The first kid should be a boy

I’m sure all of us ladies have come across at least one aunty, whether a relative, neighbor, or whomever, saying this to us the second we get married. (But if there is anyone here who has said/felt it…please do share)

I mean…why?

Khair…the jahil-ness of some people, will never cease to amaze me. Aik taraf se they talk about how other women are so bad b/c they treat their bahus badly for having daughters and cry about how it’s all “Allah ke haath mein hai”… and the next second they say “you should have a boy first.” those are the worst b/c they pretend.

at least the stupid ones don’t pretend to be all enlightened and religious. they know they’re dumb.

Re: The first kid should be a boy

I guess the thinking would be that its nice to have an older brother. To look out for the younger ones and all.

But its not like we actually have a choice in the matter, maybe the aunties should be gently reminded of this!

^ i think its more because boys are (still) valued more than girls!

ok let's take this in a diff direction
how many of you actually, really ,secretly, hoped for boys as ur first?

I wish i had an older brother so i wouldn’t have to bug my father ever for the money:chupki:

i want a girl first!!!!!! pink is my favorite color and girls have the cutest outfits!!

a lot of people say they wnat boys first so that they are able to take care of their younger sisters also a lot of parents feel that in their old age, its their sons that will be supporting them and helping them with their daughter's weddings financially so they want a boy first, it hink.

We both were dying to have a girl first.

I always thought that if I was my parent's son then I could have helped out my dad around the house a lot more than I did now...that's one of the main reasons I would want a boy...but I pray for a healthy baby because that's what really matters!

i and everyone alongwith me was dying for me to have a girl.. there are way too many boys and plus boys are eww and girls are awww… so my sil and i were expecting 4 months apart and we both ended up having boys.. sure everyone was happy either way but secretly we all wanted girls

next time allah mian :mad:

well i am not married yet...but wnever i wil b..i wished to hav girl first coz only girlz will always with their parents not boys....so any 1...i lik girlz alot..cute cute siii:@:

i really want a boy first, only because we have sooo many girls in the family, but jo Allah ki marzi, as long as he/she is healthy i dont care

ALLAH karay.......apko beta ho:@:
betay na hon wo b ak alag tension hy:(

I always wanted an older brother to spoil me. That didn't happen. Oh well..

I don't understand why aunties wish for boys. Sons can turn out to be irresponsible, disrespectful and selfish then what will we wish for? Personally, I want 3 girls...well at least 2. My husband has no sisters so he wants a girl first too! :)

Yeah my 1st baby, I was having visions of girls and pretty dresses etc. But I was blessed with a boy which is the apple of my eye. I think as long as your kids are born healthy, that's all that matters. These days not much difference left between raising boys vs girls. And I guess the older folks still have the mentality that they want boys becauze boys will take care of them in old age.....but boys can also turn out different from expectations n not give a rat's a$$...and girls may be the one providing support etc. Hmm.....

NO ONE should tell you what you SHOULD have…that’s just stupid!
Although there does seem to be a slight preference for boys over girls (especially amongst the elders in our society), I don’t think the newer generation really think that way anymore.
And also, it’s not only in our culture, it’s the same in many many different societies all over the world.

Actually, I think there’s some discrimination against little boys now, heh.

Personally, when I was expecting my first , I was 100% sure it would be a girl, as I would be pulled towards the little girls section in all the baby stores.But now that I have boys, I love love love them, and TBH I wouldn’t know what to do with a little girl now :hehe:

I remember coming back from the hospital the day after my delivery , and my gori neighbor was in the elevator and she told me how glad she was that I had a boy , and boys were just so much more fun! And I remember thinking , she wouldn’t have gotten away with this if she was a desi.
Infact, I have heard this comment from 2 goris by now(haha , yes I’m counting!), so it just goes to show, it’s not really a big deal.

Your child is your child is your child, doesn’t matter what gender they are.

oh DUDE, I wanted a girl and I got one, I'm SO happy. Steff says that if we had a boy we'd have to keep having kids till we had a girl

lol!!! If I followed that approach I'd end up with a full soccer team before my wish was granted!! I had 2 miscarriages - both girls. Had 3 boyz Mashallah. They are the light of my life.

Yet when we were starting out, I SO wanted only a girl. I thought I'd never be able to relate to little boyz. I wanted a pretty little girlie that I could dress up so nice and frilly, have a little girly to cherish.

But after having my boyz...I now think that Id not know how to handle a girl! lol.

People are blessed with what God/Allah decides is best.

1st child-Girl or Boy
2nd child-Girl or boy.
3rd child-if 2 boys, then a girl.
if 2 girls, then a boy.
if i have one of each, then a boy.

Btw, my dad made my mom's life hell for having 2 girls in a row; I remember when I was little I used to read namaz and when we used to do ameen, i had to pray for a little brother.

And now, my mom is like "mujhay sirf nawasay chahiye hain"...i'm like "wtf? you had daughters too!" and my mom is like "it's ok for me, but i want you to have all boys"

My sister and I got SO MAD, we were like gosh u didn't learn at all! and your sons are LAZY as hell...seriously they sit at home and play xbox all day.

Btw, I read a study and even American men are more likely to stay with a pregnant girlfriend if the child is a boy. Kind of interesting..

I want to have a girl . My husband says that the baby shd be healthy gender doesn't matter to him. I want to have a girl bcuz girls are blessing (rehmat) and they can be dressed up like a doll. But my mom wants me to have a son bcuz she only had me and was always cursed & criticised for not having a boy despite the fact my dad was soo supportive. So she wants a nawasa