the girls who always talk about marriage

What do you think of them?

I have seen some crazy girls who all they would talk about is marriage/shadi .It seems awkward coming from a teen.And not only that i find younger girls nowadays more obsessed with marriage than when i was in their age.I never thought about marriage business in my teens and until my mom slapped me with the fact that i am "grown up " now and it hasnt become an obsession.But to some girls its the only thing they are born for/its like their moto in life.

I have also known some desi aunty ,whos daughter was my friend. She used to discuss every possible rishta with her.We were 15/16 that time and she is still not engaged.So it explains a lot how girls get obsessed with marriage and marriage becomes their life.I hate these freakos because shadi talk disgusts me.

Re: the girls who always talk about marriage

either extreme is not good is it?

You give me no hope. Go burst someone else's bubble.

Welcome to Pakistani community. Man, is there anything going on here other than marriage and kids. I have been disconnected from it for a good part of my life and really enjoyed it but since past two years all I get to hear is someone is getting married, there is a rishta for someone, she is pregnant, shadi shadi shadi...every month there are about 5 shadi...omg...and everyone loves it.

Get married then.

I find this fine,people do get married but the girls i am talking about are the ones who would talk about marriage so much that you would begin to feel that you are in trouble because you arent married/engaged.
And they would look into lehngas and gharas even when they aint even engaged or getting engaged anytime soon.

Maybe that's just one thing in life they have to look forward to.
Who knows.

ok 15/16 is a bit too young but after 21 is fine (i guess) and what's wrong looking at lehngas? i like looking at them and i am not engaged or married or about to get married.

these girls talk about marriage because they are obsessed with the idea of getting married, they only think about the big day, jewellery, hair makeup and lengha, whereas they really don't understand the meaning of marriage, when married life hits them in the face its a reality check because marriage is no bed of roses

you're better off being the way that you are because when you do eventually get engaged and married Inshallah, you will have your head screwed on and will know that marriage is not just about the big day, it involves commitment and understanding..

my advice to you is enjoy life to the full...think about marriage when the time is right...leave you immature friends to playing shaadi and dulha dulhan all day long

Isn't that what we call fantasizing??

Girls (not just pakistani) start fantasizing about their marriage AND their husband-to-be from a very young age.

However, its only when they start talking about it non-stop that gets on my nerves! A few months ago, my youngest sister invited one of her friends for a sleepover. We were in the same room for some part of the night and that girl didn't stop talking about boys ... i found it sooo annoying!

LOL, im sorry but Pakistani's wear only born for education and marriage! If you dont ATLEAST do one of them your a failiure!!

Oh and have loads of babies!

^ haha lol..

True but I think its better than the standards that the Irish have here in Ireland…

No emphasis on education, anything above 40% in the exam is good, anything below is ok but should improve!! (In Pakistan, anything below 80% is a shame!)

And the goras don’t get married until they have a job that earns them loaaaaads of money and they can afford a diamond ring and a house! And they don’t have babies until they have accomplished more important things like “travel the world!” :cb:

Nowadays, They start having babies at like 35 or 40 yrs of age (and I am not even exaggerating!)… So when their child is 10 yrs old, they’d be like 50 or something… Talk about generation gap!

I think its because you see all these brown parents have a problem with their kids dating and instead tell them that they're gonna get married ... and this point is then reinforced upon them so many times so they don't date but no one looks at the fact that this gets reinforced and after a while everytime someone talks about hteir gf or bf or dating in general these kid's mind go strait to marriage and in due time they become obsessed with it

We hear about marriage all the time from culture and religion. Islam is taught to women from the perspective of her role being that of a wife - wife's obligations, wife's duties to her husband, etc etc.

So, naturally, the way we are raised shapes us. All we obsess about is marriage. I know plenty of single girls my age who are NOT desi , and marriage is not the biggest thing on their minds. They do what they enjoy (hopefully) and they meet someone along the way. Instead of our people. We are target hunting like a pack of wolves since we're 12 years old.

I kid you not. Young preteen girls at desi dawats are scanning for potential future husbands. Every girl here did it, and I'm sure its a trend with other desi communities too.

It's sad. And as for education - well, in some families. In other families, no one gives a flying rat's arse about education. Just get married and work in your dad or susar's business.

Add to that the fact that for many families, the biggest and most colorful events in your life are all shaadis.

So obviously, existence climaxes at that point. No one really plans for after that.

so when are you planning to tie the knot? :faizy:

ps. its normal in every cultural, as westerners worry about of not having bf/gf by mid or late twenties might arouse the concern about their sexual orientation. so take a pill and chill.