The best part at your wedding ceremony/ reception..

What was it? Or if you’re not married, what do you think will be the most exciting moment?

For me it was dinner :@:
Jk.. my cousin who was emcee-ing the wedding gave the mic to my husband randomly to speak.. and he gave such a heartfelt speech while holding my hand.. it was very, very emotional.

Re: The best part at your wedding ceremony/ reception..

awww hw sweet!!!

hmm im nt married yet so wouldnt know

saying "I do!"
i cried, i laughed, i was so excited- amazing moment.

I think for me it will be just before I walk into the hall to face the hundreds of guests. I will be excited and probably a little nervous at the same time.

As I walked in the room and got to the stage (with a person on either side of me carrying the gharara so I don’t trip), my husband was sitting alone on the stage and he got up when he saw me come in, walked to the side where the steps were and held out his hand for me. It was all very romantic like a scene from a movie. :wub:

I recently went to a wedding where the bride walked in and the groom just stayed put on his seat. The bride walked into the hall, walked all the way to the stage, went on and sat down and the groom didn’t once get up which might be the norm but I thought was very strange cuz I see it as a sign of respect that the groom stands up for the bride.

^ awww that is SO sweet!

I pray to God that my fiance does the same, but I think he will be one of the grooms that will just stay put...he is SO unromantic...ESPECIALLY in FRONT of other people. :(

^I TOLD my husband(who was a fiance then)to DARE not keep sitting when I come on the stage :D I know that might sound strange but hubby does rarely come to understand such things and ignores them.so i had to direct him for things ('had to' because tub shadi nahin hui thi and he'd listen to me..ab AUR baat hai)

^hahaha. men definitely need direction with a lot of things. like when i tell my husband to open the door for me and since he forgets sometimes, ill just stand in front of the door till he comes around and opens it. haha

I'm tempted to actually "direct" him...but then I will never know if he would have done it on his own or not. I want to test him, which may result in me getting highly annoyed if he fails the test...lol.

man, i was in such a daze walking down the aisle, i don't remember much of it... just meeting my parents half way up, then they walked me up the rest of the way, and hubby came down and escorted me to the stage-type area, i guess, where we said our vows. i agree, sumo, its totally sweet, and super odd when guys don't get up to help their wives up.

candy_apple, just tell him lol! unless you can speak to his sister or someone who can pass on the word. otherwise, you'll be disappointed :p

That is sooo sweet!!!
I remember, years agoooo, my husband was complaining about the rasams and the norm to have mehndis/dholkis, and basically he was making a big deal about everything so I got a bit worried about how fussy of a groom he’s gonna be! But one day we were talking and I was like, when we get married, we should have a nice entrance.. and he said, yeah you walk in, I’ll get up, take your hand and escort you to the stage/sofa.. lol. He was like, I have seen it at so many weddings, I find it so cute and romantic. Now for me that was totallyyyyy unexpected coming from this guy. We didn’t do that at the Nikkah though, we walked in together.. but it was hilarious how he was helping me lift the lehnga while I was going up and down the stage and walking around.

Oh - I had so many fav moments!!! :)))) It all went by too fast!!! All of it was just perfect!

i had amazing moments on my wedding the setup was all white, i entered with my father and they switched off all the lights and had a spot light on me as we walked in my entrance song started playing nacho sotomayor a buddha bar track .. wen i looked around me i cud c nuthing but candle lights scatterd everywer my planner had arranged for candles on all the tables and in the entrances and also on stage.. wen i got to the stage i was welcomed by my hubby who took me by the hand and baught me up then i threw the bouquet for the girls to catch and it was caught by a male friend of mine which was funny.. anyway we had the spot light on us for quite a bit on stage and the view frm there looking down at all the candle lights was just splendid. we had neva seen such a beautiful sight i wil neva forget my wedding it was very memorable, mashallah just perfect!!

^ Sounds amazing :)

hmmm I guess the most exciting and emotional moment for me would be the Nikaah time. The thought that I no more belong to my parents, is going to make me really sad n emotional. Before nikaah, the emotional time would be when I will wear my wedding dress. thats something I have dreamed and planned about alot. So its going to be a really memorable moment, to see myself in that dress and all other accessories.

2nd time would be the Rukhsathi time. I do not know If I will be able to control myself. I cnt control my tears even now when i mere listen to songs like Saada Chiryaan Da Chamba hai, Babul asaan urh jaana... Or Babul ki duaain laithi jaa... etc. snif snif

3rd emotional moment but a very satisfied feeling, would be on waleema morning... lol... when I will feel, hopfully, that okay now I am part of someone's life and soul and someone has completed my soul, something that I had waited for so long. That is going to be truly amazing for me.

smart girl:)

MY daughter is getting married in sep this yr INSHALLAH..stylobabes's mom is helping me for everything,,the shadi dress,valima,each and every dress and she is coming to NY also for wedding,,

This thread is so cuteeee.. Mash'Allah, you all have such lovely stories.. tell us more ladies! :D

oh wow, congrats! is she a family friend?

WOW, MArRIED NY! you must be really busy with your daughter's wedding since its September already. Wish her loads of happiness!