And May Allah give courage to GS members to open a similar thread on 15 August, to mourn the loss of innocent lives, and injurries caused during the evil celebrations of Independendce day of Pakistan and express their semtiments. All we can do is create awareness, convince people to shun these evil and ignorant practices.
Oh and since most people here cant help but suspect that I am making this up ; and nothing of this sort happens on our holy Independence day.
Folks ! you are grossly mistaken. Independence day is most deadly celebrations in Pakistan, you need to check out headline news on any majore pakistani news paper on 16th august ( since there would be no newspaper on 15th )
here is the details from couple of year back
Many of the 18 deaths in Lahore on Independence Day could have been prevented if reckless driving were not the order of the day. Thirteen of the victims - all aged between 16 and 25 - died as a result of rash motorcycle driving, which has for some inexplicable reason become a common practice with the city’s youth as they partake in August 14 festivities.
**Four others were crushed to death by speeding buses and vans; another woman was killed when she fell off the rooftop while hoisting a flag. Lahore hospitals also admitted some 200 people for treatment, including women and children, some of them having serious injuries. **
And What is your rationale of being complacent at the sad loss of life of innocent young men, women and children on Independence day. ?
Is Celebrating Independece day sanctioned anywhere in anyform in Islam ??
Wasting money on indepence day is Halal for muslims ?
How can you justify one evil celebration and shun another evil celebration, Just because of your own bias. Is this called hypocrisy or was this called hypocrisy before invention of nationalism.
In Taza khudaoon main Bara Sab se watan hai
***Ju pairahan iska hai wo mazhab ka kafan hai ***
are those incidents only happening in Lahore as well?
can you give us some news from all over the country too..??
I guess the major problem is the craze of celebrating recklessly and irresponsibly... perhaps, it has to do with the struggle to justify "zindah dilaan" part .. it only ends up with "murdaah braathran" .. sad
People hear and read what they want to, and rest they ignore...
Bao ji - Independence day is a stupid celebration, Islam main independence day mananey ki ijazat hai ke nahi ??
Independence day per Billions of ruppees zaya hota hai iska kia jawaz hai ?
Basant and Independence day, both are pagan/unislamic celebrations Govt and people waste billions of ruppess and dozens of people hundreds of em get seriously injured.
We should be honest and speak against both of them.
Bao ji - Independence day is a stupid celebration, Islam main independence day mananey ki ijazat hai ke nahi ??
Independence day per Billions of ruppees zaya hota hai iska kia jawaz hai ?
Basant and Independence day, both are pagan/unislamic celebrations Govt and people waste billions of ruppess and dozens of people hundreds of em get seriously injured.
We should be honest and speak against both of them.
Atleast you agree that basant is a non islamic festival--
Ik tamana thee meri intiqaal say pehlay kay tum sudhar jao-- ALLAH ka shukar hay
Azzeezam--Shadi wadi bana lo--Khali dimagh shaitan ka ghar hota hay--
*Chalo ab juldi say baho lay aaoo--ta kay main aram say intiqaal kar sakoon-Iss thread say-:D *
Just as it was anticipated, cheapshots are the order of the day :k:
I have witnessed more than one deadly accidents on the roads of Islamabad on the eve of 14th august in a span of few hours in 1999. I dont know about the rest of the country. Maybe you can shed somelight… Or maybe you wont.
Regardless of this, my questions remains unanswered !
Codu.. I was asking questions too, not accusing anyone… there was much speculation factor in my response than cheapshots that you forsighted…
anyway, you do not know about the rest of the country so your reasoning is biased and flawed unless I or you find the same all over the country…
Coming back to your question and mentioning of Iqbal’s couplet.. I agree… but when you take Iqbal as the reliable source for such things then are you ready to take his words on the sermon of Ilah Baad as well when he had suggested AN ISLAMIC LAND in the North West of India??? Perhaps, the secularist take part of Quaid’s and Iqbal’s writtings and speeches and make up their own meanings…??? After 60 years, we are still debating that Quaid-e-Azam did not want an Islamic state… Even Jihad bil hur for the land against the oppressor is Islamic Jihaad…
Wasting the money on independence day just for the sake of wasting is wrong too.. it should be condemned.. sure… I agree… let’s work together to shun both the evil festivals, or as you suggested…
Or perhaps, there is a middle ground… a way to be moderate in celebrating such events… after all prophet:saw: did attend cultural festivals, for instance, Ukaaz???
Disgusting, distasteful and simply horrible, Musharraf should be ashamed of himself because the ultimate responsibility for the loss of these innocent lives lies with him. When supreme court had banned this stupid thing why was it allowed to celeberate even for a limited time.
*And for all those enlightened moderators for God's sake, please have mercy on the poor folks of this country. If you want to drink, dance and screw around under the cover of Basant, do it in your own homes. And Mr. Musharaff you will have to answer for the loss of these innocent lives. Shame on you when you were celebrating in Lahore with your friends, at least 7 little masoom children were getting their throats cut because you failed to enforce the law of the highest court of Pakistan. *
It is not the inception of the this country, but the way we celebrate that day.
We have soft corner for one and so we ignore the sad realities attached with it. A death of a youngster is equally sad whether it is on Basant or Independence day. If we cant afford to waste billion of ruppees on basant then how it is all good to waste more ammount on Independence day ?
What we have achieved in half the century to celebrate after all, Tikka boti of this country, the country which is butchered like a lamb and divided after we peeled off its skin ? pathetic sate of this banana republic ? All these are the reasons to celebrate with ferver ?
We get all defensive and soft with I-day celebrations even if we know that it is not sanctioned in religion to celebrate this day, but we go overboard on the celebration of a very similar festival.
Bao Bihari - Sir can you please explain to respected readers, what is the meaning of urdu mohawara " Baghlain Jhankna" :)
this thread was about Basant and the deaths initially and people here seemed to have the same opinion about the festival..
but u starting off another debate, however important, seems as if the idea of guppies agreeing on basant didnt go well with u and u put in ur topic to label people as hypocrites etc. (hoever, i tend to believe this wasnt meant)
why not open up a thread on 15 August and see if we're all united on that as well? or did you last time?
sad! i thought bicycles and motorbikes without safety wires were not allowed on the roads for two days? why was this child allowed to ride his bicycle outside?
aerial firing on such festive occasions (basant, weddings etc.) should be a cognizable offense. stray bullets can kill people. other cities like faisalabad, kasur, where kite-flying is a popular activity, should also take steps to ensure the enforcement of strict rules governing it. (i don’t know if they have taken any steps in this regard.) more importantly, the festivity, sport, whatever you call it, should be restricted to only a couple of days.