The Dawat style that you enjoy more ..

Hi All ,

I have a simple question , perhaps from the hosting perspective it will help me and many others. Which of the following styles of Dawat do you enjoy the most:

1- A Dawat where the host has prepared a great variety of dishes, for example:
2 types of starters /kababs
4 types of salan + Rice dish
2 types of salad
2-3 types of dessert

**2- A Dawat where the host has prepared lesser amount of dishes , for example: **
1 starter
2 salan + rice dish
1 salad
1 dessert

Re: The Dawat style that you enjoy more ..

Depends on the financial status of the host. sometimes, even a glass of Rooh-Afza presented with khaloos outclass the biggest dawat held for show-off

True Muqawee , but the question here is devoid of the financial status or the showing off bit .. lets just take it on face value .. which dawat you would enjoy more ?

If affordability is not issue, then option 1.. mufta kon choRta hai :yummy:

I'd go for option 2 (would be awesome if there could be 2 desserts). With option 1 I wouldn't be able to eat everything on the menu and I don't want that. =D

Option 2 as I won't be able to eat everything in option one.
So when can I come please? :D

Starters are usually very less in dawats, but i do enjoy variety of desserts as i dont eat all desserts. On eid day we went to Bangladeshi family. She presented 4 to 5 dishes while same was the counting for desserts.

i will not enjoy any of the dawat..........as there is no roti:(

I guess there are two very different schools of thought out there regards dawats :

• More variety of dishes caters to everyone's taste , for example someone might be very picky about food and hence will always have some kind of choice on the table .. also for food lovers, being able to choose from a variety serves as an enjoyable experience and its pleasing to the eye as well ..

The cons of it however , many people say they lose the taste buds and in the end find themselves not enjoying the taste of the dishes due to too much variety.

• Regards lesser variety of food , some people clearly enjoy that the most coz then they are able to enjoy individual dishes more .. rather then going for a full plate of mixed tastes ...

The cons : people who are picky about food might not enjoy this kind of dawat .. and suddenly dawat doesnt look like dawat for them ..

What do you mean there is no roti .. you always have roti or naan on the menu ..

roti is main food in our part ..unlike south india where rice is must and roti is scarce to find...

BTW all four provinces of pakistan are fan of roti?

Yes ninja.. tabhi to PPP ka slogan 'Roti, KapRa aur makaan' hai :p

I am afraid, I dont have any idea about what goes on in all the provinces of Pakistan, but I am assuming that roti is an important staple amongst almost all of Pakistan :hmmm:

definitely #1.
I prefer having variety available....particularly because this gives me options

I think current Pakistan (West Pakistan) preferred roti over rice (which was favorite of East Pakistan). People prefer salan and roti combination. Rice are more liked in shape of Biryani and Pulao or Daal Chawal.

i LIKE one dish type of da'wats...like nihaarii/paaye kii da'vat, beRhnii kii da'vat, kababa paraaThe kii da'vat etc.

these type of da'vats is always accompanied with a dessert :)

it's easier on the host!!! [bechaarii miyaaN kii biwii ko bahot saaraa kaam nahiiN karnaa paRtaa...bechaarii us din Khush nazar aatii hai!] :)

I wud agree with KKF (Khidmat e Khalq Foundation :p) bhai ...

1 delicious dish + 1 sweet dish + thanda paani. And if i know the menu before hand, its awesome .. like as KKF bhai said...Kabaab paratha party or biryani ki dawat or haleem ki dawaat.

Few months back .. I gave one at my home to my immediate cousins...there were around 40-55 ppl .. and it was a single dish biryani party with floor sitting arrangement in home. Everyone enjoyed to the brim because the biryani cooked was way way too awesome.

I plan to do a BBQ party in January at home again ... plan to keep chicken tikka and beef bihari kabaabs for the studs :p

hahahaha i LOVE Khidmat e Khalq bit! :)

yup, i forgot to mention other types of single-dish da'wats and thanx for adding those for the benefit of GS-ers.

in India, i LOVE paooRii, sabzii and garma garam jalebii breakfast da'wats...yummmy! :)

2nd option.
I have always felt that invitation to dawats are/should be less about food and more about spending quality time with the host.
plus with too many options ... I rarely get to even half of whats listed and I find that a slight to the hosts efforts of having gone to allll that trouble .....

Im bery weird but i hate proper dinner dawats. I like tea parties instead with lots of snacks and desserts.

More work goes into them but i love hosting and being a guest of such :)