The MUZLUMS are taking over!!

I had an Islamophobic incident at work yesterday, a bit of a wake up call for me because it was from people I considered friends, since 9/11 everything’s been getting worse and worse and it keeps deteriorating…

I don’t blame them for their hatred, given their limited one-sided knowledge of current political events, our black-sheep and our apathy to remedy the situation it’s natural…

…It’s not their fault, they’ve been brainwashed the same way people in remote areas of Pakistan are brainwashed against the entire West with only one-side info and half truths…

…I guess they are just worried about their culture and country and that’s natural…

…But for a few minutes I could see how it would have felt like for a Jew when his German friends suddenly turned against him or a Bosnian Muslim when his Serb family and friends suddenly turned against him…

The Islamaphobic views expressed in right-wing newspapers like the Sun, Daily Express etc. emanated from the mouths of those that I considered friends (my only friends outside my family)..

Yesterday I could relate to the movie My Name is Khan.

…I could see very clearly why a lot of British born Muslims/Asians don’t integrate, why they don’t feel patriotic or loyal towards their country the same way American or South-African Muslims do.

It all became clear why British Asians prefer to stick to their own cliques and look down on coconuts like me, why they feel more loyalty and brotherhood with a Muslim in Afghanistan or Palestine than with fellow Brits of
a different faith..

Because when British Muslims like me do try to chummy up with Caucasian Non-Muslims they are pushed away…

Everyone wants to belong to a group and be accepted…

I realised how dangerous the tarring of all Muslims in the same brush and Islamophobia (you can’t divorce Islam from Muslims) by the EDL/BNP and their followers can be…

It just makes British Muslims more alienated, detached and disillusioned from mainstream society, it drives them further away from integration and assimilation into mainstream British society and an easy target for brainwashing by terrorist groups who capitalise on racism, islamaphobia, western foreign policies and the suffering of Muslims worldwide.

Up untill now I mostly blamed British-Pakistanis for being insular and not stepping outside their little cliques but I guess I was being naive, the early Pakistani immigrants were pushed away from mainstream society by the BNP for being brown curry-eating foreigners and today we the British born generation are being pushed away from mainstream society by EDL and its likes for being Muslim…

We Muslims need to do something to remedy the situation, and extremism is not the answer, it will just worsen things…

…I know religion is greatest source of solace at times like these (a safe, hiding place) but we should use it positively to strenghthen the bond of Muslim brotherhood amongst Muslims and also to build bridges of understanding, love and tolerance between Muslims and Kafirs (I don’t mean this as an insult, it simply means ‘rejector’, even Muslims are described by this word in the Koran in certain contexts).

We need to do more to show people that our religion is a religion of peace.

We need to do more to disassociate ourselves and our religion from terrorism and extremism.

We need to tell our countrymen that we don’t want to take over their country or impose Shariah on them like the EDL suggest. Even the Prophet PBUH didn’t apply Islamic law to the Jews and Christians in his empire but he gave them autonomy to judge by their own Torah’s and Gospel’s, and this is not even an Islamic state, nor do we have any agenda to make it as such.

British Muslims are just happy to be allowed to believe and practice the Five Pillars of Islam without our religion being bashed and insulted everywhere, we want nothing more…

We just want to live here and make ends meet because because Pakistan or Gujarat are not nice places anymore.

We Muslims need to be more practical and remember the “the pen is lifted…” hadith when it comes to removing the veil for security reasons or when we have to go through a full-body scanner, these are neccesities and by refusing to do these things we are making a tit out of ourselves, fellow Muslims and Islam.

We Muslims need to stop demanding special rights such as prayer-breaks and not serving customers certain products in supermarkets etc. If we want to practice Islam then it’s our duty to find a job in which break-time coincides with prayer-time and it’s our job to only work in an establishment where we’re not required to serve haram products…

We can’t have your cake and eat it too.

Other people shouldn’t have to go to any inconvenience or trouble so that we can practice our religion, one of the main factors in Islamophobia is when we infringe on their rights in the name of religion…

…Religion in general is despised in this country, and now Islam in particular due to the political situation… Let’s just work on removing those misconceptions first and not infuriate people further with our stupid little demands in its name.

One we could flaunt our religion and still be accepted, people were more tolerant then, the 90’s were a golden age, now it’s kalyug.

This country gives us a lot of rights but just because they give us a inch does not mean we can take a mile. In fact today it would be prudent to even turn down that inch because that’s what the EDL use.

Recently the council was giving out free cars to veiled Muslim women in a certain area because they feel vulnerable on public transport, that’s ridiculous, it’s because of incidents like this when we leach off public funds that people start hating us.

We need to demand that hate-clerics who are leaching off this country’s benefits and living in council flats be deported.. Just imagine if this was Pakistan with a welfare system and Nick Griffin was leaching off the Pakistani state whilst preaching hatred against Pakis and Muslims, how would we feel?

Also in this age of phobia and intolerance it would be prudent of Muslims to tone down the cultural aspects of our identity such as dress, language and architecture…

There is no need to wear thobes or shalwar-kamiz, build onion domes and minarets or converse in our native languages…

Most people don’t even know about politics but it’s these visual cultural aspects of our identity which make them paranoid.

There is nothing wrong with wearing western clothes, any clothing is Islamic as long as they’re modest, secular (not a vicars crucifix or a nun’s rosary) and not of the opposite gender.

Fair enough beard is mentioned in Ahadith but there is nothing wrong with an Imam wearing a three piece suit over a white thobe suited to the desert climate…

Also our sisters who wear Hijab/Niqaab, it would be prudent of them to replace their black gowns/veils (which stand out and draw attention) with long ankle-length western style coats and headscarves in mild colors which blend in (if you think the situation is right you can even cover your face with the edge of your scarf)…

The ninja-look scares people away from Islam.

Last we should be nice and polite to everyone and patient in the face of hostility…

If someone wants to know about Islam we should preach Islam with “wisdom and beautiful preaching”, with diplomacy, without making the listener feel insulted..

Simply the good manners (akhlaaq) alone of our beloved Prophet PBUH and the early Muslims converted nations to Islam.

Re: The ****ing MUZLUMS are taking over!!

How true^

Some very good points to remmeber there thanks brother. Allah keep youn safe. You live in the UK? which part?

Salaam bro Faaris (cool name).

Thanks.

I live in the north of the UK

The incident yesterday shook me very badly.. Of course they apologised and we made up by giving each other wedgies and chasing each other round the carpark afterwards but it really SCARED me how bad the situation is and how decent people can be brainwashed.

Reminds me of stories about how during the 1947 partition Muslims, Sikhs and Hindus who grew up playing gulli-danda together suddenly became each others enemies in the name of religion and nationalism.

Religion and nationalism are not bad in themselves and a lot of positive can come from them but some people can and do misuse them and we all need to be vigilant against that kind of thing, emotion and jazbaat are a strong thing..

War and hatred brings nothing good, just misery for everyone...

We Muslims need to sort our communities out QUICK and start building bridges with patience and love or what became of Jews at the hands of Nazis will become of us European Muslims.

We are the new Jews in Europe and we're partially responsible for the situation, if we keep being apathetic and don't sort ourselves out there will be a backlash.

Whether we be Jews or Muslims if we're going to preach hatred then that hatred will come back on us...

You don't have to do anything that you told muslims not do in your post, but I will live my life as I want to. No ignorant gora can change that! I couldn't care less if the ninja look scares people away from Islam. I am not here to please people, I am here to please my God.

And as long as this lifestyle of mine doesn't harm a single soul, no one has the right to object to it. If Hazrat Mohammad s.a.w. used to see some ants on the ground, he never used to walk over them. THIS is my Islam. And I'm proud of it.

Masha Allah sister, we're all proud of Islam but Islam also teaches us to use our aqal and hikmah.

I'm not saying we should compromise on Islam, I'm not one of those people who thinks we should start drinking to fit in or that Muslim women shouldn't cover or that Muslim men shouldn't have beards.. No.

If your read my past posts I've defended Niqabis but given the current political situation it would be prudent for our Muslim sisters to blend in without compromising on their Islam, carry on dressing modestly, but a long ankle length western-style coat that covers you and a beige/pink scarf (you can even cover your face with it if you really want to) would blend in more... In this country the ninja outfit has the opposite effect of what it's meant for, it actually draws more men's attention to you because it stands out.

(PS. I didn't mean ninja as an insult).

Pride is fine but if we're going to be stubborn and shove our identity in peoples faces then that wont do Islam or Muslims any favours, what will happen is BNP or EDL type goverments will be elected and we will be deported or more restrictions will be placed on Islam and hate-propoganda would be made legal, so that we wont want to live here anymore and trust me it's no better for us in the Muslim world.

I'm just being realistic my sister.

Nowsherwan brother you show great wisdom for your age. however i wouldn’t dwell to much on this subject… yaar.

Waise mera saar dard kartha haay har waqt :samck: what you said is pretty much 100% bang on… but all we can do is our best to cope with it.

Dont let it bother you too much i have to live with it all the time, but i choose to steer clear, those who no me know i do not compromise and so goras are less likely to cause trouble if they know your capable of bashing them but act with honour and dont do so becuase it uspets people.

jazakullah 4 sharing ur views.

actually it is responsibility of the every person of this ummat is to preach islam as mentioned in the quran. but unfortunately we have forgot our responsibility and now we are facing the consequences.
further there is a class of ppl in the west who is its long life mission to defame islam.

*Why should you get to decide how a woman should dress? Every other guppy on GS is going to have a different view of modesty and each will have their own ideas about "modest but more blendable" dressing. So who should we follow? This was the point of Islam in the first place, remember? God commands, we follow. God decides, we agree. Instead of every other person making their own rules. *

None taken... I'm just discussing this topic.

Being proud is not the same as rubbing your ideas on other people's faces. I hardly ever talk about religion to any of my friends or colleagues. In fact, my class mates didn't even know I offer 4 out of 5 prayers in college. Religion is a personal thing and I keep it to myself. And I respect other people's beliefs, the room that's given to us in college to pray is actually a mini church. But I don't mind praying in that room. But if I was like "No, I want my own room, right now, just for muslims" THAT would be stubborn and stupid.

If its no better for us anywhere else, then why change for the world? Its the present world thats messed up, not Islam. Its the so-called muslims that are messed up, not Islam. Dr. Zakir Naik said a very beautiful thing: "If you want to know how a car drives, you study the car, not the driver" So the next time an ignorant person shouts at you for being a muslim, tell them to go n study islam, not muslims.

People do need to change but in their minds not in their appearance. I could completely wear what ur saying to blend in more but whats the point if in my mind I'm still an extremist? If in my mind I still hate the non-muslims?

One word... Education.

Not physical appearance.

I know where you're coming from sister and I respect that.

I agree with you that we should be loyal to these countries and our countrymen from our heart too, I know many bearded and niqabi ppl who love this country but ppl don't see that, they make assumptions like just because he's wearing foreign clothes means he hates this country..

The common man is very shallow, they just go off physical appearence...

Not everyone is a politically correct, articulate upper-class person who believes in multi-culturalism, pluralism and freedom to dress how you want...

The law might allow us certain freedoms and we might well be able to campaign for others but we have to use our brains and think about the long run, today we might persuade our council to allow us to use a loudspeaker for Azan or give us a grant for our Mosque but in the long run is that going to generate more votes for the BNP/EDL???? Yes it is.

Similarly sticking out like a sorethumb with foreign clothes might be a perfectly legal and fair thing to do but it generates more support and votes for right-wing parties from the paranoid.

The real world is not fair. Sometimes we'll have to judge the situation and nip our own freedoms, the law might certainly give us a lot of rights but it's not always wise to exercise all our freedoms to the full extent of the law.

...The paranoia that Muslims and their foreign culture is taking over is going to translate into more and more votes for the BNP and it is very important that we take action to tackle that false paranoia.

It's things like foreign clothes, onion domes, council-grants for Mosques and nincompoop Muslims demanding special privelages which the BNP/EDL use in their hate campagins against Muslims and it's these concerns which generate votes for them.

Chalo jee Allah reham kare ga.

Ye lejiye Ice cream

mmMmmMmMmmMmMMMMmmmmm this is like the yummiest ice cream EVERR people u must try it!!! I’m eating it like a fatass right now! Ice cream wakiye dimagh ko thanda kar deti hai!

Bro I try turning a blind eye to the situation but it worries me, scares me…

Not for myself but for the future generation of British and European Muslims..

Hum to kisi na kisi tareh apna Islam barkaraar rakh len ge, but our future generation, will they have the strength in the face of so much hostility?

:yummy:

Jazak’Allah. What ice cream is it sis?

You’re from Ireland! :smiley:

Irish ppl are soo cool… I’ve never met a racist Irish person..

You should wear shamrock pattern burka to show you’re proud of being both Muslim and Irish.

The ice cream is by a brand called Rich I think… vanilla sandwich ice cream :yummy:

buhahahahaha @shamrock burqa!

Irish people.. hmmm.. ireland isn’t heaven u ought to find baddies here too… a minority of irish people are racists but “polite” so they don’t really say anything to u on ur face but behind ur back they’ve got nothing but crap to say about u… and then there’s 1% jackasses too (they call them nackers here in ireland) if they saw u at night alone, they will kill u!

LOL.. my city is famously known as the “stab city”… how cool is that!

Wow, didn't know that.

Here in Britain Irish people are quite nice because they know what it's likes to be in our shoes...

Becuase they also once had to bare the brunt for events that were totally beyond their control (IRA bombings)..

^ only the middle aged ones remember that time in Ireland... not the younger, ignorant ones...

When I say Pakistan they automatically think Afghanistan, they have no clue what pakistan is about....

Can someone tell what happened to her yesterday.. I didn't read that lengthy stuff..

Muchas graciss!

err... he's a he. !

Re: The MUZLUMS are taking over!!

Can someone tell what happened to him yesterday.. I didn't read that lengthy stuff..

Muchas graciss!

:smack: Tis not graciss … MUCHAS GRACIÁS !

Try again :rotfl:

Re: The MUZLUMS are taking over!!

very good post with some excellent points especially about seperating extremism/terrorism from Islam.

I do definitely think British people are far less tolerant than Americans/Canadians. They love pigeonholing people according to race, faith and even very stupid things like sexual orientation.

I just recite Surah Fateya every time I go out and ask for Allah's protection for my family.