The Best Pakistani Cricketer Ever

Who is the best Pakistani Cricketer ever.

Imran Khan

Javed Miandad

Wasim Akram

Shoaib Malik

Abdul Razzaq

Zaheer Abbas

Non of These

Its an insult to the greats by putting Shoaib Malik and Razzaq's name with them. They are good players but they have not yet achieved the greatness of others. I'd say the best cricketer ever to play for Pakistan was the one and only Imran Khan.

It's a close tie between Imran Khan and Wasim Akram. Imran Khan has the edge due to his leadership qualities. I wish I could pick Wasim Akram but honestly, it has got to be Imran Khan.

Re: The Best Pakistani Cricketer Ever

*Originally posted by Nasir92: *
Who is the best Pakistani Cricketer ever.

Imran Khan

Javed Miandad

Wasim Akram

Shoaib Malik

Abdul Razzaq

Zaheer Abbas

Non of These

obviously you are talking about mid-80s to early 00s thats why you included Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik and excluded Zaheer Abbas, Abdul Hafeez Kardar and the likes. Anyway, my own choice would be Imran Khan.

Tie between Akram and Imran.

Imran is miles ahead of Akram.
Wasim was only a great bowler, while Imran was a very good bowler and a very good batsman, and too top it all off, he gave us WC 92, which Wasim couldn't in 1999.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Imran is miles ahead of Akram.
Wasim was only a great bowler, while Imran was a very good bowler and a very good batsman, and too top it all off, he gave us WC 92, which Wasim couldn't in 1999.

Apna apna khiyal hai, Imran was a great captain, Akram was miles ahead when it came to bowling. I have watched them both at their peak and their record speak for themselves.

Wasim was a better bowler then Imran, atleast as far as record books are concerned. But Imran was a much superior a batman plus one of very few extra ordinary players, who performed better under the burden of captaincy. Its a close call but I'd still go with Imran Khan.

It has to be:

Imran Khan

imran khan is the best cricketer pakistan ever produced... he was not only a great bowler but also a great captain...pakistan won its most matches under his captaincy...and it was he who trained wasim and many other...

As long as they're both on the field, I'd go with Wasim.

But what Imran has done and contributed to the nation goes above and beyond what even the most accomplished are capable of, and for that I'd say he deserves the accolade.

The question asked leaves room for just that little bit of ambiguity to answer. eg: Best cricketer for purely his cricketing abilities or best cricketer including leadership qualities? Here's my opinion on the question asked.

Personally, for sheer talent as a cricketer, Waseem is greater than Imran. You have to remember, it was Waseem who won matches for Imran. Imran says that himself. While Imran was perhaps the best captain that we produced, all else equal, Waseem has to be the best "cricketer" we ever produced. Imran worked very very hard to achieve the greatness that he did -as a cricketer. You know the bowling to a single stump drill, and all). It is my opinion, however that Waseem didnt work half as hard and has better records, which just goes to show you how enormously talented Waseem was.

To put it into perspective, how long do you think Imran will last, as good a batsman as he is, when Waseem is bowling "at his peak". Similarly, how long do you think Waseem will last against Imran. Imran might have been faster at his peak, but Waseem was deadlier. Waseem has a few good runs against his name in Test cricket too. Not to forget the immensely helpful all round performance on WC '92 final. For an analogy, I would like to think of Imran as the cricket equivalent of Honda, very good at everything, but not sublime in any one department. Waseem on the other hand is like a Zonda. Matchless in area of his specialisation; bowling. He would tear apart any batsman on any surface. He comes lower down the order, which suggests he's not the best of batsmen, yet he has a double hundred in Tests. Very useful batsman to have in the lower order.

Bottom line: If you consider the cricket as a whole, including the intangible qualities such as leadership, then sure Imran is peerless. But for sheer cricketing talent, Waseem would be my choice. No disrespect to Imran. But I would like to see Waseem given the credit he's due. For instance everybody gives credit to Imran for '92 WC, but hardly anyone realises the contribution of Waseem for that match.

Similarly, Waseem did at least try to emulate his mentor in '99 WC. He couldn't. Maybe it was because he himself was past his prime and there was absolutely no one to fall back onto. Imran had Waseem. Who did Waseem have? Razzaq?!

Waseem was a great player, but unfortunately, his luck wasnt quite as great. Much like Z.A.Bhutto. Great leader, but abysmal luck.

shoaib malik's name in the list was like listing afridi in the best openers' list....
some ppl did see abdur razzaq to emerge out as a 'new imran khan', dont know what they think now, but still he is far far away from being called the best cricketer pakistan has had....

wasim akram and imran khan hold a very high status in crciket, not only in pakistan, but also in the world....
although wasim akram is unmatched as a bowler in the cricket world, we have seen clearly where imran khan stands....

khan sahab ki aik apni baat hai, and no one in the whole world has attained the fame and respect that he got....
not even the don or sobers or tendlia for that matter....

Re: The Best Pakistani Cricketer Ever

u’ve asked for the best ever pakistani cricketer not the favorite pakistani cricketer!!! abdul and shoaib are not even the best in their generation let alone best ever!!
:bummer: :hehe:

There is a few reasons I picked Imran. First of all the question asked was who is the best ever*cricketer* Pakistan ever produced. Not best bowler, not best batsman but best cricket. Imran stands head and shoulders above Wasim Akram as a complete cricketer. I am going to take a few quotes from Miandad's autobiography.

**"Imran is a famous name in cricket, but the great thing is that is also remains an untarnished name. There have been no scandals, no allegations of him being anything less than impeccably honest. It is a pristine legacy, unsullied and unblemished."

"When Imran became the Pakistan captain, he led from the front and created an atmosphere in which there was room for mediocrity. He made selection strictly performance-based. Everyone feared for their place in the side, and it motivated to give their best."

"Imran is no ordinary cricketer; he is one of cricketing history’s greatest. Imran was the first bowler produced by Pakistan who was accepted into the top echelon of bowlers. Even more impressive, he ranked among top not only with his own generation but also history."**

I agree with ehsan bhai here. There is a tie between Great Khan and Akram. Akram nowadays is counted in a class of bradman. The bowlers around the world today worship him. He sure is the best bowler cricket has ever seen. While Khan was Khan, the best skipper of Pakistan, a very sharp cricketer, a good alrounder, the pride of Pakistan who won World Cup for us, and that is on Australian grounds and beating no other than England in the final :smiley:

And why the hell A.Razzaz and Shoib Malik are in the list ??? :mad2:

I'd go with Wasim but it doesnt mean that Imran Khan was any less. the basic difference among the two that fellow gupshupers are talking about is the leadership. well, i believe that imran prepared wasim well enough lead pakistan for the rest of his career, too bad the scandals didnt let it happen. however, wasim did prove to be a genuine leader. especially during the 1999 world cup, He lost almost every game for pakistan on his own will. for example, bangladesh, india, and australia ;)
Bottom line: Wasim for all his greatness in and out of the bookies.

How come Shoaib Akhtar does not find a place in the above list. He is my pick.

*Originally posted by Some1: *
How come Shoaib Akhtar does not find a place in the above list. He is my pick.
what about Afridi?

You should add Saeed Anwer and Waqar Yunis to the list, certainly they deserve to be rated ahead or Razzaq and Shoaib if you are looking at teh modern era. If you are thinking of the past, Kardar, Hanif and Mushtaq Muhammad and Fazal Mahmood would also be considered.
From teh existing list the answer is obviously Imran Khan. Wasim was a great player as well but match fixing will unfortunatly forever stain what could have been for him.