I wonder how the book would be if even the title doesn’t make sense. ![]()
yellow pages
Bloody hell there are so many authors I like though Dickens, Poe, Hugo, lots of other people.
Chekhov if I'm feeling moody though and have the time, Doyle if I’m feeling fruity, best book ever ever though?
Don't if it's my favourite but I find myself reading Moby dick every so often, that's just a bad habit though. American literature of that era has its appeals I suppose.
Was forced to read Blake, sort of grew on me.
Stevensons, The Ebb tide and Conrad’s heart of Darkness – both cover societal introspection some of the earliest examples and still hold true, nice to re-read.
Erm erm…………I like a good yarn so something like Dafoe’s stuff.
Nah fk it I can’t pick one, I tried.
hitch hikers guide..
*Originally posted by batameez: *
"Seven daughters and seven sons"
By:- Barbara Cohen and Bahija Fattuhi
*In an ancient Arabian city dwell two brothers. One has seven sons and is considered wealthy and blessed. The other has seven daughters and is cursed and called forsaken by God. Determined to earn a fortune for her family, Buran, his fourth daughter, disguises herself as a boy and travels to a distant city.
i think that the movie 'osama' follows similar lines... no?
enid blyton :love: which were ur favourite series?
best ever book i read: Very Good, Jeeves (Wodehouse)
other favourites include:
Fiction: The Prodigal Daughter (Jeffrey Archer), Sense & Sensibility (Jane Austen), Jonathan Livingston Seagull (Richard someone), Heart of Darkness (Joseph Conrad), all of the Bertie and Jeeves series (PG Wodehouse), i have all the PBS series on DVD ![]()
Non-Fiction: Tigris (Thor Heyerdahl), Floreana (Margaret Wittmer)
*Originally posted by saby: *
i think that the movie 'osama' follows similar lines... no?
ohh .. no idea .. have not watch the movie "osama" ....
and there is one more book "Stone Cold" ... forgot the author ...
There are too many good books. I still read stuff by Roald Dahl. I love his stories. Then there are classics by Chretien de Trois and people from his era. Those kinds of medieval stories are fantastic!
yeah Roald Dahl and Agatha Christie ...
There are so many good books that I have read but the book that I would like to read again would be Wuthering Heights. I read it when I was 13 or 14 and it made me sad for some strange reason and this is reason enough for me to read the book again and find out why I felt sad afterwards.
I am begining to admire Edward Said too and I am reading his Culture and Imperialism. I am just glad that I have read Heart of Darkness by Conrad (that Thap referred to)and Pauolo Ferrarie's (sp) few books that made understanding Said much easier.
umm, well I don't have one which I can say is my favourite. LAtely, I have developed interest for the works of various latino writers and I enjoy reading that too.
Sadi I miss those days when I used to read Enid Blyton. The magic far away tree and Mr.Pink Whistle :-)
Minerva, there was no need to expand a probable one liner response to various many paragraphs.
PS-
Culture and Imperialism is not a book, it's a whole big "lecture". :p
Romeo tell me more about Dostoevsky (sp). Everytime I read your post on your favourite book, writer I get to read this name.
Ya, lecture it is. But I like some of his lectures :p
Shogun by James Clavell. I read it years ago and it totally mesmerizes the reader and takes us to 16th century Japan. Amazing book.
Also "Kane and Abel" by Jeffery Archer.
Minerva, let me finish the book I'm reading these days phir bataooN ga. Waisay, aap kay matlab ka banda hai, yay batayay daita hooN. :p
Tarzan aur choocha jaadugar :k:
well, i liked enid blyton’s famous five
(i bet georgina was a lesbo
but hay, she was hot
)
liked hardy boys as well…
read a lot of urdu jasoosi stuff by ishtiaq ahmed …
dastan e ameer hamza and talism hoshruba… awesome stuff… loved it back then.
my all time fav character has to be umroo ayaar ![]()
my fav novel i guess has to be King Rat by James Clavell
Fredrick Forsyth was cool too.
Gone Fishing…
etc.
not into reading much anymore ![]()
*Originally posted by Lajawab: *
Shogun by James Clavell...
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Shogun by James Clavell. I read it years ago and it totally mesmerizes the reader and takes us to 16th century Japan. Amazing book.
u mean aap dono ne wo actualy poori parhnay ka kasht uthaya tha? salutes :D
i remember that book lying in my house for ages and i dint gather the himmat to start coz it was soooooo thick :D
*Originally posted by Daagh: *
A Suitable Boy
this was an OK book...dint find it too great...it was a bit dragging i thought
but it was hecka thick too
i scanned a lot of the pages real quick :D
*Originally posted by Thap: *
Bloody hell there are so many authors I like though Dickens
haha dickens was one of my fav classic authors .....but still i cant imagine reading classics for fun!! classix like dickens and austen and harding were meant to be read in english class and then kept away forever :p even taking the name was haram once exams finished and would lead to social ostracization :D
sigh...good old high school days
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Also "Kane and Abel" by Jeffery Archer.
yikes
Faisal bhai many ppl say this is their fav book
to be honest tho this book was lying in my house so i read it when i was really young, like maybe 12, and i just HATED it :(
i dont like Jefrrey Archer. his writing style is too gloomy and negative and pessimistic and i dono...DARK.
Kane and Abel is my most detested book :/
*Originally posted by KAKA-ATOM-BUM: *
Tarzan aur choocha jaadugar : k:
well, i liked enid blyton's famous five :bl ush: (i bet georgina was a lesbo : D but hay, she was hot : p )
liked hardy boys as well...
read a lot of urdu jasoosi stuff by ishtiaq ahmed ...
dastan e ameer hamza and talism hoshruba... awesome stuff... loved it back then.
my all time fav character has to be umroo ayaar :blus h:
my fav novel i guess has to be King Rat by James Clavell
Fredrick Forsyth was cool too.
Gone Fishing....
etc.
not into reading much anymore :bum mer:
cool reading habits u got there haha
hmmm ive read some of that funky urdu stuff...u read sheikh chilli? naunehaal digests? and who was that person who was really dumb, lotsa stories abt him and a donkey...cant reember now what his name was...dang.. i think he was a molvi...hmmm...
dono whats my fav book...have too many i guess..aur ab toh...dont even read much...too busy reading GS thredz :p
since we r talking of books authored by humans, i think the only thing that beat "deewan-e-ghalib" was "kuliyaat-e-iqbal"....
i aint into novels n all and i havent really found a really satisfactory piece of writing in english....
no wonder i call english a 'dead language'.... :p
Irem, since its lying there and gathering dust, please drop it at my place once I am there in two weeks. Yes, I am referring to the book Shogun by James Clavell. :) Many thanks.
Ok Romeo, do let me know. Waisay I have been hearing about it since I joined this board. Now, that I am old I couldn't resist asking you about it.
I guess it would be Bajang Amad...:D