this is a snap from paknews.com…
the main headline talks about the OIC conference in Pakistan…
and the main highlight pictures shows us what???
have we ever thought why Pakistan was made and what we r now doing to it???
does this picture show any image of The ISLAMIC Republic of Pakistan???
“Our Lord! forgive us our sins and anything we may have done that transgressed our duty; establish our feet firmly and help us against those that resist faith.” Quran(3:147)
Basant is a cultural event and these ppl are celebrating that. There’s nothing Islamic about basant and you can’t force ppl to follow Islamic teachings, you can set an example and you can criticize. But you don’t have to pretend as if the entire nation is confused, some of us like basant others like shab-e-barat more, there should be room for all of us.
Personally I love basant, I’ve never had the opportunity to celebrate it in Lahore, but the colours, moods, music and food looks great on pictures and on TV. Many ppl love it foreigners as well as locals, which is good especially for tourism. It’s okay for ppl in Pak to have fun and as long as they’re not hurting them selves and others it should be okay.
Originally posted by armughal:
this is a snap from paknews.com....
the main headline talks about the OIC conference in Pakistan....
and the main highlight pictures shows us what????
Better celebrating basant than attending a conference full of mostly corrupt and selfish kings and dictators.
[This message has been edited by Addu (edited February 18, 2002).]
Punjabi culture is far more dominant in Pakistan visually because most of the entertainment industry, media, government, ....hey the whole country is being ruled by the punjabis basically.
When was the last time you heard of a Sindhi festival...or a pushto festival...or a gujrati festival...or a memon event...or a balochi event...? Hmmm...most Pakis dont even know other subcultures in Pakistan have a culture of their own.
Basant is a really cool and beautiful event. And its awesome to participate in. There is nothing irreligous about it. The only problem I have with the country is that so much money is spent on Basant...more than what is put into social work or feeding the homeless. Hey, here's an idea. Agar Punjab ke paas itna saara paisa hai that it can put on such a hungama over Basant, then how about putting some money into putting the water tubing back into sindh so that it can be an agriculturally rich land the way it was before the tubing was taken out and put into Punjab. Logon ko paani nahi milta peene ke liye. Meanwhile, the kites are still flying...
There are plenty of festivals around the country in Pakistan, and most of them are local. Basant is a subcontinental festival. If sindhis want to celebrate it, fine. If not, noones forcing them.
Regarding the money spent on it, well its a once a year event. And to connect that expenditure to the hunger and homelessness problems in Pakistan is off key. Lets take defence and clifton based spoiled brats, who drop Rs 1500 on a pizza lunch everyday. Imagine how many hungry people that Rs 1500 could feed.
Sindh has hurt Punjab, and the entire country in many ways as well. The seaport has been monopolized for their use on many occasions. And I know that first hand. And as far as water provision for Sindh is concerned, the land in Sindh is not nearly as arrable as is that in Punjab. So rather than waste water on arid land, its best that it be put to some good use.
Dont politicize a simple issue based on personal dislike either. This sounds more like something a Jeay Sindh mouthpiece would say.
lol @ cultural heritage of Pakistanies .... now this is something new for me..
Basant was not included in our cultural heritage even a decade ago, how it is a part of our cultural hertitage??
yess it could be, your culture is rapidly getting deteriorated and people are getting inspired by other cultures.
i remember, 15 years back, when i was 7 years old. i went to some relative place in centre of lahore. and then there was no concept like, dancing, bhangra , firing, crackers, wine, gals etc...
it was just kite flying, but its not just simply kiteflying anymore. its yet another ayashi program for pakistanies.
according to my information apart from the middle level places, rest of the places where basant night and day was celebrated, there were mujra's, sharab .. and more going on..
the 'auntie jees ' in the pic are there cos that is probably the only way they are ever getting any attention....they got what they wanted..attention...
usually basant..for the real basant-ers is different. ..large gashes from the manjha..doori...dark tannned faces...mitti filled hair...and they dont realy care about all this sho sha.....and basant is really theirs to luv..not for these know nothing autnie jees who got nothing better to do...
If truth is knowledge, knowledge is power, and power corrupts, then are
all the liars in the world really the good guys?...*
This seems to be a case of girl bashing by girls.....nothing else.
Basant is an age old festival of the subcontinent. And yellow dresses, bhangra dances and lots of noise have always been associated with it. Yes, folks have brought out some undesirable stuff alongwith it as well, like aerial firing, and wine and what not, but that does not demean the festival itself.
This is getting petty and ridiculous. Im sure the girls didnt call over a photographer to get their pics taken.
Originally posted by Eastern Analog:
*This is getting petty and ridiculous. Im sure the girls didnt call over a photographer to get their pics taken. *
Im sure they did..
...on the girl bashing allegation...Im not bashing them..Im just telling it the way it is..there is nothing to be proud (or jealous )of the way they are behaving in that pic..
If truth is knowledge, knowledge is power, and power corrupts, then are
all the liars in the world really the good guys?...*
Originally posted by Eastern Analog:
*This is getting petty and ridiculous. Im sure the girls didnt call over a photographer to get their pics taken. *
Had you visited Mian Sallu’s place during Basant even 15 years back you wouldnt have made such a comment. The things is, these kind of ayashi-programs have always been out there…the part of underground social activities. Its only within the past few years that this vulgarity has found its way out and now unfortunately everyone seem to believe it as a part of the culture.
Originally posted by isloo_ki_anarkali:
**the 'auntie jees ' in the pic are there cos that is probably the only way they are ever getting any attention....they got what they wanted..attention...
usually basant..for the real basant-ers is different. ..large gashes from the manjha..doori...dark tannned faces...mitti filled hair...and they dont realy care about all this sho sha.....and basant is really theirs to luv..not for these know nothing autnie jees who got nothing better to do...
Allah aisi Aunties sub ko de AMEEN
She gets her good looks from her father. He's a plastic surgeon - Groucho Marx
Where did you get that from? Here's what I know of the situation. Karachi's police force is Punjabi, the last governer or before that of Sindh was a Punjabi, every type of government seat you can think of in Karachi is held in part by Punjabis. Unless if you're punjabi, anywhere in Pakistan, you're going to have a really hard time advancing yourself. Taxes are paid in Karachi and developement is done in Punjab. Meanwhile, the gutter pipes in Karachi are a disgrace to Muslim society. And Sindh was a very fertile land a while back. It has the Indus river running through it -- how could it possibly be arid? Pipe lines leading to sindh were blocked from the Indus and water was instead diverted over to Punjab. I'm not stepping on Punjab here. Its a great place, beautiful people and wonderful culture. But I strongly feel that 3/4 of the country has strongly been neglected and the show-sha taking place on Basant is only evidence of a imbalance in resources within the country. I'm sure if the other 3 provinces had the means and resources, their cultural festivals and events would be equally showy.
yeh kia aapas main lar rahay ho sab ke yeh punjabi culture hia ya lahore..
basant pakistan ke har koone koone main manai jaty hia.. karachi main bhi loog patang urate hian.. liakin karachi main itna nahi hota kyonke wahna par sea hia aur hawa bohat taiz hoty hia jis kei wajah sahi tarah se nahi ura sakte.. aur rahi baat girls ki.. to offcourse they shouldn’t dance like that infront of soooooooooo many guys ham ne bhi apne bhaion ke saath urain hia basnat ke seasons main ham saare cousins almost poore family ke saath aik jagah jama hokar urate hian aur bohat kuch karte hian.. laikin hamare haan karachi main i geuss girls itna expose nahi karti but phir bhi… western ****ure ka asar aata jaaraha hia