the musik : your thoughts on the channel

well its been on for a few weeks now in North America. what do you think of it so far? do you like the shows? i.e. band toh bajay ga, M- Live, mani-ism, etc. and the ads that they play? the music videos n the interviews? discuss.

Re: the musik : your thoughts on the channel

i ike it it is cool but dont u think it doesnt really represent pak cos how many girls in pak were clothes like that and talk in just english but i dont the channel is in pak?????
if it is not then dont mind the above comment

Not really. I am still waiting for INDUS. This channel is just pass-time for me for now. I haven't been impressed. The sound quality is also not that great.

is indus gona be lauched in the uk?
i there is indus tv and indus music wat will be launched here?
and by the way ppl who already have these channels wat kind of music is played
and wat kind of shows come on

i find the channel very very amatuerish and stupid with dumbass VJ’s.. their motto seems to be “follow the west as much as possible” wether it looks good on them or not … lack of good shows .. worst one has to be the dare one where ppl do all these stupid things… :rolleyes:

dont like it at all

They seem to have good funding and lottsa money etc. [unlike the other channel IM] but IM is way ahead in terms of content, and they're definitely less wannabe-ish and more into the current scene in Pak. The Muzik seems to be inspired by the many Arab satellite music channels, however they need better VJs and definitely some better programming ideas. Their VJs are occasionally clueless about how to react to the callers they get, and those can be really freaky too. Probably they need to switch off the live-telecasting thingie.

naay dont like it at all. Only reason I have it is prolly cuz it's 5 bucks. Most of their shows lack substance, some are truly dumb and annoying, like some one mentioned above, Dare to Live or something. Most of their videos/songs, as they say in urdu, na ser na pair, moun utha k aye aur gana ga diya. And that I say for the most underground bands/new solo artists and the Musik tends to show mostly their stuff. Like these days they're showing this one video by some female singer and gawd is it a train-wreck, english rap with urdu poetry and pata nehi kya kya.

Which brings me to another critism and that is that the channel is called The Musik, so it should cover music from every time period, every vanue etc. It wouldn't kill them to air old Pakistani songs, filmi, pop, ghazals, qawalis. But sadly, every time you turn to their channel and you see some miserable, pathetic, lunatics with long curly hair gone totally hay-wire.

zayma the same thing can apply to india. shouldnt those b4u veejays be in saaris or with maang mein sandoor on their heads? yea i am pretty sure u dont wanna see a pakistani veejay in a hijaab. pakistan has changed now. go to any public university or college in any pakistani city n u will see the same outfits there.

diva4u dont have too much high expectations from indus music cuz i am watching them both n it seems the musik is more in touch with the current music scene in pakistan AND plays more variety than its competitor who plays the same 10 to 12 videos over n over n over n over. they may play good music videos but i might agree that the programming n neither the graphics are that impressive either. as far as sound quality is concerned, please check your bass n treble settings on your tv set.

khwateen what were u expecting? its a music channel so it has to look a little "maadren" but i dont understand why people tend to critique something like this while when the neighboring country does this with their channels then its okay.

Gohan i totally understand and am gonna fully agree with your points but i think since we dont have any good art institutions obviously this shouldnt surprise us when people just take a 35mm camera and shoot a video with a guitar. but at the same time it takes a lotta effort to be where these artists are. Vital Signs and junoon kaunsa koi seekh ker rockstars baney? they barely went to any institution but look how big they made. the new talent is just experimenting and in the long run we shouldnt discourage but infact encourage the new talent for at least being there. its better to have something than nothing.

love love love it. I love Paki music and I like their shows. They've got great personalities and know their music. Do you think Geo and Ary "represent Pak" any better? Today's youth are lucky to have such a medium. Band tu Bajega and Living on the Edge are awesome, and Mani Rocks.

@ sami rahman
i am not saying stand in a hijab man if someone even wears a hijab all of a sudden they r backwards i am saying wear proper clothes like ok r u telling me they wear boobtubes and stuff like that good for them i guess wen i wrote wat i wrote i was bit taken back cos i didnt pak has changed as much oh well
they r going forward ahahahah u get my point but it will be nice to see a a pak woman in salwwar kameez on these channels i wana see how it will look

Like somebody mentioned above, the channel doesn't really represent PAKISTAN.

I don't like 'Living on the edge show' - I think it's plain cruelty - messing with poor people.

I'm impressed by the different sorts of songs they show.

songs are ok and the programmes they show, but they need to show more folk music, why is it alwyas pop pop and more pop.

The videos are awesome. I love the channel.

[quote=“khwateen what were u expecting? its a music channel so it has to look a little “maadren” but i dont understand why people tend to critique something like this while when the neighboring country does this with their channels then its okay.[/QUOTE”]

stick to the topic.. you were not asking bout music channels in india or anywhere else… u were askin for opinions on The Muziq… i gave mine…

opinion maangein hai.. tho hosla rakhay sunno bhi.. otherwise its silly to start such a thread

lving on the edge is really stupid and i think it goes to far how is throwing water on an inncoent bystander "living on the edge" it is so stupid and childish something u would expect from a 8 year old kid not some 20 year old woman

Sami, We don’t care what Indians do. Woh jo kuch bhi karein, apni country mein kar rahay hein. Why do we need to follow like sheep?

what do u guys think of that RABYA chick from THE MUSIK TOP TEN show ?

I don't like her one bit.

HOT HOT HOT

well i guess you dont even need to watch the channel then since majority of the artistes u see on it are already following the western popsters and rockstars like sheep.

its got nothign to do with the music... its how the songs are presented that sucks.. vj's are totally pathetic (probably got the job cuz of contacts rather than talent)... and there is absolutely no thought given to production!!