The Env. Corner. Examples of waste that you saw today. And that you prevented

Our sources inform us the Environment Forum is coming soon to a neighborhood near you. Added bonus- posting open at all times and for all time zones.

This thread will serve as a repository for environmental issues. We have been assured that it can be seamlessly transferred to the Env. Forum, which is under construction as you read this.

Per the title, readers, environmental enthusiasts and even Misbah fans are encouraged to report examples of environmental waste. And also state what they Edie to reduce their carbon footprint.

Re: The Env. Corner. Examples of waste that you saw today. And that you prevented

So here we go. While jogging, saw a guy outside his garage. Gaarage door closed. He was in a pick up. Whose engine was idling. He appeared to be waiting for something. Idling was ongoing for 3 plus minutes.

Re: The Env. Corner. Examples of waste that you saw today. And that you prevented

In response to multiple reqquests, wasteful examples observed in the past also allowed.

About two weeks ago, went to the coffee shop to take a break. The water from the tap running full speed. The lady had her back turned to sink. And was doing some other work.

Upon seeing me she came to get me coffee (cream no sugar please). I gently asked “is the sink getting filled for cleaning dish?”.

“No. There is a stubborn spot on a spoon.”

“That is a lot of water for a spoon”.

“Well, it has got to be cleaned”.

Fast forward couple days. Same coffee shop. Tap running. This time a young gal cleaning something in the sink. Tap running. I said hello to get her attention. She immediately turned around to get me coffee. I gently reprimanded “turn off the tap”. She smiled. Went back and turned the tap off.

I said “hope that didn’t come off as rude”.

“Not at all. I should have turned it off. Should have known better”.

Every Sunday there are two police cars directing traffic to ant from mega church. One shift circa 10 am. Another say noon. Do two in yo church two out of church.

They arrive 15 min betide. An start idling cars (two) with lights flashing etc. Total estimated tideless time 30 mi yltimes 2 cars time 4 or 240 min. Plus the officers probably get time and a half for working Sundays?

Jesus Christ would nit approve. I am sure.

The DDT phenomenon.

Daily drive through. Get off your ash and walk to the counter. 15 to 20 min idling time?

Talking to yourself again, buddy?

shh dont wake him up.

We have guests. We hear they don’t use drive throughs. Welcome.

I’m glad your still posting. Good to see that will keep dropping round when I can.

Hello Faris. Great to see you again. Hope things are well.

Came back from a sabbatical. Most times I am talking to myself here.

On the way back from a run yesterday, saw a person using a heavy duty suction device running on gas. He was dire ting it aa big stones that folks put in the yard to prevent weed growth. Cauggt between stillness are small blades of grass ir leaves etc.since they are wedged between stones easier to vend and pichlj them up.

He fires it up and just keep the suction device at one place. For 1 min. It must have taken him 20 min to collect a few blades of Grass leaves etc. What a waste.

He had his waste container filled with yard waste. He didn’t have tiger yard waste in a green container that is supposed to be fir yard waste.

How about more examples and ideas of what people can do in their own homes. Because individually we can not make an immediate impact on fuel waste due to gridlocks like the mega church example.

Small things can add up, programmed or learning thermostats, water saving shower heads, turning off lights or putting in sensors to turn them off if nobody in the room. Etc

Btw, you are usually talking to yourself not because people don’t have an interest in the topic, but you don’t make it interesting.

^ That is pretty lame. I write because I love to. I like to document stuff. Those who r interested will read. And incorporate it into daily lives. Those wwho aren’t wont. I don’t worry about masking things interrsting. Interesting is fir kids. For adults facts suffice.

I invite you to use ur skills to make stuff inrerestingn. That is not my forte.

Every bit helps. Don’t look to me for examples. You want to provide examples go for it.

No idea what you mean by individually we cant make an impact. Of course we can! Just need to get rid of defeatist attitude.

Those in the megachurch are individuals!

No offence, but if you want to write something up on a pretty public forum, it has to have at least some attempt at being interactive. Your posting 5 posts in a row is not the definition of interactive. While your love for writing is commendable, it isn’t exactly adding to the conversation around these parts is it? Even the comments in this thread by other people are not related to the topic at hand at all. Why don’t you start a blog? You can write as much as you want in there, as often as you want in there, without taking offence if someone calls your posts “not interesting”.

Southie uncle. deewaron se baten karna acha lagta hai :hehe:

But this is 100 times interesting thread than that nugget thread. I enjoyed your posts and the way you observed things around you. Keep on sharing. I’ll definitely contribute from my side, when I find something new to add. For the time, I remember just same instances as posted by you.

Does extra charging of laptop battery count? :sid:

Don’t get me start on Karachi’s traffic. We have to keep engines on in rush hours and its not just 3 minutes that engine runs for nothing. Its 30-60 minute average daily and that too just for roughly 40 km drive a day.

In our case, its something we don’t have any control.

This is a daily routine, be it shaving or tooth brushing. Many people just waste water. One of my friend use to open bathroom tap, while being in bathroom. First we thought that its just filling lota, but afterwards he told that he feel it good with noise of running water to minimize other sides (you know). We asked him ‘khuda ke liye apne mobile ki ring tone chala liya karo’.