Too many to share. Would try to add few from time to time.
Re: The Blessings of 'Sadaqa'
(O Muslims!) You will not attain unto piety until you spend of that which you love. (Aale-Imran-92)
Re: The Blessings of ‘Sadaqa’
^ Wa-iyyakum Ya Akhi
Spending for the cause of Allah means that, in all cases, money must be spent only to seek the pleasure and love of Allah, and not for getting name and fame for one-self, in which case the spending will not count as an act of virtue. It will rather become a sin instead of being a virtue.
Rasulullah Sallallaho alaihe wasallam has said that Haq Ta’ala Shanohu does not look at your faces and your wealth (how much you spent). He rather, looks at your deeds and your hearts (the motives behind your deeds). (Mishkaat). *Another Hadith reports Rasulullah Sallallaho alaihe wasallam as saying, *"The thing I fear most for you (the Ummah) is the minor ‘Shirk’. On being asked what the minor ‘Shirk’ was, he replied, "To do something for the sake of show". Repeated warnings have been given in the Ahadith against spending for the sake of displaying one’s generosity.
Spending of money should be accompanied by a feeling of love for spending i.e. one should be delighted to give away things as Sadaqah, should have no second thoughts, nor regret having spent money, nor fear from want, nor blame oneself for spending it lavishly (Ahkamul Qur’an). Many other Ulama have given a different interpretation. They say that the Ayaat refers to spending for the cause of Allah while one still needs and loves money. A Hadith says that someone asked Rasulullah Sallallaho alaihe wasallam, "What is meant by spending money while one loves it; for everybody loves money?" Rasulullah Sallallaho alaihe wasallam replied, *"It means that you should spend money while you are conscious of your own needs, fear from want and neediness and feel afraid lest you should need it at a time during the long years of your life lying ahead". *
Another Hadith says that the best Sadaqah is to spend at the time when you are in good health, hoping to live long. Do not go on postponing Sadaqah till you find yourself on the death-bed, with little or no hope of survival, at which juncture, you may begin to give away your wealth saying, ‘So much to so-and-so and so much for such and such cause, though it now belongs to your heirs. (Durre Manthur). When the hope for life vanishes, feeling for personal needs is no longer there and, with the apprehension of all the property going to your heirs, you begin to distribute it among Masjids and Madrasahs!
Submission bhai thanks alot for your efforts, I learn many things from your posts.
^ JazakAllah khair.
Another important principle to be observed while giving away Sadaqah, and especially Zakaat, which is an obligation and an important commandment of Allah Ta’ala, is that one should give away things of the best quality simply because Allah Ta’ala is beyond all defects or imperfections and He accepts only such property as is faultless. Granting that the Sadaqah that we give passes into the hands of Allah Ta’ala, how impertinent, how shameless would it be of the person who kept with himself the best things and gave away things of inferior quality in he service of Allah, Who is the sole and real possessor of all things and Who has bestowed all these goods upon him? Isn’t it like a cook who prepares delicious food for him self and gives stale bread and foul smelling curry to his master?
What then should be the attitude of the master towards a servant like him? The masters in this world are not aware of what their servants do in their absence, but Allah is All-Knowing, and Well Informed about everything. All our deeds are before Him. He knows the thoughts that come to our minds. How ungrateful would be the person who gave things of bad quality for the sake of Allah, out of the property that actually belongs to Allah Ta’ala Himself?
Fazail-e-Sadaqat
^ wa-iyyakum brother.
there's a supplication, too that we can do:
*O Allah , I seek Your protection from miserliness, I seek Your protection from cowardice, and I seek Your protection from being returned to feeble old age . I seek Your protection from the trials of this world and from the torment of the grave.
Reference: Al-Bukhari, cf. Al-Asqalani, Fathul-Bari 6/35
JAZAKUMALLAH KHAIR,
[FONT=Trebuchet MS]Ayat [FONT=Trebuchet MS]84." And We bestowed upon him Ishaque (Isaac) and Yaqub (Jacob), each of them We guided, and before him, We guided Nooh (Noah), and among his progeny Dawud (David), Sulaiman (Solomon), Ayub (Job), Yusuf (Joseph), Musa (Moses), and Harun (Aaron). Thus do We reward the good* doers."
MASHALLAH, EVERY DAY WE ARE SPENDING A LOT OF MONEY FOR OUR DIFFERENT PUPOSES, we should have to spend in ALLAH WAY TOO, ,BECuse if we spend 1, GOD well bless US hundereds,,, so why we dont..
"And whatever you spend in good, it is for yourselves, when you spend not except seeking Allah's Countenance. And whatever you spend in good, it will be repaid to you in full, and you shall not be wronged.'' (2:272)
Imaam Ghazali Rahmatullah alaihe says, "They are those who do not beg for help, for they are rich with the wealth of faith (Imaan), because of self control over their desires. One should look for such people and give them Sadaqah. Especially, one should try to find out the private difficulties of such religious people and spend money on the deserving". It is far more rewarding to help such people than to spend money on common beggars. It is however difficult to find them, because they do not let others know of their conditions and, therefore, people regard them as well-to-do.
(People) ask you what they should spend (as Sadaqah). "Tell (them) what they can spare". (i.e.) what is in excess of their requirements). (al-baqarah: 219)
Note: Wealth is meant to be spent; whatever is left over, after meeting personal requirements, should be spent as Sadaqah. Ibne Abbas Radhiallaho anho has said that, after meeting the requirements of one’s family the balance becomes ‘Afv’ which means that it is to be spent as Sadaqah. Abu Umamah Radhiallaho anho has reported Rasulullah Sallallaho alaihe wasallam as saying,** "O men, give what you can spare for charity, this is good for you; if you hold it back, it will be bad for you. You are not to blame for keeping back just enough for your own requirements; begin by spending on those who are dependant on you. The upper hand (which gives) is better than the lower hand (which is stretched out for accepting alms)".**
Jazak Allah brother, I have question,if someone don't have money then what should thEy give as a sadqa?
Peace Kinzz,
Sadqa is not obligatory and we can give anything is 'sadqa' like if a person need a pen to write and we give him that pen, that is also count as sadqa. Its not always related to money.
Jazak ALLAH brother
Well said LK.
I apologize for the late reply. What Allah (swt) see is your "Ikhlaas". There is a hadith that if you give only one date with a pure intention of pleasing Allah (swt), Allah (swt) would increase its sawab up to the sadaqa of giving away a gold equal to the size of the Uhad mountain in the way of Allah (swt).
Other than that removing a stone from the path is sadaqa, smiling at your parents, relatives and friends is a sadaqa.
Once during the time of drought in bani Israil, as a man travelling in a caravan passed by a small sand hill, he wished if it were a heap of wheat grains, he would have given all of it to the poor people dying of hunger. Immediately Jibrail (a.s) came to the prophet of that time and told him to convey Allah's message to that man that Allah (swt) has wriiten as much sawab for him as he had intended (giving away a heap of wheat grains equal to the size of a hill, in the way of Allah (swt)