The Mind of Shahid Khan Afridi

For most cricketers at the top-level, there are two kinds of games: test cricket and one day cricket. Both require different temperaments and approaches. While one day cricket wants you to be aggressive, innovative and hit out in a controlled manner, test match cricket requires a careful evaluation of the situation, a patient yet controlling demeanor and most of all, an ability to pace your innings.

Not so for one gentleman called, Shahid Khan Afridi.

For Afridi, batting involves only two types of balls: either a ball is hittable, or its not. If a ball is hittable, its hittable and should be hit hard, high and as long as possible. What difference does it make whether its a test game or one day cricket? And by the way, almost every ball can be or made to be hittable, as well.

And no. Not everyone can pull off such callous disregard for fundamentals of cricket. It requires a special talent and immense wrist power to do what Afridi does. And it requires a supreme command over hand-eye coordination and an ability to read not only the ball earlier, but the mind of the bowler, much before the ball is bowled. And after a while its easy for him to know that the bowler is mentally tormented with shattered confidence. And he should know because he has made it happen.

Someone said to me yesterday, “why is Afridi in the test team?” This was when Pakistan was 73-3 and in a fairly precarious situation. The point being that our tail is exposed and (after dropping Hasan Raza) there are no more dependable or specialist batsmen are in the lineup if if one more wicket falls. At that point my answer was “because he is Afridi and no team in the world could afford not to play a person of so much ability and talent”. By the end of the day, the point was moot.

Its not so much as to what Afridi can do with the bat. Its almost as important what he does to the heads of his opponents. I can make a safe bet that before the test in Faisalabad started, at least half the time of English strategic preparation was focused on how to control Afridi. The rapid fire bowling and fielding changes brought on by Vaughan, when “Boom Boom” Afridi came to bat were a result of careful planning. Not that it mattered anyway. I am sure England, or any side could not believe how could Pakistan team management even consider not playing Afridi in any game, whether its a test or a one-day.

Its not so much as to how many runs Afridi makes. Its the way he gets those runs that completely destroys not only the line and length of the bowlers, but their confidence in their own abilities. Afridi makes the ball disappear in the stands, when the ball deserved nothing of the sort. And the bowler walks back to his mark, scratching his head and thinking “what am I supposed to bowl to this guy”. I saw the despair in English bowlers’ face yesterday, Flintoff notwithstanding, and it reminded me of the faces of Indian bowlers in the last series, and prior to that, the Australian bowlers (I didn’t watch the Windies series). Its the same face you’d get if after making the most effort on your science project, you still end up with a D- and a sinking heart full of dread for your next project. All these bowlers should band together and start an “Afridi Anonymous” organization to provide peer-therapy for the scars he has inflicted.

Afridi can get out on the first ball tomorrow. Or he can stay to make a century. Vaughan must be feeling very desolate yesterday night after dropping what is considered a “dolly” at international level. No one is foolish enough to make a bet on how long Afridi will stay on the crease. If the first over from the second new ball was any indication, the ball is swinging rather extremely and Afridi is always susceptible to his own exuberance, but his mark is firmly cast on this game.

While I feel sorry for Yousuf’s doubtful dismissal, the come-hither sign given to him from Pakistan dressing room, was perhaps an indication of what they expect Afridi to deliver. And he did. With explosive power. We are lucky to be living in Afridi-era and will tell our grand kids “I saw him play. Live!”. And they will be awed.

====

Written for Gupshup
By: Faisal

Re: The Mind of Shahid Khan Afridi

That is such a reality. !!!

Well said :). Afridi Saada Shair Aye.... And just watch he is inshAllah not going to disappoint us with his bowling and fielding either.

very well written faisal bhia...

i cant believe it. I didnt even know he was playing.. I simply missed his inning... What a great loss :(

PS: ANY ONE have the link for his inning?? i know its not over and inshallah it wont be either.. inshallah

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=199348

Excellent Writing!!! :k:

Thanks for sharing :slight_smile:

Faisal,, this is amazing stuff you just wrote.. what happened on the 1st day will be memorable for some time. INSHA ALLAH Afridi will do better on 2nd day as well ( be it bat or ball). But this true champion would deliver..
Our team seems in fine spirit. it was pretty exciting to see Shoaib delivering his best. Lets pray for tomorrow.

the amazing thing to know was that, Afridi made all his 50's in test cricket in less than 50 balls.. the comentator actually counted all of them along with their deliveries.. This man is not made of test cricket.. He is only made to rattle the opponents when its his day :)/

And I think that will be a record milestone, very hard for anyother to reach.

Faisel,
Beautiful, eloquent writing. Something written from the heart. If Afridi's inning was a treat to watch, it's a blessing to read such well written appreciation. What can I say but thankyou for sharing your thoughts.

Thanks for sharing Faisal bhai…

This was excellent… luved reading every word of it… baad mein pata chala k aap ne khud likha hai… :k: nice shtyle…

we r soo lucky to have afridi in a team… u r right… he shatter the confidence of the other team and gives a psychological advantage to our team… Even if he fails with the bat.. he gives his hundred percent with the ball and we all know that he is a terrific fielder. Lately, he has been very focused on his bowling too… In the west indies series, he showed heavy emotions when he would ball a loose ball ; was very focused as well…

but yah… i couldn’t be more happy to see him in the team again… BOOM BOOM AFRIDI…

p.s. i miss his inswinging shooters…

Faisal brother cannot download afridi's inninigs. It says its been downloaded 50 times already (no wonder), loved your ariticle, where you have been learning to write?

Nice nice article

We both were in ESL class together. :smiley: He is fast learner.I still suck.

Good work indeed. :k: Faisal

Thanks all. It started out as innocent email, and morphed into an impromptu article. Glad you guys liked it.

Good job Faisal. Very well written. :k::k:…maza aa gaya parh kay…awesome job…

F&B, did you take your TOEFL yet?

He is my favourite.when u play cricket,just imagine him in ur mind and u will also start playing like him.

hats off for afridi - da guy who changed the cricket

^ and the pitch :D

what was this guy thinking??? If I was incharge, I'd make sure I increased whatever ban or fine ICC puts on him on behalf of PCB and let it be known that we do not tolerate idiots.

very well written