The Man Who Named Pakistan !!

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/4/chaudary.gif

CHUHDARY REHMAT ALI

The man who gave Pakistan its name was born in a village of Hoshiarpur district of Punjab. He matriculated from Jalandhar and graduated in 1919 from Islamia College, Lahore. In 1930 he left for England for higher studies in Law. He subsequently lived in England and died there.

Chaudhry Rahmat Ali was the man who gave Pakistan its name in a booklet "Now or Never" which he wrote and published on January 28, 1933. 'P' of Punjab, 'A' of Afghani border(i.e. N.W.F.P.), 'K' of Kashmir, 'S' of Sindh, and 'tan' of Baluchistan were put together to name the still-to-be-created

homeland of the Indian Muslims. this name soon caught the imagination of the multitudes and even the foreign newspapers began to call the proposed country by this name.

Chaudhry Rahmat Ali came to Pakistan on a short visit and then went back to England. He died at Cambridge in February 1951.

The Rahmat Ali Memorial lecture will be delivered by Prof. K.K Aziz. The lecture will highlight the crucial contributions of Rahmat Ali and his Pakistan National beration Movement, which was founded in 1933, to the ideology behind the creation of Pakistan. It should be known that it was none other than Rahmat Ali who named Pakistan and made it public in 1933 in his pamphlet 'Now or Never' which decried the need for the then North eastern provinces of British India to be granted independence. He argued that most of what is today Pakistan had never been a part of India until the British annexed the various parts to their British Indian Empire (which up until 1935 also included Burma) and now that the British were considering an All-India Federation, it would condemn those in the newly acquired areas of British India not only to an Indian identity but being muslims to a majority Hindu rule. Thus these lands and its peoples should be granted independence on the basis of ethnic, religious, and up until the british advent, national distinction. Rahmat Ali named Pakistan as a new name for the original Fatherland. Each of the letters is taken from the constituent territories of the fatherland. P-Panjab, A-Afghania (renamed NWFP by the British), K-Kashmir, I-Iran, S-Sind, T-Tukharistan, A-Afghanistan & Balochista-N. And on top of that the name itself is Persian/Urdu word which means 'Land of the Pure'.
Rahmat Ali hoped that after achieving the independence of the five North Western Provinces of British India, they would integrate with Iran, Afghanistan and Tukharistan to form the original fatherland (perhaps in the form of a union much like
the E.U.). One can argue about Rahmat Ali's ideas. But it is for sure that such a union, one which was close to fruition in the time of Ayub Khan, the Shah of Iran and King Zahir Shah of Afghanistan, would have been a viable one. One need only look at the example of the E.U. Many of Rahmat Ali's arguments for Pakistan were later plagiarized by Mohammad
Ali Jinnah when he and his Muslim League party adopted the idea loosely in 1940 and fervently thereafter. Rahmat Ali was exiled from Pakistan in October 1948, and all his writings were proscribed and they remain so to date. There is so much but suffice it to say that Rahmat Ali fought for a Pakistan before anybody else. A mere student, he forged the ideology in 1933, brought it to the people and the politicians. Initaillay, politicians snubbed him. Later his ideology was plagiarized by the very same politicians and Rahmat Ali was exiled from the country he had named and the acceptance of which he had fought for. He was maligned so that others could take credit and they did. Rahmat Ali died in Cambridge in 1951 without so much as a representative of Pakistan at his funeral. Today, the millions, for whom he sacrificed his life, for whose independence he sowed the seed, to whom he gave a name to identify themselves by, don't even know of him. Conspiracy, jealously, lies and propaganda have left Rahmat Ali an unsung hero. In 1948, Rahmat Ali applied for a
Pakistani passport and citizenship. He was refused and subsequently exiled. Perhaps in time by informing and extracting and truth from the web of lies, the masses will gradually realize the tragedy and acknowledge the debt they owe this man and recognize him as one of their own. Thus might Rahmat Ali's wish be fulfilled, if not in life then in death: to be known as a Pakistani.

[This message has been edited by nia_khan (edited August 06, 2001).]

thanx for sharing

very hi excellent…[finally something senseful from ur side…

..bohut hi achay]…
thanx 4 sharing…
God bless u…

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…

thanx 4 sharing…
God bless u…
very he good nia

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/dixsi.gif

Great post nia

and very informative mmm hmm

now back to PAF gallery

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

When this body is destined to face death, then let it die in the best way as a ~Martyr~ in the way of your Creator.

now what does that suppose to mean

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

should i take that as a compliment or

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif

Compliment

Linux Is Best To Love

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

Very informative.

Nia je naraz na hoon I am sure Dervaish baba nay compliment hi dia hai.

gr8 post nia baji.
thanx for all the info.

"Chaudhry Rahmat Ali came to Pakistan on a short visit and then went back to England. He died at Cambridge in February 1951."

C'mon and a whole memorial about this guy...never lived in the country..

Even if he was born & went away on the 1st day of his life wouldnt he be PAKISTANi???

He grew & graduated .You must be kidding or you are real subversive commi agent

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/bukbuk.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nah.gif

Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha

great post and pic

"Many of Rahmat Ali's arguments for Pakistan were later plagiarized by Mohammad
Ali Jinnah when he and his Muslim League party adopted the idea loosely in 1940 and fervently thereafter. Rahmat Ali was exiled from Pakistan in October 1948, and all his writings were proscribed and they remain so to date. There is so much but suffice it to say that Rahmat Ali fought for a Pakistan before anybody else. A mere student, he forged the ideology in 1933, brought it to the people and the politicians. Initaillay, politicians snubbed him. Later his ideology was plagiarized by the very same politicians and Rahmat Ali was exiled from the country he had named and the acceptance of which he had fought for. "

Why was he exiled? I noticed the word "plagerized" and am a bit confused. So if you're relying on Ch. Rehmat's history, you should be objective to the Pakistani gov't (at that time) which exiled him?

wow..thanks nia

i am so happy..i learnt something new today

very informative indeed.

BY X-COMMI

"Chaudhry Rahmat Ali came to Pakistan on a short visit and then went back to England. He died at Cambridge in February 1951."

C'mon and a whole memorial about this guy...never lived in the country..

WELL nice to see people paying attention towards post.But i am afraid you have read it a bit wrong x-commi. Let me just read that again to you. He matriculated from Jalandhar and graduated in 1919 from Islamia College, Lahore. In 1930 he left for England for higher studies in Law. He subsequently lived in England and died there.

he graduated from islamia college Lahore. In Pakistan a graduate from college means with bachelors degree. If someone has that degree they must be around 23-25 and if they have been living at one place.. duh they would know about their own country.

Well Pakistanis are the best one at playing politics. There is so much hidden underneath the books of history and much more. You noticed the word plagerized but i guess didnt read the exact line. His work was being plagerized by others. The main and major powers around that time were one and only Muhammad Ali Jinnah. He wasnt the only one who made Pakistan there were several leaders too such as
leyakat Ali khan
rehmat ali khan
and several others… I will insahllah try to find out more names and get back to you on that.
Why was he exiled well obviously people with higher power dont appreciate if there is someone going against them. And sweety no i am not just relying on his history and nor i am on Quaid’s, i am looking at everyone’s history who was present at that time and what each and everyone of them has done. This was one of the main and major thing ‘the man who named Pakistan’ since 14 august is near i thought to post this

Chaudhry rehmat Ali was certainly a great leader in the freedom movement of muslims in India and also one of the first proponents of Pakistan and the pakistan movement.
As nia says Jinnah was one of our greatest leaders but not the only one. Our movement had several great leaders, and we should recognize all of them.
As for the reason for Chaudhry Rehmat Ali's exile I don't want to go into details but briefly speaking there were some differences of opinion, that's all.

[This message has been edited by Ahmed (edited August 10, 2001).]

another one :~)

may be someone might learn something :~)

by the way can someone reload the picture.. not working from my side :~)

meli paali paali nia baji

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

ko koi kuchh na kahe warna warna warna

btw very very nice nia baji thanks for sharing apka haath dukh geya hogaa type kar kar kar ke