Up until the formation of the NMDA.. The New Muree development authority…
NMDA had the authority to over ride the objections posed by the local naib nazim and former nazim of Muree tehsil.

The project was rejected by the National Assembly Standing Comitee, which is a ruling party follower. Thus IT WAS NOT REJECTED BY THE CJ INITIALLY…
Also, the CDA, local govt, and irrigation dept also expressed their concerns over the project.
The Standing Commitee can only suggest, not order, so it intended to send a letter to Musharaf who by then had been convinced by Pervez Elahi that chopping down a 2000 yr old forest, and risking increased land slides and the possible contamination of drinking water was worth building a new golf course only about 24 km from the existing Muree, which itself has suffered major neglect. :rolleyes:
It should be mentioned that the project, Pervaiz Elahi was all set to steam role it through with the blessing of his highness P Musharaf, also threatened already endangered fauna and species of trees.

Another article states…
“The study ‘A Rapid Environmental Appraisal’ shows that the proposed plan aims to remove up to 8 per cent trees (totaling a maximum number of 11,680) within the New Murree boundaries. And while the total building cover is not proposed to exceed 10.5 per cent of this area, given that it is being done in a prime forested area, this drastic change in land use could have far reaching implications that need to be carefully considered.
The New Murree Project has been planned as a tourist city of international standard by the government of Punjab. Covering 4,111 acres of reserved forests at about 2000 meters to 2300 meters elevation in the Patriata area, New Murree will cater to some 50,000 visitors per day. The mandatory Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) is required under the Pakistan Environmental Protection Act 1997 (PEPA ’97) for all such projects, but it is yet to be undertaken.
Main threats related to the development of this project include construction activities in a reserved forest area, geological instabilities, and water supply and sanitation related issues, the report added.”
http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/aug-2005/11/index12.php

Re: The “New Muree” Project and Mush Govt propaganda…

The Chief Justice, citing the fact that all effected parties, including the National Standing commitee were against this, decided that someone had to put a stop to the intended plans, as the consequences far outshadowed whatever benefit one can have from 5 star hotel and a golf course…

However, the courts only asked that a proper environmental impact study be done before proceeding…
http://www.dawn.com/2005/09/30/nat2.htm

The govt then came out with its own assesment, and claimed the project would not be an environmental problem. According to the article below, the project was initially going through without a no objection note from the PEPA.
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_2-8-2005_pg7_38

But ofcourse, in Pakistan, for the PRO-DEVELOPMENT, aka Chamcha league, anyone who stands in the way of their so called development is anti-development..

The CJ, was bold enough to stand up to people like Elahi and prevent something thats an obvious waste of state fund, and potential environmental disaster from proceeding…
Now like him or hate him, it obvious the govt was proceeding WITHOUT taking in environmental concerns or the concerns of locals and the standing comitee… The CJ stepped in, in a timely manner to bring some accountability to the process…
This ofcourse got the CJ in trouble with Pervaiz Elahi which is why the CJ was removed y the dictator.

This is what happends to people who ARENT corrupt in Pakistan…

Re: The "New Muree" Project and Mush Govt propaganda...

Main point to rmember here is that the govt of Musharaf, under the auspices of Elahi, were going through with it despite the envirnmental concerns, without addressing the concerns of locals and its own standing comitee and without geting a non objection from Pakistan Environmental Portection Agency... So who is the corrupt one here? The CJ for forcing accountabilty, or the underhanded dealings of the Mushu Govt?

Now the rumor is that the project is being restarted... Just a rumor so far, lets hope some sense pervails... I doubt Dogar gives a hoot about it so long as he an lap up whatever Bone Musharaf throws at him.

the whole story for it is on skyscrapercity.com

and i allready told you, cj had issues with the current projects happening, and like i said to you before new murree project was stoped long time ago and i supported it,
and no this isnt the same project what nawaz shirff was making, he was planning a resort there by selling the land off for billions to an arab who was gona chop the trees down. this new murree project was different to that.

Suhaib bhaijan. Aap nai tau PaKpatriot1 ki qushion par pani phair dia. Eid kai moqai par tau aisa nahi kartai. :)

yaar facts to saamne lane parte hai

Im only pointing out to you that the CJ did the right thing here... He wasnt against projects just for the sake of being against projects.. There was logical reason behind it all..

And come on, whether its an Arab choppping down the trees or Pakistani, the project is essentially the same... To build a resort in or around muree, that has the potential to be an environmental disaster...

Point in the end is to highlight the corruption on the part of the govt.. To go ahead with this project without any kind of regard for the environment or the law... The CJ did the right thing in stepping in and stopping this thing even at the cost of making an enemy of Pevaiz Elahi...
So again, who was a thief and who was the hero in this case?

That's true. Please carry on. :)

the thing is that i allready said it was the cj who stoped this but you denied it and told me enviromentlists stoped this.

i allready told you i supported it, and cj was even on good terms at that time with mush, but the stopping of emaars projects and dhabis groups projects along with 2+ storey ban was totaly to get back at his new enemy.

What I meant was that the govts own people were against this initially.. If you read the article it clearly states that the National Standing Comitee was the first to voice a complaint...

They sent a letter to Mush, dont know what become of that, but its apparent that Pervaiz Elahi had won Mush over by then...

The CJ only stepped in after readin about it in Dawn, which highlighted the fact that despite local issues with the project, concerns raised by environmental groups, concerns raised by the National Standing comitee itself, and finally the govt not getting a nonobjection from the PEPA, the govt was still going ahead with this project.

It was only after all these people had objected that the CJ stepped in, because the govt wasnt litening to anyone.
Now you get what I meant?

I dont know about Karachi... But if the rational for stopping the project or slowing it down was the same reason as Lahore, thats fine...

How can anyone be allowed to carry on with their business if they dont comply with rules...

The case with Lahore, if you look back at the thread, the article states that the builders were illegally building extra floor in violation of by-laws... Now its very hard to argue against the fact that if its a violation of the rules, then its a violation of the rules plaine and simple.

The Alamgir Building for example, built somthing like 4 extra basement levels without permision and in violation of the law...
These people were violating the law and they deserved to be brought to task. And you know as well as I do the corruption involved in the construction bussines, people flout the law all the time and often these buildings can even be hazardous.

Despite this, many projects have continued and I can assume they were following the rules... ISE building is almost complete infact, so are a number of projects across the country.

well the construction ban was only on lahore, when sc order LDA to halt all construction, i agree that builders were violating the laws and they should have been delt with, but put a ban on all contruction activities was riddiculus, CJ dogar has allready proved himself better then iftikar choudary as he is allready dealing it better and instead of banning these activites he has asked for loopholes in LDA to be filled, now constrcution has resumed and LDA has emplyed engineers for the first time who go to sites and inspect them.

jujst look at the amount of jobs lost and money lost by developers, imagine if you were a builder who had put in millions and were ordered to halt construction cos some other developer had violated the laws.
or just put yourself in the position of a labourer, who was working and earning 500 ruppess a day to support your family and you lost your job and no more jobs were availble in that field, were will you get your food from and shelter from.

musharraf had never approved the project and he just appreciated it, after an envirmental report was carried out by the gov. which said there will be no impact if trees taken out (forgot the name of this process) will be re planted.
and it was also mentioned that there wont be many trees cut in the area, only for roads and public buildings as the villas were suppose to be made nestled in the forests.

Thats all specualtion... The track record of the govt is not very reassuring. We already know how many trees have been chopped down in Muree and and we know that none of them has been replanted.
The local fauna has suffered a lot from loss of habitat.

Also, planting young trees would not be mature enough to tackle the environmental risks.... Tall trees with deep roots are essential to prevent land slides etc.

But if the govt thinks its in the right, then it should argue the case before the courts... And they should make an effort to get the clearance from PEPA...

But regardless of how the govt went about it, the CJ was in the right in stopping this project...

^^ mushi farig betha hai na.. Or why dont you say behind all development its mushi and he is making money. Buddy, you need to become little bit positive...and also accept it not everything done by mush.

I am always positive... But Mush in power, doesnt inspire much confidence..
I and many others dont want a dictator in power... We want a free Judiciary, and we want a free media... Mush isnt allowing that...

Anyways, the point of this thread was for you people to realize that the CJ was only doing his job and that he isnt the one blocking developments in the country...

The same applies to other projects that were apparently stopped by the CJ...

If you want me to stop blaming Mushi, then you will have to stop blaming the CJ and get your facts straight.