The DVOI - Desi Version of Islam

Is it just me or are the many various forms of Islam practiced on the Indian sub-continent rather different (by which I mean much more complex) than the various forms of Islam as followed in the Arab lands?

A case in point which prompted me to open this thread is 6-kalma theory (discussed elsewhere) - I’ve never come across them in writings by Arab scholars, only ever by desi scholars.

If you think of any other ways in which the DVOI varies, could you list it here?

Re: The DVOI - Desi Version of Islam

In DVOI, prescribed/recommended Isha salat: 4 sunnat, 4 farz, 2 sunnat, 2 nafil, 3 vitr, 2 nafil

I am also of the opinion that DVOI is often quite different and much more complex. More often than not, there isn't even strong proof or evidence if at all any.

A few things I can think of is niyaz, chaleeswan, and a whole bunch of nifl prayers that don't have strong evidence for their validity.

Desi version of Islam is complex, I agree. Why? It is mainly due to the hindu influences as well as superstitious beliefs that people have as far as saints, their graves are concerned. All of this is because of the fitna of Brailviyaat and Sufism, both creeds press hard on spiritual and superstitious aspects of Islam (islam it self may not sanction those aspects) but they do relate it to Islam. Brailvi campaigns to streamline grave worship, saint worship, peeri fakeeri and other practices of jahaliya have made islam in sub-continent really complicated.

darghas/mazaars, the way that ishtikharas are done and practiced, jinn theories like if you walk under a tree and you are a female and your head is uncovered some jinn will fall in love with you and then possess you. :rolleyes:

Maghrib theories - maghrib is “bhaari”. I have yet to meet anyone that can explain the logic behind that to me.

nothing to do with Islam, no one associates it with Islam or other religions IMO

Lately it has become extremely fashionable to diss Islam as practiced in Pakistan-India etc. Seems more a case of being awe-struck by Arabs and thinking that since Islam originated from Arab lands, everything modern day Arabs do must be the proper version of Islam, and anything the modern Arabs don't practice but is practiced in Pakistan-India must be influenced by bad bad hindu culture and has nothing to do with Islam.

Understandably no effort is made to sift through myths and facts (case in point the oft repeated flamer about grave worship) or to understand what basis in quran and hadith is used by Muslim scholars in Pakistan-India to support their beliefs and practices. Who has time for all that when the easiest route is to just criticize the practice and get rid of the tummy ache. Unfortunately, most information about Islamic practices in Pakistan-India is in paper-bound books and not on websites. The internet world is dominated by salafi/ahle-hadeeth websites which diss anything they don't understand.

Lets carry on dissing stuff we have no idea about. This is just a BS alert! :)

Another thing I may add is that the spread of Islam in India has a lot to do with sufism and while many "puritan" muslims might not agree with all their methods lets not belittle their contribution.

Thank God many people don't understand saint and grave worshipping. Bad, bad, bad Ahle-hadeeth for not understanding. I guess, Sahaba and those after them didn't understand either otherwise they would have also started worshiping the grave of Prophet Mohammad(pbuh) and the Caliphas, who is bigger saints than them?

The fitna of Sufism, Brailviyaat and Qadiyanism have turned Islam in subcontinent into a mixture of Christian, Shia and Hindu religions, where superstitions rule and Quran and Sunnah are overlooked because Brailvi aqeedah, Sufi aqeedah is easier to understand for some. Those who question this illogical and absurd "understanding" are the ones who don't understand.

I guess, they are just born with the knowledge and power to understand BS which our prophet never practiced, nor did his Sahaba or those after them. Who needs Quran and way of the prophet, when we have these grave digging fools?

RE: Read my signature... Islam doesn't spread when all you do is Allah Hu Allah Hu and Allah hu and dance in circles.

I am assuming Jaan Leva has done thorough research on the purported support from Quran and sunnah for various dubious Islamic practices in the sub-continent and then firmly concluded that these have no part of Islam. We must appreciate people who do their research before passing judgement on other people's religious belief as thats a hallmark of a true scholar. We are all wiser after reading such thoroughly researched opinions : Salute :

Maybe their ways were not perfect and not in line with what the Sahaba practised but atleast their intentions were good and we all owe a lot to them since they introduced Islam(in whatever form it was) to the masses.
and what were the people who had the primary responsibility of spreading the faith(sultans and kings) were doing besides getting drunk and wasting time in useless pursuits

Research? What research? What research do you need in order to know that:

-grave worship is wrong, never done by prophet or his sahaba or those after them.

-saint worship is wrong, never done by prophet and more importantly his sahaba otherwise we would see evidence of sahaba and those after them worshiping the prophet rather than the kaba.

-dead saint worship is wrong, never done by prophet and more importantly his sahaba otherwise we would see evidence of sahaba and those after them worshiping prophet's grave rather than the kaba.

-Peers and fakeers, mental retardation is the result of such ideas in South Asia. And today we know how fake these peers and fakeers are, even if they were real it wouldn't make sense for us to worship them instead of God.

The "zaalaalat" that south asian muslims face today is direct result of these imaginary and fake "researches" that we've done and are holding on to as "islam." I don't know what research you are talking about but I have yet to see one which approves of things mentioned above. As I said, maybe we didn't come down and were not born with all the knowledge and research skills and know-it-all brains as you do but common sense would tell us that if you compare your research with Quran and way of the prophet, the truth would be apparent. But noooooo, you don't want to look at those. You want to attack the person HIGHLIGHTING the issue rather than look down on your research and honestly and objectively determine if you are really doing something right with this superstitious beliefs. I understand, like kufaar-e-makkah and those before them, you don't want to let go of ways that your forefathers practiced but it would only help the "muslim" ummah and end your zaalaalat for once which is because of these fake and illogical ways of worship which you have created through some type of research?

Even the saints that you worship and ask for help, they never asked people to worship them or build mosques on their graves so women, children and their families come and prostrate and pray and ask the dead saint for help. If you read their books, they were also "ahlul hadeeeth" that you love to hate because they highlight your fallacies.

Again, don't attack me or the bad bad bad "wahabis" (Ahlul Hadeeth) for HIGHLIGHTING these issues so maybe you will think but it seems you just want to retaliate instead of being objective... akhir tumari izzat ka sawal hai jo hai nahi!

Another thing that I've seen some people do in a DVOI variant is kissing the thumbs after saying the Prophet's (pbuh) name and touching the eyes.

Also, placing the hands on your chest/heart and bowing after someone shakes their hand with someone. It is popular practice in villages....

^ yes, these last two..ive seen a lot of pakistani pple (namely my cousins) here do both of these....i never understood why.....could someone make a list of the DVOIs??? it would be very helpful to me....since a lot of my family members have strong opinions of what they do is ISLAMIC...im always tellng them its cultural thing.....

also...what is the correct isha salat??? ive always performed isha namaz the way Captain1 mentioned...

I've never understood why you need to put a chadder on the grave of a buzurg if you visit. I went to Nizammuddin Awlia Mazar in Delhi to visit it as a historical site and i was hounded by bearded men to 'chadder charhain'. I chose to donate for a degh of food for the needy orphans who were there.

I know. Chadder and other types of "charaway" are very common on dead saint graves. There is a lot more serious crap happening on these mazaars than pre-islamic worships... mazaar dating is very common these days in Pakistan, don't know about India.

thats brelvistic :clown:

As salaam u alaykum,

Even if I did a lot of research on the subject, and my views remained the same (against worshipping graves), would it satisfy you? I don’t think so. Why don’t you yourself do some research but remember first keep the “desi chauvinist” inside you, locked up somewhere.

I’ve posted afew verses for you to ponder over.

In the name of Allah, the Compassionate, the Merciful.
YUSUFALI: Nay! they say: “We found our fathers following a certain religion, and we do guide ourselves by their footsteps.”
YUSUFALI: Just in the same way, whenever We sent a Warner before thee to any people, the wealthy ones among them said: “We found our fathers following a certain religion, and we will certainly follow in their footsteps.”
YUSUFALI: These are nothing but names which ye have devised,- ye and your fathers,- for which Allah has sent down no authority (whatever). They follow nothing but conjecture and what their own souls desire!- Even though there has already come to them Guidance from their Lord!
YUSUFALI: Thou wilt not find any people who believe in Allah and the Last Day, loving those who resist Allah and His Messenger, even though they were their fathers or their sons, or their brothers, or their kindred. For such He has written Faith in their hearts, and strengthened them with a spirit from Himself. And He will admit them to Gardens beneath which Rivers flow, to dwell therein (for ever). Allah will be well pleased with them, and they with Him. They are the Party of Allah. Truly it is the Party of Allah that will achieve Felicity.

No one is dissing anything…It’s a matter of having more knowledge about something…

Let’s say in a book you read something about a certain theory…You believe that theory to be true and expound its virtues to everyone and become its hardcore supporter…

Some years later due to advancement in knowledge, the theory you had followed so faithfully is debunked as being nothing short of being useless and defunct…

Would it be smarter or wiser on your part to keep expounding that theory despite it having been proved wrong and erroneous? Obviously not…

Same is the case wite Islam…Arab, Turkish blah blah has nothing to do with it…In fact since you talk about bashing, I think it’s become fashionable on the parts of many brainwashed people to bash anything Arab…

Since now we know, that Islam is not made up of hearsay or things we have been hearing since childhood but based on authentic Dalaails and proofs , we have come to know that many practices practiced in the DVOI have nothing to do with Islam…

As for Salafi websites being more apparent on the internet is concerned, Allah :swt: has stated that truth will stand out clear from falsehood…Hence, since the Salafist / Ahl-e-Sunnah believe only in the most authentic and untainted versio of Islam based on absolutely authentic sources, is it any wonder that Sufism, Barelvism, Qadiyanism do not hold a candle to them?

Still, if after all the evidence has been presented to someone, proofs provided and disputes settled and someone still pursues a certain ideology, what do we call that person? I leave you to decide that…

As for dissing is concerned, I would like you to provide me with a Salafist/Ahl-e-Hadith website which ‘disses’ any other sect…

If, however you consider pointing out the errors of another sect through proofs and Dalaails as ‘dissing’, then I don’t know what you consider those websites as which expound the wonderful gaaliyan which are directed at Salafis…

No one is forcing anyone to follow a certain sect…But the heaviness of proofs and Dalaails in the face of which one cannot argue does seem like it’s being enforced…

The truth is, it is the intellect which is subdued and cornered in the face of strong evidences which people consider ‘forcing one’s views’…