One of My Friend has 8 brothers (One Mother). I asked him how are you feeling having no sister , He told i am feeling very very bad and every of our brothers HAVE VERY KEEN URGE FOR SISTER.
He told that we had one sister after our 8th Brothers and we were very very excited for that but she died after a month or so , he told we were all Mourning on here death.
In my own case we the couple were praying ( May God Gift us with
" Healthy (Spiritually , Physically and Mentally) and Good Character AWLAAD"
We did not Mind for the Gender but prayed that the Mother be Healthy and Delivery be sound.
We had propsed Names for Either Gender ( Boy = Saad and Girl = Anfaal ) and Al Hamdu Lallah we have Saad(3Months old) with us now , before our first Marriage anniversery.
I think We should mind for the Health (Mental , Physical , Spiritual) for both the Baby and Mother.
The Gender Decision is not in our Hand.
But since this Mantality prevails in our society , we should not care for it.
My husband and I are expecting! We were married in April and inshallah will welcome our first child in February.
I'm hoping for a boy---on both sides of the family we have all girls so far so I think it would be fun to have the first boy! Also, I like to be active, spend time outdoors, hiking, sports, etc., so my sisters have always said I would make a great mom to a boy especially. And honestly, my husband's family is very conservative/traditional and I noticed the girls in his family have had a lot less accomplishments and opportunities than the boys---I worry about how they will try to influence my daughters. I think if I have a little more time to establish myself in the family and assert myself as a parent, it will help me to better protect my daughter(s) from unfair standards. So I'd rather have a daughter a little further down the road.
But of course whatever I have, I will be ecstatic!
I've always pictured myself to have a girl first and then a boy. In fact, I've had trouble even picturing the little boy. These days, I only see a boy!
One of My Friend has 8 brothers (One Mother). I asked him how are you feeling having no sister , He told i am feeling very very bad and every of our brothers HAVE VERY KEEN URGE FOR SISTER.
He told that we had one sister after our 8th Brothers and we were very very excited for that but she died after a month or so , he told we were all Mourning on here death.
In my own case we the couple were praying ( May God Gift us with
" Healthy (Spiritually , Physically and Mentally) and Good Character AWLAAD"
We did not Mind for the Gender but prayed that the Mother be Healthy and Delivery be sound.
We had propsed Names for Either Gender ( Boy = Saad and Girl = Anfaal ) and Al Hamdu Lallah we have Saad(3Months old) with us now , before our first Marriage anniversery.
I think We should mind for the Health (Mental , Physical , Spiritual) for both the Baby and Mother.
The Gender Decision is not in our Hand.
But since this Mantality prevails in our society , we should not care for it.
Same is the case with my husband...they are 4 brothers and they have all always wanted a sister....They'd all be ecstatic to have a girl in the family...
congratulations NYCgori! exciting news! :)
i think that with you as a mom, regardless of gender, baby is lucky and iA will thrive!
sahar, its so weird, but i think i'm scared of having girls. i think they give you a lot more sass than boys and i don't know if i could handle that haha so i'm always picturing boys for myself too... i guess we'll see when it happens iA. i just hope my kids look at least a little bit like me! the hubby's family gene's are so strong mA in that all the kids are pretty big (his 5 year old niece wears 9 year old clothes cos she's so tall!!), so im hoping ours are more normal sized haha :p
as for this mentality that boy babies are better, esp if they're the first, i think its all crap. its downright medieval and ridiculous. people should be happy they're capable of even producing children first, and second, hoping that their babies are healthy and normal.
Awww, thanks so much! We feel very blessed. I have my first ob appointment tomorrow and am very excited to hear the heartbeat for the first time!
Although at this point I would love to have a boy as my first child, I have to say that hubby’s family has been great about the gender thing. They’ve also mentioned that they think it ‘must’ be a boy since we don’t yet have any, but there hasn’t been any insinuation about me needing to have a boy, etc. I think that like me, they are just excited to have a little gender diversity in the family!
1st child-Girl or Boy
2nd child-Girl or boy.
3rd child-if 2 boys, then a girl.
if 2 girls, then a boy.
if i have one of each, then a boy.
Btw, my dad made my mom's life hell for having 2 girls in a row; I remember when I was little I used to read namaz and when we used to do ameen, i had to pray for a little brother.
And now, my mom is like "mujhay sirf nawasay chahiye hain"...i'm like "wtf? you had daughters too!" and my mom is like "it's ok for me, but i want you to have all boys"
My sister and I got SO MAD, we were like gosh u didn't learn at all! and your sons are LAZY as hell...seriously they sit at home and play xbox all day.
Btw, I read a study and even American men are more likely to stay with a pregnant girlfriend if the child is a boy. Kind of interesting..
oh my gosh.. with all due respect that is crazy abt ur Dad saying stuff like that to ur Mom, doesn't he realise that it is all down to the guy as to what gender the child is?? Women's eggs are X/X but the sperm has the X/Y..
jalebi, that really sucks. whatever you have, the most important thing is that they be healthy, and i hope your family will appreciate that. i can only think that your mom wants you to avoid the same kind of misery she went through and so is probably saying you should only have boys.
but generally, this kind of thinking really makes me angry because there are very many people out there who can't even have a child, including my bff, regardless of having the luxury of complaining about which gender to have! ugh!
i think people need to count their blessings and what they have, and if they're upset, to take it up with God. man's sperm or no man's sperm, He does decide ultimately what you'll be giving birth to, right?
Congrats NYC Gori. I do know how you felt. When I was 1st pregnant, I didnt care what I had, but I felt like I could raise a boy well, I could relate more. I am an only girl, and then most of my cousins in age range are ALLL guys, so i have been a bit of a tom boy. Lets see what happens with this pregnancy. If I have a girl, it will be interesting and fun too. Just so many options of dressing a little girl up :)
Congrats NYCGori! I hope you have a happy/healthy pregnancy iA!
as long as the baby is healthy i dont the think gender really mattered.. deep down inside though I want a boy first but if its a girl I think ill be even more ecstatic .. plus the hubz wants a girl.. so lets see Allah miyaan kya deta hai :) -
Thank you, thank you. I just got back from my appointment and it was just amazing. The baby is measuring exactly where it should be, and the heartbeat was already so strong and steady! The little one even flapped its arms for me while we were doing the ultrasound—it was so amazing and I felt like it was waving to me.
i’m due the same time as u (in february) i feel absolutely NOTHING! is my baby lazy? My ultrasound was supposed to be this week but we had to reschedule so I am going next weekend. I can’t wait!
ok let's take this in a diff direction
how many of you actually, really ,secretly, hoped for boys as ur first?
I was so desperate to have a baby girl. My MIL was desperate for me to have a boy first. She begged me to recite certain prayers and name the baby Muhammad. I just couldn't understand this perference for a boy rather than a girl.
Actually, my husband and I wanted a girl more than anything. When I was 5 months preg, Doc told me I was having a boy - and I excused myself from the room, went to the toilets and had a good cry! Lol! I was so upset! Actually, I knew Doc was totally wrong b/c I just knew I was having a girl! When I was 7 months preg' Docs confirmed it was a girl!
Hi Mommy,
Don’t worry! I didn’t feel the movement—I saw it on the ultrasound screen. And actually I heard that a lot of women don’t see the fetus move on an ultrasound that early (9 weeks.) At that age, the fetus is asleep/inactive most of the time. By 12 weeks, it becomes more active. My sis told me you normally start feeling the first movements around 18 weeks.
Congratulations!!!