The Greatest Person in the Mankind History

That is how I see, Prophet Muhammad (SAW), the Greatest person (PBUH) in Mankind History.
See, it’s been more than fourteen hundred (1400) years now and the number of his lovers is increasing day by day (Islam has been the fast growing religion in this world including the North America now).
Where the number of His followers is increasing every day, there are some people who can not digest this evergreen popularity of Prophet Muhammad (SAW). So these people come up with some vague, lame and according to their lower mentality level articles and they attack directly on the Prophet Muhammad (SAW).
This type of people have been there ever since and they have not done any thing to the ever green respect of Prophet Muhammad (SAW). All they could do is to loose their own respect even in their eyes.

Brother Msaqib ji,

assalamu alaykum!

It is a simple fact,absolutely true, as Mawlana Shaykh Saadi quds sirruhu said:

Ba'd az Khuda buzurg tu'ee, qissa mukhtasar.

After Allah, Ya Rasool Allah alayhi afDalus salat o salaam, yuo are the greatest, in short.

And a poet has said:

Taarikh agar dhoonDay gi saani ye Muhammad [alayhi salatosalaam]

Saani to baRee cheez hai, saaya na milega!

As for those who hate our Beloved Prophet sal allahu alayhi wa sallam...they are the most wretched people on earth and destined for Hell.

Allah Ta'ala says to his Beloved Prophet in the Qur'an
"Wa rafa'na laka dhikrak"

Hum ne, (ay Mahboob) aap ke liye, aap ke zikr ko buland kar diya hai.

wa salaam

Asif

With all the due respect to practising muslims on this forum, i would like to have a doubt cleared.

How is it that Mohammad Nabi (pbuh) could have several wives, some of them under ten at the time of marriage with him, and still be held in high acclaim?

I'll be happy if someone clears my doubt without flaming me.
Thanx.

Queer,

Here is a article about the prophet's wives which I copied from another site, hope it gives you some background on the subject.

The Prophet's Wives

Why did prophet Mohammad (pbuh) marry many wives, and who were they, their names and brief background on each one of them (may Allah bless them all).

When people hear that the prophet had many wives they conclude without much thought that the prophet was a sensuous man. However, a quick historical review of his marriages, proves otherwise.

When he was twenty-five years old he married for the first time. His wife, Khadijah, was fifteen years older than he. She remained the only wife of the prophet for the next twenty-five years, until she died (may Allah be pleased with her).

Only after her death, did the prophet marry other women. Now, it is obvious that if the prophet was after physical pleasure he did not have to wait until he was more than fifty years old to start marrying more wives. He lived in a society in which it was quite acceptable to have many wives. But the prophet remained devoted to his only wife for twenty-five years. When she died she was sixty-five years old.

His later marriages were for various reasons. Some marriages were with the view to help the women whose husbands had been killed while they were defending their faith. Others were with a view to cement relationships with devoted followers like Abu Bakr, may Allah be pleased with him. Yet others were to build bridges with various tribes who were otherwise at war with the Muslims. When the prophet became their relative through marriage, their hostilities calmed down, and much bloodshed was averted.

Wives of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh)

1. Khadijah: She was 40 years old when she proposed to marry the Prophet when he was 25 years old. After 15years of their marriage he became a prophet. She had been married twice before she married Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). Her first husband was Aby Haleh Al Tamemy and her second husband was Oteaq Almakzomy. They had both died leaving Khadijah a widower. Khadijah died in 621A.D. This was the same year the Prophet ascended into heaven (Meraj).

2. Sodeah Bint Zamaah Al Amreah: Her first husband was Al Sakran Ibn Omro Ibn Abed Shamz. He died within a few days after his return from Ethiopia. She was 65 years old, poor, and had no one to care for her. This was why Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) married her.

3. Aishah: A woman named Kholeah Bint Hakeem suggested that Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) marry Aishah, the daughter of Aby Bakr, to form a close relationship with Aby Bakr's family. She was already engaged to Jober Ibn Al Moteam Ibn Oday. At this time Jober was not yet a Muslim. The people of Makkah did not object to Aishah becoming married because although she was young, she was mature enough to understand the responsibility of marriage. Prophet Muhammad (bpuh) was engaged to Aishah for 2 years before he married her. Aby Bakr was the first leader after Prophet Muhammad's (pbuh) death.

4. Hafsah: She was the daughter of Omar, the second Calipha. Omar asked Othman to marry Hafsah. Othman refused because his wife had recently died and Othman did not want to remarry. Omar then went to Aby Bakr but he also refused to marry Hafsah. Aby Bakr knew that the Prophet had already considered marrying Hafsah. Omar then went to Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) and complained that Othman and Aby Bakr did not want to marry his daughter. The Prophet told Omar that his daughter will marry and Othman will also remarry. Othman married the daughter of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh), Om Kolthoom, and Hafsah married the Prophet. This made Omar and Othman both happy.

5. Zaynab Bint Kozameh: Her husband died in the battle of Uhud, leaving her poor and with several children. She was old when Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) married her. She died 3 months after she married the Prophet 625 A.D.

6. Hend Bint Omeah Ibn Almogereahk (Omsalameh): Her husband, Abud Allah Abud Al Assad Ibn Al Mogherah, died leaving Hend poor and with many children. Hend was at least 65 years old at the time. Aby Bakr and several others asked her to marry them, but because she loved her husband very much, she refused the marriage's offers. But finally she accepted Prophet mohammad's offer to marry her and take care of her children.

7. Zaynab Bent Jahish: She was the daughter of Prophet Muhammad's aunt, Omameh Bint Abud Almutaleb. The Prophet arranged for Zaynab to marry Zayed Ibn Hareathah Al Kalby. This marriage did not last and the Prophet received a verse in the Quran which stated that if they became divorced, then the Prophet must marry Zaynab (Sura 33:37).

8. Juayreah Bint Al Hareath: Her first husband's name was Masafeah Ibn Safuan. Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) wanted Juayreah's tribe (Beni Al Mostalag)to convert to Islam. Juayreah became a prisoner after the Muslims won the Battle of Al Mostalaq. Juayreah's father came to the Prophet and offered a payment for her return. The Prophet asked her father to give her a choice. When she was given a choice she said she accepted Islam and Prophet Muhammad as the last God's Messenger. The Prophet then married her. Her tribe of Beni Almostalag accepted Islam.

9. Safia Bint Hoyah Ibn Ahtab: She was from the tribe of Beni Nadir, who were from the children of Levi (Israel). She was married twice before, then she married Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). Her first husband Salam Ibn Moshkem, and her second husband was Kenanah Ibn Al Rabeeah.

10. Ramelah Bint Aby Sofian (Om Habebah): Her first husband was Aubed Allah Jahish. He was the son of the aunt of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). Aubed Allah died in Ethiopia. The king of Ethiopia arranged the marriage of Ramelah to Prophet Muhammad (pbuh).

11. Maria Al-Qubtia: She was sent to Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) as a hand maid servant from the king of Egypt. Maria had a son from the Prophet. His name was Ibrahim.

12. Maymonah Bent Al Hareath: She was 26years old when she married Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). Her first husband was Abu Rahma Ibn Abed Alzey. When the Prophet opened Makkah in 630 AD , she came to the Prophet, accepted Islam and proposed to marry him. Her actions encouraged Many Makkahans to accept Islam and Prophet Muhammad (pbuh).

camille: Two questions

1- What was the age of Aysha when she married to Mohammad (pbuh)? And was she the youngest at the time of marriage among all other wives?

2- Was prophet Mohammad (pbuh) married to more than four women at any given time? In other words, did he exceed the limit of four wives allowed by Islam at any given time?

Thanks.

I personally believe that such an idol like devotion is strictly against the teachings of Islam (the Islam that I am aware of, not much, but nonetheless, I have studied it as a Muslim child). The purpose of a Deen (religion) is not to romanticize the Messenger, but to "follow" the message. I am not trying to be disrespectful by suggesting that "there should be no need to look at Mohammad's personal life, so long as he lived within the permissible limits of Islam and the society he lived in, in his personal matters". If he deviated a little here and there, those things should be scrutinize and looked at. Practice of Polygamy is acceptable in Islam as well as in the Arab tribes he belonged to. It should not be looked upon as a flaw in his character. It doesn't make sense today, but it made sense at that time.

All I am saying (or trying to say) is that Islam is a message and Mohammad is [like] a Postman delivering that message to the world. There were many before him, and many will continue to deliver that message, may be not in such a high capacity as he did, but however will. If we can divorce ourselves from the messengers, and look objectively what the message is, may be we can find some answers (or more confusion). Looking at prophet's personal life (his or any other prophet for that matter) will yield no answers. Imitating his lifestyle contradicts present-day social values. One can still practice what he preached rather than practice what he practiced.

Coming this from an agnostic may be surprising to some, but that's the way it is with people like me. We can put things in perspective and can make judgements based upon our own acid tests. Additionally, we don't mind what others may think of us as a person, because that is the limit we set for ourselves. If we don't meet our own expectations, that is a bigger sadness for us to feel rather than not meeting others' expectations of us. Please don't confuse this philosophy with "selfishness", because that is a 'sin' (or equivalent of sin) in my belief system. The punishment for such sin is to do an Ostrich mating dance in front of your kids! Naked.

Sincerely,

An Agnostic

[This message has been edited by Roman (edited June 24, 1999).]

And Mr. N Y A Ahmadi I am saying that by describing Our Beloved Prophet as a "postman" [laa hawla wa laa quwwatta ila billah, may allah forgive me for copying it down even!] you have shown your enmity for Islam and it's Messenger becoz the very first necessary thing in islam is to LOVE the Beloved Messenger sal Allahu alayhi wa aailihi wa baarik wa sallam. Without that, no noe is a muslim as the hadith and qur'an state.

Allah says in the Qur'an

Atee allahi wa atee ur Rasool...Obey Allah AND Obey The Messenger

and
Wa ra'fana laka dhikrak

and

Fatta bi oonee

and

Inna arsalnaaka Rahmatulilaalameen

and

Yudullahi fawqa aydihim

and

Inna atayna kal Kawthar

and

Inn Allaha wa malaaikatahu yu salluna ala'n Nabi. Ya Ayyuhalla dheena aaminu sallu alayhi wa sallimu tasleema!

and

Inna arsalnaaka shaahidan wa mubbasharan wa nadheeran...

and

Qad jaa'akum min allahi noor...

and..

harithun alaykum bil mo'mineena raufun raheem!

and...

well the point is the whole Qur'an is full of the na'at of the Messenger of Allah from
al-Hamd to al-Naas! The criteria is that you have to have imaan in your heart when you read it...

A Muslim would never describe the Beloved Prophet [Allah bless him and give him peace] in the manner you have . Perhaps you are not a Muslim...

The fact is that the message is from the Messenger sal allahu alayhi wa sallam; in fact agar Huzoor na hotay to kuchh bhi na hota!

The insolence of some people!

Allah ki panaaH!

Ya Rasool Allah Ya Habib Allah!

[This message has been edited by Abdal Mustafa (edited June 24, 1999).]

I told you that Prophet Muhammad (SAW) is the greatest person in the Mankind History so that is why through out the History Kufaar and Mushraken have been trying to create the doubts about HIM (PBUH) and they have not been successfull in the 1400 Years and that is a great eveidnece of HIS (PBUH) being the greatest person in the Mankind History.

Actually these have been calling Names to Prophet Muhammad (SAW) from the day one and and all these people could do is to damage themselves.

[This message has been edited by msaqibj (edited June 24, 1999).]

And Mr. N Y A Ahmadi I am saying that by describing Our Beloved Prophet as a "postman" [laa hawla wa laa quwwatta ila billah, may allah forgive me for copying it down even!] you have shown your enmity for Islam and it's Messenger becoz the very first necessary thing in islam is to LOVE the Beloved Messenger sal Allahu alayhi wa aailihi wa baarik wa sallam. Without that, no noe is a muslim as the hadith and qur'an state.

** Qul: Ya 'ibaadi...[39:53]****
Say: O my servants!** who have acted extravagantly against their own souls, do not despair of the mercy of Allah; surely Allah forgives the faults altogether; surely He is the Forgiving the Merciful.

Roman,

Sorry can't give the answers to your questions cause I don't know, I just copied the article. I hope somone else can answer.

NY Ahmadi,

I could'nt agree with you more regarding the idolisation of the prophet one has to be careful not to overstep the mark, I think Actung summed it up nicely in an earlier post:"Muhammad was one of the messengers (indistinguishable from the other messengers in his duty to disseminate the message). Muslims do not worship the messenger, they worship Allah and follow the guidelines stipulated in His message as stated in the Quran. Those who falsely attack the messenger have missed the point; the concept central to and underpinning every aspect of Islam - that concept being tawhid (the unity and Oneness of God)."

But the 'postman' analogy opens up an interesting question, did prophet Muhammed (pbuh) recieve revelations apart from whats in the Quran? In other words was everything he ever said an inspiration from God or was his job JUST to deliver the Quran? Maybe we should start another thread.

By the way what EXACTLY does an agnostic believe and why? I suppose it like another religion really?! Appreciate your humour by the way.

Roman

The Prophet himself IS the Law! What He makes halal is halal for the Ummah and what he forbade is haraam for the Ummah [alayhi salaato salaam]; s Allah says 'take what the Messenger gives you and keep away from what he forbids you [paraphrased''
that's why shar'iah is different in some respects for His Excellency.

eg we have to pray 5 times; the Holy Prophet prayed 6 times --tahajjud prayer was farz for Rasool Allah sal allahu alayhi wa sallam.

eg If we sleep our wudhu is broken--His Excellency's wudhu was not broken;

eg Our kalimah is different' His Excellency said 'Inni Rasool Allah...' I am the Messenger of Allah...if we say this we become kaafirs [astahfirullah!]

etc .etc. that's why the Ahle Sunnah believe that although Habib Allah was a human being and appeared in human form, His Excellency was not like other humans; rather his Reality was something else [noor]].

As Imam Busiri says [alayhi rahmat]

Muhammad sal allahu alayhi wa sallam is a man but not like other men!

A ruby is a stone but not like other stones!

and also
in the same way FOR US ALLAH HAS PUT A LIMIT OF 4 WIVES AT A TIME--FOR OUR BELOVED MASTER SAL ALLAHU ALAYHI WA SALLAM THERE IS NO LIMIT; JITNEE SHAADIYAAN CHAAHEIN KAREIN.

This is Shar'iat.

NYAhmadi: If you are not agreed to my paraphrasing of your edited message then remove the post or edit it yourself...

I would expect more from you to realize subtle differences, unless you are using them knowingly, in which case they won't be allowed to exist on this forum! So be careful.

All others:
hmmm, let's look at the term postman.

Well, I think the post and duties of a postman are extremely responsible, important, respectful, and honorable. It's like the responsibilities of a teacher. Different roles, but same nature of responsibilities.

Now, Prophet Mohammad (pbuh) fullfilled different roles and responsibilities throughout the different phases of his life:

He was a soldier, a father, a teacher, a husband, a shepard, a businessman, a postman a leader, a victime (of atrocities of Arab Kaffirs), a human being, and much more...

Don't tell me that calling him a teacher or any of the above list offenses you, that's sheer ignorance and idiocacy.

Going back to postman, he conveyed Allah's message, right? And BTW, anyone here knows that the word postman is synonymous to the word messenger? No?? you didn't???

I have seen the expression Messenger of God associated with Mohammad (pbuh) by almost everyone on this forum so don't tell me it's offensive.

Dear Roman..

Your editing is [exactly] in the context that I used that term in. [thanks]. I don't intend to have any hidden meaning or underlying contextual references in any of my messages. I hope you understand that. Otherwise what's the purpose? In terms of making fun of myself, just ignore that part. It is my own way of dealing with sensitive issues and topics. If you (or anyone else) find that offensive, please let me know, and I will try not to make fun of "myself". I would rather make fun of [myself] than [others].

I didnt see your replies while I was writing my response. May be I have addressed some the concerns below.

Obviously there is a semantics and contextual confusion here. I don't think that the term "postman" is by any stretch of the imagination an insult to anyone. By suggesting so, one is insinuating that all the post-carriers of the world are somehow inferior. As far as I am concerned, I used this term in the same context as I used the term "messenger". I didn't think I was being disrespectful. If you think I was. That's a fragment of your own imagination.

The word "Payghamber" means someone carrying a message. The message is from God. By suggesting that he was not a Payghamber, will mean (at least to me) that he made up the message. So as for as I know,
he was a Postman. And a very Good One, indeed.

Going back to msaqibj's contention that Islam has lasted for over 1400 years and is growing is not a good argument. Many other religions (mono and polytheistic) have survived even longer than that. Try using this argument in the first few years of Islam. Tell that to a Pagan that Islam has lasted 6 and a half years, and that's the reason for it to be the "true" religion. The length of survival of a religion is no indication for its true-ness. All religions are the same. Whether they came today, yesterday, 1400 years ago, or 2500 BC. Religions are meant for spiritual guidance, and nothing more than that. If one can find that guidance outwith, there is no need to follow a particular religion. According to my readings, Ahmadiyat is making great strides in Western African nations of Senegal, Sierra-Leone, Liberia, Ivory Coast, etc. I guess that makes it a growing movement.

Now do you want me to do the mating dance of Ostriches?

I would still like to know the answer to the questions raised earlier:

1- What was the age of Aysha when she married to Mohammad (pbuh)? And was she the youngest at the time of marriage among all other wives?

2- Was prophet Mohammad (pbuh) married to more than four women at any given time? In other words, did he exceed the limit of four wives allowed by Islam at any given time?

And, the term "Postman" has been used as a metaphor - why should it be offensive?

Adbulmalick,

Muhammed sal'Allahi'alaihi wasallam will go down as the greatest man in history through history alone. A quarter of the world is muslim and for the vast part of recorded history Islam was responsible for the development of mankind. Remember, it is only in the last 70 or so years that the Islamic influence has been broken.

Name me one other individual who has had such an impact. And explain to me why you feel that the religion that he left is based upon evil rather than truth.

Hey, Mr Xtreme, what's up with this nick formatting? Is that what you resort to when you don't have appropriate answer to one's inquiry?

Either answer the inquiry or talk about some other aspect related to the thread... don't behave like a kid.

1- What was the age of Aysha when she married to Mohammad (pbuh)? <

From a 'sahih' hadith in Sahih Bukhari narrated by Hazrat Ayesha (RAA) herself, she was six year old at the time of nikah. Her rukhsatee was at the age of nine. She was eighteen when Prophet (pbuh) left this world.

And was she the youngest at the time of marriage among all other wives? <

Yes.

2- Was prophet Mohammad (pbuh) married to more than four women at any given time? In other words, did he exceed the limit of four wives allowed by Islam at any given time? <

The verse was revealed after the time of his (pbuh) marriages. Also, he was not the only one (both among Muslims and Non-Muslims), who had more than four wives "before" the revelation of that verse.

Allah knows best.

Thanks Camille.
Your post did give me a good picture. But I still do have a few doubts ;-)

Others were with a view to cement relationships with devoted followers like Abu Bakr, may Allah be pleased with him.<

Doesn't this mean that the girl has been used as a peace treaty? Would she have liked to marry a man over 55?

Yet others were to build bridges with various tribes who were otherwise at war with the Muslims. When the prophet became their relative through marriage, their hostilities calmed down, and much bloodshed was averted.<

Besides the question i raised above, hasn't the Prophet (pbuh) used marriage as a means of dissolving hostilities? Why is it that muslims today are not allowed to marry non-muslims?

That the prophet had married widows and divorced women shows his big heart. Is it not looked down upon among muslims (almost all other societies too) if an older woman marries a young man?

I would also like to know how many children the Prophet had.

Thank you.

Is this not amazing that how much these Kufaar and Mushrakeen are interested in the life of Prophet Muhammad (SAW). They want to know each and every aspects of his life.

Deepblue: Accoroding to my information, the age of Hazarat Aysha (RTA) was 11 at the time of Rukhasati.
Even though if it was NINE,
do these people know the fast growth of that time people?

I feel like mostly Marzayees and Hindus are among those people who are bringing this matter again and again into discussion.
This thread was meant to discuss the great Personality of Prophet Muhammad (SAW) but as usual, Hindus and Marzayees brought the topic of weddings of Prophet Muhammad (SAW).

Before worrying about something happened 1400 years ago, why don't we look in the present and resent past.
I would like to ask this question to the Marzayees…….

What was the age of Mirza Nasir Sahib when he married to a teenage girl?

Next question it to the Hindus....

What is the number of young, teen-age girls, Ghandi slept with, even without marriyng to any one of them and he still died as a virgin?

[This message has been edited by msaqibj (edited June 25, 1999).]