The Chronicles of the Father

Peace

Day 1: Today I left my missus at the airport, she’s gone to Pakistan, inshaAllah all will be fine. The baby (2 year old) was asleep, the other two said their goodbyes but it didn’t hit home until the sky started to go dark.
Went to my parents and they had a bit of a jolly. I gave them some sweet/toy PEZ dispensers to occupy them. In the car on the way home got stuck in traffic and the middle one called out “ummi - I miss you” I felt moved but concerned. Can I handle this week? I gave him reassurance and told the elder one to do the same. The middle more sensitive one said after seeing a plane in the sky and he said something whilst looking at the plane, he said “I love you ummi - bye” the three of them are being really sensible about it. MashaAllah. The little one started to remember his mother also. Of course she was not in that particular plane, but it made him feel better, he actually felt happy after saying that.
Got home … It was quiet and darkening. Got the kids changed and teeth brushed, read a book and they were restless. The little one whispered to me. “Ummi gone?” I said “yes, but she’ll be back soon, inshaAllah” he said “aeroplane?” - I said yes again. Then told him that he’ll be okay. He nodded his head. All still restless. So I got the laptop and started to play Kung Fu Panda for them to watch. After 20 mins saw signs of tiredness. The baby said “Abbi tired” so I switched off the film. Middle and youngest asleep within 10 mins - brilliant. I was doing shukr ki du’ahs. The eldest was finding it hard. Thinking too much I guess. But he’s a late sleeper when his mum is here anyways. I prayed my namaz - and took out the laptop to write this … he’s now asleep. InshaAllah tomorrow we’ll have an adventure … I intend to make them tired so they go to sleep easily. Let’s have fun … O Allah protect my family … all members of it. Ameen

re: The Chronicles of the Father

Awwwww!!

Is this the first time you've been alone with the boys for an extended period of time? From what i hear [from the Mrs], they sound like sensible kids MashaAllah...i'm sure you'll be fine. halal hugs

Hope Mrs has a safe and fun trip!

It's surprising how much the kids understand and can deal with ... but I don't want to push them unnecessarily. Hopefully it will get easier for them and they will come out finer than before. Thanks for the moral support.

:naak:

Tell them aunty niksik said hello. :naak: And please be extra kind to them. Mommies are the bestest. :naak:

I miss my mommy. :crying:

awww so cute! Best of luck! :)

thats so sweet of you to take care of them all by yourself. it must be hard but you're doing well already masha-allah. how long has your wife gone for?

All these Awwing women are wishing their husbands did the same.

I hope children week go fine without mommy :naak: And have a safe trip Hareem.:hugz:

Stick to the routine that mommy has and you'll be fine. Best of Luck to you and wishing Hareem a great vacation.

Good Luck! :)

so sweet! best wishes for the week!

Awww very sweet! Hope you guys have a great week together and Hareem comes back safe and sound!

aww thats soo sweet!

Day 2: A good start - breakfast, art work, Qur'an learning, shopping at tesco, had to miss Jumma unfortunately so dhuhr at home. Raining all day. Had something to eat. More art work. I made myself tired instead of them LOL. Went to local butchers got some meat. Had some food got back home and then got kids changed, teeth brushed and bed.

In bed watched last part of Kung Fu Panda but I fell asleep with the kids. I got up to pray and to clean up dishes. Middle kid played up a bit he doesn't like to walk from A to B in a straight line.

He stopped in the middle of the road whilst crossing it to step in a puddle. I had to pick him up and run across.

Have had no chance to do my own work. Need to get up in the morning to do it now ... Taking them to a play area tomorrow. Sigh!

P.S. Thanks everyone for the encouragement

Busy daddy :hmmm:

So can you safely say that it takes a lot of energy to be a good mother, or are you still one of those who think we do nothing at home :asa:?

:( I'm of the opinion that when women who are used to a home environment are asked to work or who have to work are making huge sacrifices for their family cos they will probably still be doing the home stuff and do what they are not normally subjected to doing.

I find this hard enough. Just imagine if I had to work as well?

Perhaps men are not cut out for this? I'm not reducing the 'value' in this either. I just think women might find it easier or at least they are probably used to it and we are not. So that is why I imagined a similar difficulty would probably stem around women working whilst having families.

Day 3 and 4:

The little baby is in bed with the most annoying toy telephone. He's not gonna let go of that for a while. Today we made trifle and ate chips with chicken pokaras.

Took them out in the morning and stopped by my friend's house. I was going a bit insane without talking to adults.

Yesterday I took them to an indoor play arena with padded obstacles and I managed to get some work done while they played.

Kids say the most funny things sometimes. Like 'What type of bees make marmalade?' Then they answer it by saying the orange and black ones, because marmalade is made of oranges.

The little one spoke to his daadthi jaan today and said "ummi gone aeroplane flaaa ing'

Anyway I'm beginning to work out that I can spend up to 15 minutes without supervising them before they start get up to nonesense stuff like throw my shoes around the house or play the the tools and kitchen food.

I try to keep them busy and that seem to keep them both from hurting themselves or from increasing my house work. But it is a play off I can't get as much of my own work done. Yesterday my idea was to make them tired --- it was me who was conked out!

aww... Well Psyah, you are doing a fab. job! Hopefully day 5 will be much better. May Allah keep your beautiful family in his eman! ameen

It sound like the little ones are keeping you busy psyah bhai! :cb: