The new language
http://www.dawn.com/weekly/review/review5.htm
By Erum Hafeez
It was my first day as a high school language teacher. I was excited as well as apprehensive about facing two-dozen curious students since I had no idea how I would be welcomed. Some said “Namastay teacher”, another group said “hi shrimati” while a few preferred “mornin’ ma’am.” Initially, I took it all as a joke - a first day prank. But with every passing day, I realized that our new generation is obsessed with alifestyle and language alien to Pakistan. These children are part of a cult, defined by what they see on television.
Language reflects the mentality of an individual and of a nation. It mirrors the way a group of people think, act and express themselves. As a language teacher, I have witnessed a growth of a new culture in our country that is alien to what was once our values.
A large number of people are not proud of their identity. They are happier associating themselves to Lucknow, San Francisco, New York or London. The foreign media exploits the situation to their advantage and advertize their brands, propagate their ideology thus enslaving our generations both psychologically and economically. It influences every aspect of our lives and turns us into a consumer society with never ending craze for fast food, designer outfits, westernized decor, adopted rituals and celebrations. Language is just a reflection of the damage that affects our roots.
Today’s language is a bizarre mixture of slang and colloquialism, mostly adopted from the Internet, Bollywood and Hollywood. They sound more like their favourite stars than their parents’ children. When they are happy or want to appreciate something, they scream, “wow, yeah, cool, set hai, 'fit hai, bomb hai”. Anger is also expressed with expletives that are not considered appropriate in any society. Trends and values are changing swiftly in the modern world. These days, Hollywood hiphop and Hindi films tapori (street slang) language has become increasingly popular among the teenagers from all sections of society. Bhau (big brother), khalas (finish), bolnay ka nahi (don’t talk), siyanpati (wisdom), and many such unsavoury expressions have been adopted by our youngsters.
Satellite channels such as Zee, Sony and Star further contribute to the decline of young generation’s communication style. They find Aashir-wad and Namaste more attractive than the good old Assalam-o-alaikum. When I warned one of my students to complete his assignment on time, he said, “Miss, aap mujhay chitavani dai rahi hain?” (Are you warning me?) The entire class understood it - thanks to the cable invasion - but nobody knew the Urdu word for it.
The influence of foreign media is not confined to language; it affects the psyche and values of the youth as well. I hardly saw a student reciting naat or aya’at in class. But I was shocked when I went to a class and found a student singing bhajan at the top of his lungs. I inquired if he knew the meaning of the words and he said he didn’t. However, he liked the tune and learnt the song because Shah Rukh Khan sang the same bhajan in a movie.
The behavioural patternsshown by these foreign films, websites and satellite programmes counter our cultural and social norms. It has created a cultural contradiction that is mostly reflected in the attitude of the teenage population.
The top programmes on the channels these days are Tu Tu main main, Kyunkii Saas bhi kabhi baho thi, Ally Mcbeal, Friends and so on. By watching these programmes teenagers learn behaviour patterns and interaction with others within a family and in the workplace. Now they want to date, go to dance parties, and celebrate Valentines, rang, holi and diwali. They know more about foreign rituals like rakhi and Halloween than their own festivals.
It reflects failure of our electronic media to counter the foreign propaganda and establish its own identity. Family and educational institutions have also become less effective in holding on to a legacy of customs and traditions. They too would rather hand over this responsibility to media.
Electronic media in Pakistan has a lot of potential and it can reestablish its viewership and counter the cultural invasion through quality programmes and a relaxation of its policies. Parents, teachers and community leaders are also needed to come together for the establishment of an effective media vigilance system that maintains a check on programmes quality.