The great conquest of Constantinople by Mehmet II

Sultan Muhammad of Saltanat-e-Usmania ( commonly known as Mehmet II ’ The conqueror’ in Ottoman Dynasty) captured Constantinople (modern day Istanbul ) in Byzantine empire (European part of Turkey now) after some brilliant tactics.And expanded Ottoman empire into Europe.All this at the age of 21

The conquest of Constantinople by Mehmet II is considered the most incredible conquest in modern Islamic history and Marvelous strategical war ever fought. He conquered the city which his forefathers tried very hard get their hands on it, But failed.

How he achieved this feat ?.

It is rather difficult to understand but here is a map …

[thumb=H]map16977_6444082.JPG[/thumb]

The way to Constantinople through golden horn was blocked by big heavy chains. It was not posible to penetrate. So Mehmet ordered his navy to take the ships through land… As explained in the map

So all the 40,000 soldiers draged the whole fleet of battle ship on land and then again into sea(golden horn) to attack the city and finally capture it on May 29, 1453.

Re: The great conquest of Constantinople by Mehmet II

How much was the peice of land on which they draged the battle ship? in miles or km

It looks like about 1 mile (looking at the scale on map) :)

oh Yeah, Thanks

Special slippery planks of wood was used to transfer the ships over the land. Quiet a splendid scheme by this great general of Islam.

ok, so lets bring on the religion discussion associated to this…

:confused:

Cool. Tell me something codey pira, who is to blame for the downfall of Islam from that time, the Muslims themselves, The ottoman empire, money, greed...what ???????? <- Answer my questions

It shows that not so long time ago in Muslim world there were actually some competent and intelligent Autocratic leaders present. Which is more of a fantasy now.

I asked u something , butthead...

You can find lengthy books on this topic. Anyway my two bits…

1. Lack of interest in research and seeking knowledge

2. Lack (or should i say complete desertion ) of concept of khudi

Khudi as much emphesized by Allama Iqbal (and we take it as joke) may be defined as …

respect/pride for ourselves in our own eyes/mind/hearts for being chosen by Allah to perform this noble task of enlightening humanity.

Sigh, chota sa sawal poocho aur lecture shuru, thank u for that khudi ungal thing, I'll do it.

Arey Chacha chakkan ! :smack:

3 lines ka jawab dya hai, our 2 line main explain kar dya hia. Ab ye bhi tumhain lecture lagta hai ?

Hamray ajkal ke noujawaan… 2 jumley parhney main aankhain dukhney lagti hain afsoos

Baqoul-e-shair…

kaila khaata hoon tu mairey daant hiley jatey hian…
Farash-e-makhmal pe chal ke merey paer chilley jatey hain

The conquest of Constantinople was foretold by the Prophet (Peace and Blessings be upon him):

“Verily you shall conquer Constantinople. What a wonderful leader will her leader be, and what a wonderful army will that army be!” - al-Musnad Ahmad & others

^ mashallah :slight_smile:

That was one of the reasons, many Ottoman emperors were eager to conguer that city. Which was culturally, religiously, and economically very important city of Europe from 600 BC.

I read that hadees, but did not have the source with me. Thanks for sharing :jazak:

Was in Turkey over Xmass break and saw Fatih Mehmet’s sword and learned about his strategies :k: It was a really neat experience :k:

thanks for sharing Codey :slight_smile:

Another musalla invader no different then the decadent Ghaznavi, Ghouri or Abdali.

It was an honor for India that Muslims invaded it, and gave it much needed rich culture, Art, music, sense of dress and most of all… Monuments to show the world that there is much more about india than spices and herbs.

My pleasure :slight_smile:

Why don’t you share some of what you learned.
It will be interesting to have some first hand knowledge :k:

nothing can be more offensive than what you say.. while i agree that mughals and their preceding muslim rulers enriched the already advanced culture and society that india had, they definitely did not bring light to a bunch a savages or something like that… even before the first muslim ruler had even thought of invading india, india was a land steeped in several millennia of civilization.. man even when arabs were goin around town humpin’ camels and the like, the subcontinent had a well-established society and was way way more advanced than stupid sand-diggers.. goes to show the extent to which some ppl can glorify parts of our history that only need to be seen in a neutral light… say if 500 years from now, the ppl of india, pak and bang heap praises on the brits for conquering india and bringing civilization how would you feel??? my fu***ng foot!! ppl need to think of all those invasions from a unbiased and un-extolling kind of view.. if u think muslims (read arabs and turks) brought civilization and culture to india go wear an abaya and kaffiyeh… dont speak punjabi, sindhi or urdu speak only arabic or turkish.. and never ever go by car.. buy a camel and use it for all purposes including transport… and talk about monuments, all those were built for the luxury of the stupid mughals and their fat children… shah jahan was a premiere a$$hole who wasted public money for his dead wife.. do u know why aurangzeb had him imprisoned??? cos he wanted to build another taj mahal, this time in black marble.. and u go beating ur chest abt these barbaric brutes who ravaged the whole world for their own greed… all that under the pretext of establishing islam.. cos the ba$tard no.1 timur massacred as many muslims in baghdad as hindus and buddists in india..

^ Sir, aap tau dil pe hi lay gayay.

its painful that ppl believe in a borrowed identity.. ppl dont realize the separation between religion and culture.. the arabs themselves dont have a uniform culture.. those in saudi are diff from those in dubai.. the ones in abu dhabi arent the same as the ones in filasteen.. the iranians have their own culture and they proud of it... even wartorn afghans will swear by their puggdees.. but only desi muslims face that identity crisis.. esply ones in pak.. they think that the invaders not jus converted ppl but also civilized them with their "advanced" culture etc etc.. friggin "arab" numerals were stolen from ancient indian books.. and no wonder, in seeking a new identity most pakis identify themselves with middle east more than south asia.. wake up ppl.. realize what ur culture is and do not mimic arabs jus cos they brought us islam...