The lack of serious attitude in Pakistani electronic media

I have been watching Geo and other channels, and what strikes me is the total casual atmosphere which prevails, the discussions the hosts are moderating go like coffee table banter! What has happened is such a huge event in Pakistani history, they have to have MORE organized and a more serious attitude in dealing and discussing all the issues at length.

Re: The lack of serios attitude in Pakistani electronic media

are geo and other tv channels on air now

as if any1 really listens to them. people are so used to getting screwed at every level of life that they can't even feel they are being persecuted slowly and steadily by this brutal regime of madman mushy. i hope its not too late for them to realize that the fire they had been seeing/discussing (and yet did nothing bcos it was not their problem) is now about to engulf their own homes.

What saddens me is for the first time in Pakistani history were the educated civilians in form of judges taking charge of the government...and then Musharraf had to transform into an intolerant dictator

I'm not clear. All I've been seeing on these channels is coverage of this nonsense.

1. There is no news. Other than announcement of the emergency, and CJ's arrest and Imran Khan's detainment and escape, they don't have anything else to say. Maybe because at the moment, there are no new developments?

2. What would you have them do? Start political rallies via television? There job is to report, and reporters at the moment have been very blocked from what's going on. Even if something is going on, they probably wont know immediately.

Its been a day - its too new.

I'd like to see what's been done in Swat in the past 24 hours, though.

best way to teach our media a lesson is to drop a couple of high profile anchors like hamid mir and shahid masood into waziristan and swat. this way they will get first hand experience of how much freedom there will be in jihadistan. since pakistani media equates the actions of govt with jehadis, lets see if jehadis put up with criticism like musharraf has.

Geo were reporting/flashing lies after lies yesterday, such as:-
- Constitution "ABOLISHED"!.
- Army Soldiers ENTER Supreme Court.
- Army Soldiers EXPEL Chief Justice from Supreme Court.
- Army Soldiers SURROUND Benazir Bhutto's house in Karachi.

Within a few hours they themselves were admitting all these reports were WRONG!

Now Geo News has been reduced to it's eminent weatherman "Dr" Shahid Masood speculating whilst sitting safetly in Dubai. He tells one lie after another, sometimes even contradicting what he said earlier! This is the same guy who months ago said the govt was making up stories of impending rains/floods hitting Karachi/Sindh/Balochistan - just before they did and killed hundreds of people.

GEO and ARY have done a great job in exposing the dictator and his lies. Some people here believe that the only truth is being told on PTV. :rotfl:

Well the first two of your assertions are clearly wrong

The constitution has been suspended, so it’s not an emergency but martial-law in effect

And soldiers and police surrounded the Supreme Court building soon after PCO was issued by the dictator

i have been watching Geo this weekend closely, but got bored by repeating one news only without any real matter analysis or anything usefull.

it also worth noting that these new channels added while mushy in power, now people just getting a little taste of the things pre musharraf , the one and only PTV. they got use to the new free and partly serious media that broadcast grusome details without thinking about viewers age and health.

welcome to taste of little real taste of dictatorship.

on other note, If people of Pakistan want to get rid of musharraf, i think now is the time to come all out against army rule!
no real leader came out and call the people out of houses, atleast they should have tried but i guess no one is capable of real people power.

They told lie after lie in the first few hours, some of which I have listed above and which they themselves admitted were wrong. It seems they got really carried away and were reporting so irresponsibly, and so now they are reduced to just repeating the same "Geo news adverts" over and over again.

The main problem of pro-mush gang is that anyone opposing unethical handling of this regime, is labeled as extremist, or is linked with jihaadis.

For God's sake. We are dealing with two completely different issues.

One is ISI's seeded Jihadiz that have gone against their own creators/harbourers.

The second is Chaudhry/Aziz/Tareen/Corp Commanders gang's corruption, be it stock market, habib bank, steel mills, illegal land occupation or cuts in foriegn funded mega projects. This corruption has been exposed by SC, for which it has been under attack for last 8 months or so. Only ppl believing everything badshah salaamat saying, go with the surface story. The game is beyond their limited short-sightedness. They end up linking SC and everyone that oppose government to the first catagory. This is injustice.

The main problem with anti-mush gang is that they have no realistic alternative in mind that would not be a closet jihadi supporter or complete idiot..or both.

Thanks for supporting my view. The alternative is required when replacement is needed, therfore you agree with me that this regime has commited back to back mistakes, once they were exposed. Since there is no real effective (or which have taPPar) opposition in this country, these corruptions were brushed under the carpet. The biggest joke is that Fazl ur Rehman was the Opposition leader. Why would he expose his boss when he is getting free hand in NWFP and his diesel permit is getting extension without any problem.

The current and previous rulers are same. No real alternatives, really. But that doesn't stop one to call theif and theif.

Regime has committed mistakes, it is not perfect, but still better than the rest. That has been my stance before as well.

If there was a better alternative, I would be the first to jump on it.

you can repeat lies as many time as you want but that does not become the truth. if supreme court exposed govt corruption, why did'nt anyone get arrested for corruption? supreme court looked at steel mills case in details and yet did not identify corrupt officials which seems to me that the judges would have been bought off.

overall, corruption allegations are just rona dhona by jealous pakistanis who have missed a piece of the action . since musharraf's takeover market cap of kse has gone from $5bn to $70bn. obviously such growth is going to create maany many multi-millionaires which causes khujlee to lots of pakistanis especially of the variety which regard pakistani media as serious sources of information. pakistani media staffed by geniuses like dr. shahid masood cant believe that people can get rich using their brains. so they resort to spreading jhuth because thats how mediocre people feel better about themselves.

what exactly is being discussed here guys. help me in my quest to have a nice looking forum. kahan electronic media kahan replacement of mush and whatnot. kindly get back on track and if you must go off track atleast have something focused to discuss so i can split it instead of rambling here and there.

buhat koft hoti hai dekh ke yeh sab

whats being discussed here is the the two-faced nature of pakistani media which spends multiple hours discussing the issue of musharraf's verdee but spends 0 hours highlighting evils of jehadism including specific atrocities done by jehadis such as killing of its opponents and burning of girls school etc. the media gives the impression jehadis are being oppressed and thus their violence is justfied. pakistani awam fed on the diet of islam khatray may hai by media swallows media line. very rightly governemtent is not going to tolerate this sort of propoganda because pakisatani awam is ignorant and last think govt needs is for the media to contribute to this ignorance.

^ right, lets address that topic then instead of generic promush anti mush general talking points.

ji ji bilkul.....Geo ARY and AAJ etc have missed the ride. So true. People commiting suicides because of hunger (never seen before in the history no matter how corrupt governments were) is a new hobby in Pakistan. It has nothing to do with a bunch of oppertunists having Billion dollar rides. Media is a bakwaas producing machine and nothing else. Everyone is liar in the country, except for the president house and the professional gentlemen like Wasi Zafr and Sher Afgun. Media has just worsen nation's situation. People are not eating properly, since they have to pay cable bills and the wonderful electricity bills (which is the cheapest in the world). This crapp about corruption is all bull. SC didn't even put a stay order on the greatest and superb deal of steel mills. Or did they? Can't even count, busy counting forex and 50,000 new manufacturing units this government has started with them.