In your opinion, is there any truth to the concept of the “evil eye” or “nazar lagna”? (any personal experiences?)
If so, how does one ward off the evil?
Does the use of precious stones and taweez come under superstitious beliefs?
In your opinion, is there any truth to the concept of the “evil eye” or “nazar lagna”? (any personal experiences?)
If so, how does one ward off the evil?
Does the use of precious stones and taweez come under superstitious beliefs?
Re: The evil eye
obviously there is…
and for warding off evil…this is the solution…don’t forget to thank me ![]()
Of course I believe in the concept of "nazar", but I hate all this taweez stuff. Surely the best route it to pray and recite a part of the Quran every day!
i believe in nazar too but agree with IceSoul that taweeza etc are rubbish.
Aren’t taweez just quranic verses written on a paper and wrapped into a leather casing?
How can they be rubbish then?
Nomi, is that thing real? ![]()
what do you think?? you get discount also..999 for something worth 2500 ![]()
you can call and confirm too ![]()
I see you already bought one!
Must not be working since you keep getting the evil eye from women on GS! :D runs
nice link NomiCA!
i am myself a nazar wattoo.......i ward off nazar too....... i don't need no nothing :D
I think rubbish in the sense that reciting the quran, reciting aytal kursi, its preferable to wearing a few verses around your neck. plus i see it as a bit disrespectful wearing something like a taweez or a bracelet with the qalma on it etc, i mean do people take those things off when they go toilet etc?!
I agree. But what about babies? They can't recite anything. I have seen many parents getting taweez for their young kids.
babies's parents can recite for them i guess :)
I think the concept of taweez to ward off 'nazar' is a hindu concept, this is the sort of stuff they do to ward off evil, we have better ways of dealing with it as mentioned earlier in this thread, reading the Quran, 4 quls, the power of duaa. And if anything happens you accept it as Allah's will.
The concept of evil eye is said in the Quran in Surah Falak. And the Prophet pbuh told us to read the Mauzzatain (surah falak and Surah Naas) to ward off evil.
I don’t believe in precious stones…how can a piece of stone be relied upon to protect oneself and not the trust in Allah?
in sab cheezoN meN aitaqaad iimaan kii kamzorii aur insaan kii saHeeH deen se gumraahii aur inHiraaf hai...yeh sab tavahhomaat kaa nateeja hai...shirk kii ek qism hai. isse jitnaa ijtinaab kiyaa jaaye utnaa hamaarii falaaH o bahbood ke liye bahtar hai...Allah hameN deen kii saHeeH samajh de aur siraat ul mustaqeem par chalne kii taufeeq 'ataa farmaaye...aameen
I don't believe in precious stones...how can a piece of stone be relied upon to protect oneself and not the trust in Allah?
stones, precious and semi-precious (and also metals, gold, silver, etc) have healing powers and many other benefits (including clearing negative energy). meri Behna, How does it relate to not having trust in Allah. Yeh Allah hi ki to nematein hain.
When we say Olive oil can protect heart from degenerative diseases, it means that Allah put those healing attributes in the olive, how can it be shirk.
BarbieCue, Jade is a good stone for the purpose you are mentioning.
stones, precious and semi-precious (and also metals, gold, silver, etc) have healing powers and many other benefits (including clearing negative energy). meri Behna, How does it relate to not having trust in Allah. Yeh Allah hi ki to nematein hain. When we say Olive oil can protect heart from degenerative diseases, it means that Allah put those healing attributes in the olive, how can it be shirk. BarbieCue, Jade is a good stone for the purpose you are mentioning.
We have science to back up the fact that olive oil is beneficial for the heart. I don't think the 'positive/negative' energies or the metaphysical properties of stones are scientifically proven, hence that's a superstition for me.
Do you believe in heaven and hell?
in the day of judgment?
in humans having a soul ?
in angels ?
in divine books?
in Jins?
in satan?
There is no scientific evidence for any of those.
Life is not two dimensional, There is a third dimension, which is not in our awareness. it's beyond most people's comprehension, but some get access to it bohat riyazat ke bad.
There are things that we know that we know, then there are things that we know that we dont know, and then there are things that we dont know that we dont know. Qibla Rizla sahab : )
I agree with Restless on this one.
Speaking from experience here I knew a guy who was awarded an army service medal for his efforts. Years later he added a small Saphire to the top of the badge and replaced the slik ribbon, as it happens he was off to the bank one day and knowing he was going to pick up some money, a lowlife shot him with a .45 as you can guess the bullet was stopped by the medal it still hit him and drove the medal into his flesh but it stopped on a rib and didn't puncture his lung... pure coincidence maybe but that guy swore it was a lucky Saphire. Precious stones are even mentioned in teh Koran and interestingly the first description of a full suit of body armour is in the Koran too. :)
As for the concept of Taweez yeah sure it might have been something we picked up from other faiths I for one know why we still have fancy pre-Islamic rituals permitted to this day becuase they were never expressly forbidden. In fact Rasool Allah himself fashioned what you might call a Taweez and sent many such gifts to people that served them well to this day.
I think also that the Ahle Bayt are a reason too for much of the spiritual powers in Islam and even Sufi saints seem to have mind boggling abilites many of them scientifially proven and tried and tested. So yeah there is a third dimension definately and Islam does not have a monopoly on it neither.
Now as for the concept of Nazar or the Evil eye it exists in almost every culture I have come across from the Earliest in the Americas to the the Far East of Asia. As many an advertisement will tell you billions of people cant be wrong... and science might have something to learn actually.
I always thought that the nazar aankh blue thing was a Pakistani thing, but I've seen so many of my Russian and Ukrainian friends with them.