THE HALAL GUYZ in NY

Almost all of the Newyorkers and most of the visitors as well, especially if they are desi are very well aware of the famous “the halal guyz” cart on 6th ave and 53rd st.

If you dont know by the name and you remember one big line next to a hotdog cart saying halal with guyz in yellow serving with fast hands, thats exactly the one. They are certainly worldwide famous for their gyro.

Recently, there are two big news in media about them.

1. They are upgrading themselves from a food cart to a regular restaurant.

2. They are sueing other cart with similar logo and style.The suit seeks a court order forcing the rival to change its name and stop using the logo — and to pay unspecified money damages.

The Halal Guys food cart operation is opening its first brick-and-mortar restaurant, in the East Village, with a lot more planned - NY Daily News

he Halal Guys food cart operation is opening its first brick-and-mortar restaurant, in the East Village, with a lot more planned

Founders Mohamed Abouelenein and Abdelbaset Elsayed plan a place on the Upper West Side and, with help from a franchiser, an international chain

BY CAROL KURUVILLA
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
Friday, June 27, 2014, 2:00 AM

http://assets.nydailynews.com/polopoly_fs/1.1845907.1403827406!/img/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/article_970/halal-guys.jpg

DAVID HANDSCHUH/NEW YORK DAILY NEWSAbdelbaset Elsayed, left, and Mohamed Abouelenein outside their restaurant, due to open Saturday, at E. 14th St. and Second Ave.
New York, New York, it’s a halal of a town.
So the men behind the wildly popular Halal Guys food carts are opening their first restaurant Saturday, the initial step in the planned worldwide expansion of an operation that started with a lone hot-dog cart in 1990.
The eatery, a 20-seat joint on 14th St. in the East Village, will serve a prettified version of the Middle Eastern street food that draws lines down the block in Midtown.
It’s only the beginning for founders Mohamed Abouelenein, 59, and Abdelbaset Elsayed, 51, who both live in Astoria.
“For me, the (East Village restaurant) is not my aim,” says Abouelenein. “This is just the first step. I am imagining something bigger than this.”
It’s the ultimate New York story: Abouelenein was a veterinarian, and Elsayed was a business student when they emigrated from Egypt “looking for a dream,” Abouelenein says.
For the first few years, the “dream” consisted of jobs as kitchen helpers and cab drivers. Then they began running a cart at Sixth Ave. and 53rd St. — now known as “the original location.”

Re: THE HALAL GUYZ in NY

I was in NY just last week and had their falafel wrap. They're such a hit and their food is sooo good.

i thought this was a thread about 'tips' to girls/women to find 'Halal' [practicing Muslim] men for shaadii purposes. :D

#NotFunnyTryAgain](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=NotFunnyTryAgain) :yawn:

Dude, life1 is <--- way.

Btw, I didnt know you were looking for "Halal men" too. :P

I love the 53rd & 6th cart, but the last time I went (Summer 2013) I felt like the quality had gone down a little. I hope that by expanding into brick and mortar franchises, they don’t lose the charm

(but still secretly hoping they expand to my neck of the woods :blush:

lol...i mentioned girls/women looking....! :)

@khattichic I second that. The quality is certainly not the same as it used to be.

And i've watched the guyz working in worst physical condition afterwhich I didnt even wana eat there for a long time.

Ive been hearing about these guys for ages and really want to go to New York purely just to try their food.

I think they are overrated, and opening a restaurant may be a mistake. Prices will be higher, and for most people it is a"thing" to do when they visit NY and that is a part of the reason as to why they are so popular. And sue'ing other cart walas is kinda lame, unless it's a ditto copy of theirs which I get. But there are tons of Halal Carts all over the city.

I used to looooove Halal Guys, but they’re not what they used to be. Even in the last couple of years, their quality isn’t as good as it once was.

Agree with Slims regarding the law suits. so Ridiculous.

Personally, I like the cart in Jackson Heights (infront of the Astoria Bank/ next to the old Shaheen Restaurant), and Gyro King, which is a restaurant style rather than a cart, in Brooklyn (Coney Island) MUUUUUCH more. :yummy:

dat white sauce doe

Thats what it seems that seperates the 53rd and 6th cart from every other cart in the city. Also i dont know if its a good idea opening a restaurant. Higher costs attached to it. Plus they seem to be doing well enough anyway. Why not use that money to open other carts

The cart on 6th and 49th (across from Magnolia bakery) is awesome! Tested and tried multiple times.

6th/53rd quality has definitely gone down.

Kids would grow stronger because of it.

Something like that was said by the desi bhai here when a customer found bugs in rooh afza. Needless to say the health dept came and shut down the shop for the upteenth time! :hehe:

I was there a few weeks ago! Funny enough this time, I actually enjoyed it while last time it was just meh.

What I've discovered is that the "timings" of the Halal Guys cart matters. Apparently the original Halal Guys are there from 8pm to 4am - the cart guys there during the day are different and so the food taste might be different. All in all, it's okay and more of an experience than an amazing gastronomical adventure.

you just have to have it so you can say that you did......
not a spectacular experience as Sehrysh says.

:blush: :lifey:

It’s really not that spectacular. the white sauce at Gyro king is pretty similar…

Agree. I’ve had better. I tried it last year, kuch khaas nahi tha.

Overrated, overrated, overrated!!!!!!!!!!!

It was must alright. Did not make me wanna go there again and again.

I miss it so bad. Not necessarily this one but one on 23rd and 6th by my undergrad. If it wasn't a 9hr drive, I would have gone back.

I have had all.of the above mentioned food. Gyro king, Sammy's (Jackson hts) and the halal guys. My husband loves chicken over rice so we eat it often. Timing matters as Sehrysh has mentioned. They own the cart in front of Hilton which they open at 8. They also own the cart right across the street which they operate all day. Local newyorkers know this and they don't waste time standing in the line. Just get it from across the street. These guys are Palestinians.