Re: The great conquest of Constantinople by Mehmet II
Bhai Desibanda ! Please re-read your post. Its amusing ! ![]()
^ Woh tau sabb theek hai, per itna ghussa tau na ho, bhai. Kuch chai paani, lassi shassi?
sorry… i dint mean to hurt code_red or nebody… jus got a bit too emotional… tats somthing tat runs in my blood.. i flare up pretty easily smiles sheepishly
for me religion is one thing and culture another thing… i am a person who thinks that religion is a private thing.. i will pray to my allah, jesus and ram in my own manner.. its a personal thing.. i dont want that mixing with other things… par maine bahut aise logon ko dekha hai who deny their own culture and pretend that arab/middle-east culture is the best and all desi history is crap/bakwas… u can be passionate abt ur religion but u shud not be attached to it in a wrong way.. i presumed tat code_red had said that in such a way.. but unless he/she clarifies what he/she wrote, i will not take back what i said even though i agree it was kinda rude… :miffed:
Actually, you took it to lengths. What I wrote was based upon facts…
If you read old english literature, you will find that India was known to world for its spices, herbs, Silk and things like that. But after the moughal period, World started to associate India with Taj mahal, Shalamar Gardons, Exotic palaces of emporers in Rajhistaan, Hyderabad and all over India.
Supposidlly music is part of hindu religion. Who is the musical genius of India ???
Ameer Khusro !
Compare the quality and quantity of literature, poerty in Farsi and Urdu to Sansikrit.
It is a fact that Muslims ruled India very fairly and justly. Indians can not deny this. Infact they are proud of the rich history.
I don’t know where Arabs and Turks come in this story ![]()
Mughals were Indians They ruled india, they lived in india, they died and are burried in india. Just like American call themselves american , Mughals are more justified in calling themseves indians.
And like them, I belong to the Indus valley civilization, I am indian. My forefathers were indian. I have no association with arabs, other than Islam.
Codey, agree with you about 50%. Islamic influence in arts and architecture, particularly inthe north and northwest India is tremendous. But to say such things were not there in India before the mughals got there is not right. ZIf you get a chance travel to the other side of the ganges or even up north, you will see introcate carvings in temples that are over 2000 years old and can make the mosque in isfahan look like childs play.
You are right about the mughals being Indian. India has the uncanny ability to absorb without losing the fabric of its being. So all those saffron clad chutiyas in shiv sena who shout incoherently about India losing its cultural values due to the internet and hollywood etc...have no clue. Internet and hollywood are becoming indianized. :)