Re: The emerging profile of India
The rate at which India is emerging if it don't slow down then there will be nothing left but one big EMERGENCE.... So please slow down...
yeah, india is emerging very fast. The changes that are happening in india can be felt. i never seen such enthusiasm in young people. there needs been looked after very properly bu governmnet with providing them quality education and employement.
but of course, we have problems and if we can not solve it in near future, out whole work will go for nothing. population and communality are two major problems faced by india. our infrasturcture is superb. come to mumbai and u can see so many people using public transport smoothely. i congratulate govt for maintening such a superb system. mind well, india's poplation per sq km is more than that of most populaous us manhatten. our health system, justice, police, econnomic corporation have done a superb job. the day india realises population decrease, no one can stop india becoming super power.
Communalism- we still talk about religion and castes in india. it's good thing the new generation is more thinking about indianess rather than religion and castes. but still there is gothra, still ISI can woo iliterate kashmiri youth and hire then against there very own country for religion. with time this will change and we will built more secular,secure and strong india
Talking about China, it has done manifold better compared to Bharat. Same population, similar resources, yet China is reaching $500 billion a year earning while Bharat remains stuck at $50 billion. The reason is simple, Bharat is primarily a country of Baboos and Munshis. They are good at serving as an office secretary so we see all these call centers and BPO money.
Chinese on the other hand are much better at making things. Who can forget Chinese silk industry that has thrived for thousands of years. Silk-routes were the key in global trade even 1000 years ago. Bharat on the other hand was never a major industrial player.
China is growing faster, no doubt about that. However, India, being democratic and joining the game late, has a lot of baggage to deal with. For instance, in China a party official can say "do this" and it generally gets done. In India to do the same thing, it requires divergent views coming together, going through all the red tape, appeasing several ministers, and finally paying bribe.
At the same time, India is going through changes despite the obstacles. In a sense, the changes are bottom up....like a real Adams free market.
Chinese are not good at making things. Just like Indian service sector is second rate. American, German, or Japanese manufactured good are way better than Chinese. Engineers that studies in the US are way better than their Indian counter parts. But, that will change in time. People used to hate Japanese manufactured goods too.
but one good point about this article is pakis are realising the fact.
Give and take few years, both Bharatis and Chinese started in the same decade. Ruski-Commies died and Bharatis immediately started looking for a new god, this time America.
So we can't say Bharatis started the game late comapred to Chinese.
You are again comparing apples to oranges. Chinese goods are way better than the ones made in Bharat. While Bharatis do much better job as office-baboos for Dell.
there was a time when japanese prodcuts are also considered cheap quality because of lack of co-ordination in the manucafacturing process. they improved and today japaneser are known for their quality. chinese are going on the same line. initially the chinese products in the market are really cheap. India on the otherhand had understood the problem of quality from beginning. babus and munshis people are mentioning are turning into a real enterprenuer with modern business management. and that's why made in inda tag is getting more appreciation in the world market.
.......initially the chinese products in the market are really cheap. .......India on the otherhand had understood the problem of quality from beginning. .....
Wow! so you are saying Chinese products are not doing that well compared to Bharatis? hahaha.
Oh Baboo raam! China has the same population as Bharat, yet Bharat is eking out to get at $15 billion a year exports while China surges ahead towards $300 billion a year. That is a ratio of 1:20.
The difference is that Chinese are better at making products for WalMart. While Bharat can only be a Munshi for Dell. Service outsourcing pays a lot less compared to manufacturing.
Give and take a few decades is more like it. India's re-introduction into modenity began effectively in 1991. That is more than a decade after Deng Xiaoping proclaimed being rich to be glorious.
So, in fact, we can say India started much later than China. But that, in itself, is irrelevant. What is more relevant is that there are more communists in Delhi than in Beijing. It is easier for a party official in China to will something into existence than is to make in India. India has a huge bureaucratic hurdles.
I prefer to think I am comparing mangoes to mangoes, or lychees to lychees, if you prefer. Chinese goods are second rate. Indian manufactured goods are much better, but the cost of production in India is much higher. Hence, businesses prefer China. If you live in the US, do take a visit to the farm country. You will see bill boards for Ford-Mahendra tractors. India is still one of the best place for machine tools( tools that make other tools), because of the large engineer population.
I'll grant you, Chinese products will get better, like the Japanese did. But for now, manufacturing in China is simply because labor is very cheap.
Oh Baboo raam! China has the same population as Bharat, yet Bharat is eking out to get at $15 billion a year exports while China surges ahead towards $300 billion a year. That is a ratio of 1:20.
The difference is that Chinese are better at making products for WalMart. While Bharat can only be a Munshi for Dell. Service outsourcing pays a lot less compared to manufacturing.
Again Janab, your heightened attitude towards polemics is skewing your facts. China has a larger population than India does. Indian exports are about 90 billion and Chinese are about 700 billion. That makes the ration 8:1.
The difference is that China is a large manufacturing floor and India is service floor. But, the margins on service is larger than manufacturing.
India has a long way to go before it catches up with China, but I bet it does, per capita I mean.
Look you are focusing on Bharati weeknesses, and I am talking about Bharati strengths. Have a positive attitude man!
It is not just the number of commies in Dillie vs. Beijing. There are many other factors that may impact Bharati progress. However the real core competency of Bharat is being a Munshi for the West. To be a good Munshi, Bharatis needed cheap access to global communication infrastructure and they got it as soon as big companies like Global Crossing put those gigbit pipes down around the world's oceans.
Chinese strength on the other hand is in making inexpensive WalMart stuff and they got into it when walmarts of America were ready.
It just turns out that being a good factory worker that produces large numbers of products is so far beating the Dell's Mikey or Baboo Raam. Same population yet China is at least in order of the magnitude better than Bharat.
india has the advantage in long term
But India’s long-term potential may be even higher. Due to its one-child policy, China’s working-age population will peak at 1 billion in 2015 and then shrink steadily. China then will have to provide for a graying population that has limited retirement benefits. India has nearly 500 million people under age 19 and higher fertility rates. By mid-century, India is expected to have 1.6 billion people – and 220 million more workers than China. That could be a source for instability, but a great advantage for growth if the government can provide education and opportunity for India’s masses. New Delhi just now is pushing to open its power, telecom, commercial real estate and retail sectors to foreigners. These industries could lure big capital inflows. “The pace of institutional changes and industries being liberalized is phenomenal,” says Chief Economist William T. Wilson of consultancy Keystone Business Intelligence India. “I believe India has a better model than China, and over time will surpass it in growth.”
The question is whether China can move from manufacturing to services faster than we can solve our infrastructure bottlenecks," says President Aravind Melligeri of Bangalore-based QuEST, whose 700 engineers design gas turbines, aircraft engines, and medical gear for GE and other clients.
http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/content/05_34/b3948401.htm
http://baan.ittoolbox.com/news/display.asp?i=140960&rss=1
Americans coming to India from campus for jobs… I find this funny… We are the poor country
i’m sick and tired of those one sided opinions who equals developement with becoming an american copy cat
…the world is diverse and that’s how I like it…i don’t wanna see wall mart in my dear land, and i don’t wanna see it becoming an egoist money driven, stressfull polluted place like you all seem happy to see ![]()
the developpement of todays economy is based on natural ressources that will go extinct by one or two centuries…but very limited in amount within a few decades…how would you guys sruvive without oil and cars and planes ???
so why do you want to make all asia fall down together with the west?
im tired of this slave colonial mentality, what is indian, chinese or pakistanese traditional way of life, is NOT backward, inferior…waghaira…it’s just different!
Wow, you’ve one “upped” the perfect, Parisian, Marie Antoinette. If they can’t get bread, too bad!
By the way, what gives you the right to condemn the poor of South Asia to their current status?
[quote=abhiinalwar]
Dear Antibol and all,
I really appreciate your views on India and China. India have opened up their economy only in 1994 onwards but pace of this liberalization is slow due to various factors like democracy, different views from different parties, a big chunk in Indian public still inherits socialist mindset etc.
One more thing Indian exports figures contains only commodities exports and services are not included in it commodities exports have crossed 100 billion $ recently.
At least I am happy now whole world, politicians, CEO’s, Business tycoons, every university in UK or US is now having special sessions on India - china debate.
Thanks you all that now all my Pakistani brothers also started to put India in Big league. Slowly and slowly they are now accepting their eastern neighbor.
Thanks for this.![]()
source:http://pib.nic.in/release/release.asp?relid=17005
......Thanks you all that now all my Pakistani brothers also started to put India in Big league. Slowly and slowly they are now accepting their eastern neighbor.
We don't have to put you guys in "Big League".
By way of population figures and square miles, you should have been in the Big league from day 1.
However commie leftie policies of Nehru and Congress focused too much on destabilizing Pakistan and lot less efforts to make Bharat truly a great country.
The result of Nehruvian show-shaw-lism (socialism) has dragged the whole region down and subjected everyone with long festering cancerous relationship due to Kashmir.
While we talk about Bharat being in big league, we should realize that Bharat still is very "little" in that league. And there are many reasons for it.
......India have opened up their economy only in 1994 .......One more thing Indian exports figures contains only commodities exports and .......
Excuses again and too much talk about Bharati weaknesses.
Let's focus on the strength of Bharat that lies with its ability to play a Munshi for the West. That strength is resulting in whatever $$$ Bharat is earning these days.
p.s. We all assume you posted the same thing 3 times just by mistake. You could still go back and delete the extra stuff.
main perfect parisian kya hoon:confused:…tu maine nahin janta hai:D…bilkul nahin coolie:clown:
Let's focus on the strength of Bharat that lies with its ability to play a Munshi for the West. That strength is resulting in whatever $$$ Bharat is earning these days.
You have a stereotype attitude towards Indians "Munshi's for the west" as you have said. What do you have to say about following people
The following is a list of Indian Americans who are famous, have made significant contributions to the American culture or society politically, artistically or scientifically, or have appeared in the news numerous times:
* Agha Shahid Ali, poet
* Naveen Andrews, actor
* Ravi Batra, beststelling author and economist
* Homi K. Bhabha, post-colonial theorist at Harvard
* Mohini Bhardwaj, first Indian American medalist, gymnastics
* Sabeer Bhatia, co-founder Hotmail
* Anand Bhatt, grammy recognized american rock star
* Amar Bose, physicist and founder of Bose Corporation
* Jay Chandrasekhar, actor, comedian, writer, and film director
* Subramanyan Chandrasekhar, Nobel Prize, Physics, 1983
* Satveer Chaudhary, first Indian American elected in Minnesota's history and the youngest State Senator in Minnesota
* Kalpana Chawla, NASA astronaut (perished in the 2003 Columbia disaster)
* Brandon Chillar, professional American football player
* Deepak Chopra, personality development and health author
* Anita Desai, author
* Kiran Desai, author
Source:Wikipedia.Org
You know, my father used to say that no one should be embarassed of doing a honest day’s work. I’m not, and most Indian’s don’t seem to be either. Perhaps this is the reason why the Indian economy is doing so well, a willingness to work hard and earn.
Now, you can sit on the Champs Elysees sucking down baguettes and making fun of all the coolies around the world all you want. Just try to divert your attention from that crashing sound, that is the French entitlement economy crumbling. While you are at it, don’t forget to give a blind eye to the Pakistani economy either.
These Pholowing people are as Western as any of their white counterpart.
Munshi for the West are those who are still in Bharat, working for Dell tech support for few cents an hour, dying to get out of the miserable $hitehole of a country.
[FONT="]
Munshi for the West are those who are still in Bharat, working for Dell tech support for few cents an hour, dying to get out of the miserable $hitehole of a country.
*With all due repect to all my Paki Bro's i like to make this statement just for "Antiobl" read this article
**"Now, Pakistan woos desi BPO veterans"
Paklinks(dot)Com / gs / showthread.php?t=213043
Okay Indians are Munshi's yes they are i agree but why is Pak not even close to India in this BPO boom aren’t there skill's sharp enough to be a Munshi, is that the reason they are learning Tricks of the trade from big Indian munshi companies.
Dude give me a break think rationally with a bird's eye view, BPO boom should be beneficial to all the sub continent. Dont be under false impression that Pak is full of **scientist & intellects.