The man who rigged 2002 polls speaks out

Never too late to admit ur mistakes.

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=13159

The man who rigged 2002 polls, spills the beans

By Umar Cheema

ISLAMABAD: The main wheeler and dealer of the ISI during the 2002 elections, the then Maj-Gen Ehtesham Zamir, now retired, has come out of the closet and admitted his guilt of manipulating the 2002 elections, and has directly blamed Gen Musharraf for ordering so.

Talking to The News, the head of the ISI’s political cell in 2002, admitted manipulating the last elections at the behest of President Musharraf and termed the defeat of the King’s party, the PML-Q, this time “a reaction of the unnatural dispensation (installed in 2002).”

Zamir said the ISI together with the NAB was instrumental in pressing the lawmakers to join the pro-Musharraf camp to form the government to support his stay in power.

Looking down back into the memory lane and recalling his blunders which, he admitted, had pushed the country back instead of taking it forward, Zamir feels ashamed of his role and conduct.

Massively embarrassed because he was the one who negotiated, coerced and did all the dirty work, the retired Maj-Gen said he was not in a position to become a preacher now when his own past was tainted.

He said the country would not have faced such regression had the political management was not carried out by the ISI in 2002. But he also put some responsibility of the political disaster on the PML-Q as well.

The former No: 2 of the ISI called for the closure of political cell in the agency, confessing that it was part of the problem due to its involvement in forging unnatural alliances, contrary to public wishes.

Zamir’s blaming Musharraf for creating this unnatural alliance rings true as another former top associate of Musharraf, Lt-Gen (retd) Jamshed Gulzar Kiyani has already disclosed that majority of the corps commanders, in several meetings, had opposed Musharraf’s decision of patronising the leadership of the King’s party.

“We had urged Musharraf many times during the corps commanders meeting that the PML-Q leadership was the most condemned and castigated personalities. They are the worst politicians who remained involved in co-operative scandals and writing off loans. But Musharraf never heard our advice,” Kiyani said while recalling discussions in their high profile meetings.

He said one of their colleagues, who was an accountability chief at that time, had sought permission many times for proceeding against the King’s party top leaders but was always denied.

Kiyani asked Musharraf to quit, the sooner the better, as otherwise the country would be in a serious trouble.

Ma-Gen (retd) Ehtesham Zamir termed the 2008 elections ‘fairer than 2002’. He said the reason behind their fairness is that there was relatively less interference of intelligence agencies this time as compared to the last time. But he stopped short of saying that there was zero interference in the 2008 polls.

“You are quite right,” he said when asked to confirm about heavy penetration of ISI into political affairs during the 2002 elections. But he said he did not do it on his own but on the directives issued by the government.

Asked who directed him from the government side and if there was somebody else, not President Musharraf, he said: “Obviously on the directives of President Musharraf.”

Asked if he then never felt that he was committing a crime by manipulating political business at the cost of public wishes, he said: “Who should I have told except myself. Could I have asked Musharraf about this? I was a serving officer and I did what I was told to do. I never felt this need during the service to question anyone senior to me,” he said and added that he could not defend his acts now.

“It was for this reason that I have never tried to preach others what I did not practice. But I am of the view that the ISI’s political cell should be closed for good by revoking executive orders issued in 1975,” he said.

Responding to a question regarding corruption cases that were used as pressure tactics on lawmakers, he said: “Yes! This tool was used, not only by the ISI. The NAB was also involved in this exercise.”

Former corps commander of Rawalpindi, Lt-Gen (retd) Jamshed Gulzar Kiyani said majority of corps commanders had continued opposing Musharraf’s alliance with top leadership of the PML-Q.

“Not just in one meeting, we opposed his alignment with these corrupt politicians in many meetings but who cared. Now Musharraf has been disgraced everywhere, thanks to his political cronies.”

Re: The man who rigged 2002 polls speaks out

So much for the musharraf fans, like he is the best and a necessity..

Has he changed.? NO
Will he stop working for only his own good? NO
Will he ever put Pakistan First? NO.
Is he Required for a Prosperous Pakistan? No Never
Has Pakistan Become a Better Place? Hello are you living in Pakistan. Obviously NO

Why can't people refuse to do someone's dirty job themselves? Of course it is not an easy job coming out of closet and admitting your crime, why didn't he do so lets say 1 year, 2 year or earlier? Why after "elections"?

Goes to show job/money overtakes the consciousness, yeah they need to pay the bills.

Haha mushroo kay din aagayeh hai lugta hai.
takhta palat tay he log bhi palat gayeh achaa hai...i hope he gets all the worst since he has done nothing but the worst!

Yes it is never too late to admit your mistakes but all these retd. generals are also guilty of biting the hand of the man (Mush) that once fed them. They don't earn more respect in my eyes by speaking out now when their ex-boss is seemingly weak and running out of options? They should not have done it (i.e. rigged the elections even if commanded to do so by their superior if they had any conscience or morality) in the first place or atleast should have resigned soon after 2002 election. Them saying all these things now makes you wonder whether ex corps commander Rawal Pindi Lt Gen. (retd.) Jamshed Gulzar Kiyani was expecting even bigger things like COAS or Chairman JCSC and is saying all this now out of sheer bitterness. Let's view it objectively.

Perhaps, but we are not looking at y they are speaking out, that is their personal reason.

We are viewing the now admitted role in the history of Pakistan

^ True but the role of ISI and MI in rigging polls is not a hidden secret. The public is well aware of it although it's the first time that someone from ISI has actually admitted it. Even in this poll there was some rigging at certain polling stations but rigging on that scale is perhaps to be expected in every poll and even happens in Western democracies.

No, not really. Plenty of ex generals are speaking out now. Hamid Gul said the samething. Aslam Beg (ex army chief) went bit far and said we never won a single war in our history. As soon as Mushrraf is forced out lot more ex generals will come forward and talk about their involvement in all sort of illegalities.

^ For Mush, "Ghar Ka bhedi, Lanka dhaay". Who knows same guy may be involved in last NS heavy mendate elections.:D

You know what it means to say no to your superior in the army (especially Pakistan Army)? Musharraf forcibly retired many a generals who raised their voice against him, and he (quite arrogantly) admitted that in a recent statement. We are dealing with a person who does not tolerate e an iota of critcism, and has completely surrounded himself by a bunch of goons who do not give a damn about the country. Most of Mushy's pals are/were with him for their own personal gain, and caused much damage to country's economy and political instituions, with the knowledge that they won't be prosecuted. Any idea why no one was caught in the 2005 stock market crash scandal, sugar crisis (the largest sugar mill owners were Mushy's cabinet members, and more recently the wheat shortage? Oh well...

hnmmm
an other evidence
how dominant our army is, they are bunch of gens who are them selves very modern and wnat to make this country modern and lable it with the need of better education and better economy. they opened the media so ppl could get modern really quick by watching nasty forgien channels, but it went the other way with local channels more interested in gossipin abt politics and power.

and few ppl know how amricans are dominant in our army specially in top levels.
which makes sense how america is controlling our country.

These people shud be prosecuted. I am bit tired of these people who after retirement admit their faults. What tehy did was crime under the law, whether or not thet were ordered by their superiors. If he was a man of conscience he shud have resigned rather than being part of it.

Yaaro, Aalsi bhai is thread me nazr naih a rahe…kya baat hai?
Nice exposure of PA and ISI dirty work.:jhanda:

woh kia kehtay “nazar ojhal pahaaR ojhal”? if they don’t visit this thread then the 2002 elections were as fair as 2008 or 1970s.

^:D

like every election before the 2002 elections was all fair :rolleyes:

i’m no fan of any one in paki politics but i consider mushy to be the lesser of two evils. There has been no election held under any ‘democratic’ civilian government that comes even close to maintaining the standards maintained in the 2008 election.

Mashallah. God bless you Ali_R bhaijan. Aap ko meri yaad aay. :slight_smile:

God Bless Pakistan and the Freeest and Fairest elections that have taken place - in 2002 and 2008. :jhanda:

Ronay walon ko ronay do. :smiley:

Oops. Need to find someone else to spread lies. :smiley:

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=13186

The former head of the political wing of the ISI, Major General Ehtasham Zamir, has said that the elections in 2002 were fair and free and the ISI had no role on the election day.

Polls rigged how can that be possible after all the popularity of the president stands at 95% of the votes cast which put him in league with Mubarak and Saddam and before anyone forgets people did not come out on the streets against him so he didnt need to rig the elections. Can Musharraf do anything wrong, never.

We should not forget that we got a free and fair elections in 2008 not because of Musharraf but despite him. Now that is an achievement on part of the new army chief the observers and the media.

Hmm...good name.