Re: The most Painful Pakistani Cricket Defeat in World Cup
For sheer drama nothing comes close to the Pak / Windies match in the 1975 world cup. Keep in mind that it was THE LEGENDARY west indian team led by Clive Lloyd and his pace battery of TERRORIST fast bowlers.
Pakistan 266 / 7 in 60 overs - including that blistering knock by Raja (Late)
And we had the windies by the TAIL (or substitute anything that you like) and they were reeling at 166/8
And then it was 203 / 9 - still the match was pretty much in our hands
and the bloody last pair of Derek murray and Andy Roberts saw them to victory. Pakistan lost that match by 1 wicket.
Guess not many people here were around at the time India defeated Pak in the final of the Benson & Hedges Mini World Cup in 1984 in Australia.
Those were early days of payjama Cricket and in India this series heralded the arrival of Cricket on TV (the way we know it today).
Also, Azharuddin and Akram had just arrived in the international scene at the time. India won every single match match in the Tournament. Australia, led by Kim Hughes, were not that big a force then and were also soundly beaten by India.
Guess not many people here were around at the time India defeated Pak in the final of the Benson & Hedges Mini World Cup in 1984 in Australia.
Those were early days of payjama Cricket and in India this series heralded the arrival of Cricket on TV (the way we know it today).
Also, Azharuddin and Akram had just arrived in the international scene at the time. India won every single match match in the Tournament. Australia, led by Kim Hughes, were not that big a force then and were also soundly beaten by India.
what is painful here?? Unless you are implying that Indian winning everything was painful for Pakistanis.... Come on man. People here are not that bad ;)
For sheer drama nothing comes close to the Pak / Windies match in the 1975 world cup. Keep in mind that it was THE LEGENDARY west indian team led by Clive Lloyd and his pace battery of TERRORIST fast bowlers.
Pakistan 266 / 7 in 60 overs - including that blistering knock by Raja (Late)
And we had the windies by the TAIL (or substitute anything that you like) and they were reeling at 166/8
And then it was 203 / 9 - still the match was pretty much in our hands
and the bloody last pair of Derek murray and Andy Roberts saw them to victory. Pakistan lost that match by 1 wicket.
I watched that match at the ground and was heart broken when Pakistan snatched defeat from the jaws of victory.
The match was broadcast on TV. It was played in Qaddafi and I saw it on TV at home in Pindi.
**Yes Imran's caught behind decicion is the only vivid snapshot in my mind of this match. I dont quite remember much else. It was very disappointing to see Imran given out. All of the teams hope depended on him. He did not verbaly contest the umpire's decision at all. He was dejected and stood there looking at the wickets, the crease and the umpire for what appeared like an enternity before slowly and i mean very slowly walking back towards the pavillion and deafening silence that followed afterwards.
Mostar bhai,
Yeh khel hai isme maatam manaane ki kya zaroorat hai. I liked the bowling style of Abdul Qadir. I know so many of my friends use to immitate his style in the field just to have fun.
what is painful here?? Unless you are implying that Indian winning everything was painful for Pakistanis.... Come on man. People here are not that bad ;)
I think aap donon (some1 and hollowman) koh khushfehmi kuch zyada hee hai. Do you guys even know your cricket? Apart from that mini world cup win in 1985 (I am not sure if that tournament has official status anymore since it's not even listed in the archives of cricinfo or Howstat.com sites), India were losing most of the games (admittedly most of them in Sharjah) against Pakistan in the 80s and 90s as our one-day record of 64-40 confirms (Pakistan has a 12-8 advantage also in tests). India were always refusing to play Pakistan (some say it was a deliberate ploy to avoid the two W's) in the 90s often citing political tensions (yes there was some truth in that) as the main reason for their stance. There was a ten-year gap b/w the 1989 test series in Pakistan and the 1999/2000 series in India. It was n't until the late 90s after a long time that India finally started competing with us and giving us a good game in cricket :p
^ it seems you too have lost your confidence in your own country but we r very confident about our team ab har cheez ko galat angle se dekhoge to yahi lagega
I think aap donon (some1 and hollowman) koh khushfehmi kuch zyada hee hai. Do you guys even know your cricket? Apart from that mini world cup win in 1985 (I am not sure if that tournament has official status anymore since it's not even listed in the archives of cricinfo or Howstat.com sites), India were losing most of the games (admittedly most of them in Sharjah) against Pakistan in the 80s and 90s as our one-day record of 64-40 confirms (Pakistan has a 12-8 advantage also in tests). India were always refusing to play Pakistan (some say it was a deliberate ploy to avoid the two W's) in the 90s often citing political tensions (yes there was some truth in that) as the main reason for their stance. There was a ten-year gap b/w the 1989 test series in Pakistan and the 1999/2000 series in India. It was n't until the late 90s after a long time that India finally started competing with us and giving us a good game in cricket :p
True!
It's only the game of Cricket where we should take Pakistan seriously :)
I have n’t lost confidence in Pakistan. It’s not impossible but after yesterday’s loss, it’s going to be very hard for us in the super-eight round. A lot now depends on how we bat in the next few games since the bowling does n’t look very special without the two A’s. Razzaq’s injury at the 11th hour was also a crucial blow.
On paper India does look good in all departments and should make the semis atleast.
As I mentioned, I dun remember except that hearing it on the radio.. either it was not telecasted in Karachi or it was load shedding.. Now that I remember, it was actually load shedding time
and to our indian contributors, please, take your 'kachra' somewhere else. Not many of us find any defeat against india painful. First, they are not many.. second, they never lasted for too long until next encounter.. :)
1987 WC semi final loss to Australia -
That was supposed to be Pakistan's year. We had the best team in the world under the dynamic leadership of Imran Khan. The whole of Karachi was in mourning. Nobody could believe that we had lost and were out of the cup. I did not even watch the final as I was so heart broken
The quarter final loss to India 1996
That one was a nightmare I was in college and they broad cast the match on big screen. The university had a total of about 5 Pakistanis out of which only two were interested in cricket. So I show up in greens with my friend in a room full of about 150 Indians. Jadeja hits the living daylights out of Waqar and India post a huge total. I show up for Pakistan's inning and guess what my other Pakistani friend has bailed on me. So now there is 1 Pakistani against 150 Indians. We start off great with Aamir and Anwar taking the Indian bowling to the cleaners. I shout myself coarse and then things just fall apart. The idiot Aamir shows Parsad the finger and gets bowled. You can imagine the rest :-)
I leave after we lose 6 wickets or so. The next day I don't turn up in school. These darn Paki players had to humiliate me, but well that is how life is