I don’t particularly like Sprint. But I get pretty good deal. $100 for 2000 minutes. That’s better than Verizon. But the signal strength/coverage is not as good as Verizon. As a matter of fact, there is a some-miles patch on my way to NJ on 95 where I lose signals at. Every time I go to NJ I’m conference calling couple of family members and chatting but I’ve to friggin’ plan my chat time keeping in mind that bad patch on 95–so they end up waiting on me. It’s is effecting our relationship. (No, I’m kidding-of course there is no relationship )
But anyway. Someone was telling me that Singular/T-mobil are gonna be big 'cause they offer GSM phones. I’ve always thought them to be some kinda “naqli companies” but I think after the merger Singular might be making some big waves (pun) plus you can use your cellphone in Pakistan by simply changing the simm. I want that I want that What do you guys think? What are your good, bad, and really motha***%*&^ ugly experiences with your carriers?
Re: The Great my-carrier-is-bigger-than-your debate
First off, its Cingular…not Singular. Now to your actual query, you can get a GSM phone with your existing carrier if you want. Wait, I see you dont like sprint. I have been waiting for one year exclusive contract of T-mobile for iPaq 6315. I am hoping Sprint, yes sprint will pick it and I can switch to that phone/pda. It has GSM capability plus more. Check it out here.
kaleemay yar Sprint doesn't offer GSM technology yet. But I'm not sure how's the coverage area for Cingular yet. I see people talking on the subway, in elevators using Verizon and that pisses me off 'cause Sprint signals ka door door tak naam-o-nishan nahi hota on those locations. Heck I barely get a bar or two even in the building where I work.
Hampf, aren’t US operators working together so that you guys always have coverage? You want GSM?? That is dying technology is Europe but for Pak and Europe (and rest of the civilized world for that matter) you’re better off with GSM. Why don’t you get a GSM phone and pre-paid cards, they should be cheaper, no? Waise tau get GPRS, GSM bhi included hota hai.
And I thought dropped calls on a maturing tech was un-acceptable. My only bad experience so far is that I couldn’t un-subscribe, took 'em six months :o
I am with you...sprint sucks, but my company pays for the airtime ...I can live with it. If I were you I will go with Verizon, but I am not sure if they have GSM available...where is verizon when you need him? Oh Verizon where are thou?:)
What friggin' 295? 295 doesn't start till Delaware. What am I gonna ride on from Baltimore to Delawar, broomstick? (nevermind, don't answer that you jerk).
Who told you to live in places where no one can get good reception? You should be careful, otherwise you will end up in a jar in a refrigerator of some crazy yahoo in Md. Ask Kaleem what he uses, he lives among rednecks.
No Party Im afraid, I went to work.. both days, spent some at work and out shopping:) evening at friends and got home in time to save my siblings from the giant man eating spider that had blighted their lives for..."Oooh let me see, 2 secondes. Anyway I courageously fought a great battle of wits and eventually after much strggle and grat valour on my part I managed to defeat the beast.I then picked up the 2cm body and threw it in the curry.... Sorry I mean the bin, And was SO tired afterwards that I had no energy to do anything else.
How was your weekend Mr Matsui? I bet it was more fun than mine.!
I had Verizon and got great reception but their customer care was lacking on an issue so I switched to Sprint which I was told wasn't the best. I've had absolutely no problems with reception. Roman, you may want to get a different cell phone as some pick up reception better than others.
Oh I don;t know..LD, I went to a party saturday night at a lounge in nYC with some friends. Had a few drinks..danced a little and had a good time. Sunday, we celebraed Holi with family and friends at my uncle’s place. throwing color and having some good food and dacing and stuff. We dance a lot…we are a dancing people.